We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel tucked away in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Ranked #87 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel tucked away in the jungle”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Staff was so sweet, helpful and friendly. The owner was nice and friendly. We immediately felt welcomed.

There is a cool local gallery and shop. Lovely infinity pool. Beautiful Balinese decor around the hotel and in the rooms.

Located a 10-15mim drive from central Ubud, and the hotel provides a convenient free shuttle one way. Cost us 50,000 to get back which is quite cheap.

Breakfast was good. Large amounts and good selection. They can serve it right to your villa.
The only downside was the restaurant food was really pricey do we opted to go into town for dinner.

Overall a really great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    85
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
61
191
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

artistic rooms! You will alot of statues and art pieces everywhere! Nicely designed rooms! Very polite and helpful staff. They even provide free one-way shuttle service by car to ubud during your stay! There is a river where you can walk down to and have a swim! The local food at the restaurant was delicious! Will definitely recommend to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naseer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
871 reviews
477 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 943 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've stayed in thousands of hotels, but I can think of very few that were as enjoyable as the Tanah Merah. It's a very interesting and unique property. What's going on here is that you have a rich Danish dentist, Peter Bloch, who moved to Bali many decades ago and embraced the culture and lifestyle of the island. He's built this extremely pleasant, low key and "exclusive" resort (movie stars could hide from the paparazzi here) a few kilometers from Ubud next to a very scenic tropical gorge. Everything about the place feels very Balinese -- especially the architecture -- yet everything is also professionally managed. I really liked how the staff is friendly and helpful, but not obsequious. It's almost like staying at the private tropical estate of your very rich relative.

Indeed, you sort of wonder why Peter "bothers" to operate this resort. He doesn't seem to need the money and the rates are low enough (at least the discounted rates which seem to be widely available) that you wonder how the hotel can make a profit given the lavish grounds and plentiful staff. And within the resort grounds are purpose-built rooms to house his remarkable collection of Asian art. Few museums can rival his collection and, as a guest, you can take a private tour of the collection upon request. The tour is very interesting and extremely worthwhile.

Many acts of hospitality are extended to guests without additional charge. Like others, we were upgraded from a studio room (which are more than nice enough) to a villa with private infinity pool and gorgeous vista. No charge to have the included breakfast delivered to our pool terrace in the morning. Unlike some others, I thought they did a good job with the breakfast: the "American" was a tasty "bacon and eggs" meal with plenty of fresh breads, juice and fruits. And on Christmas eve, Peter invited all of the hotel guests to an elaborate dinner of Danish and Balinese specialties. No charge, of course -- when was the last time a resort treated its guests to Christmas dinner?

When my online travel agency accidentally cancelled part of my reservation, the staff cheerfully made things right, even at considerable inconvenience to themselves.

As others have noted, the location of the property a few kilometers from Ubud has pluses and minuses. I think far more pluses, as Ubud is now almost a small city filled with noise, traffic and too many tourists. It's still a pleasant place to dine and shop, though, and the hotel will drop you off in town at no charge. You then need to hail a taxi to get back, which is mildly annoying because you have to find a guy (taxis are unmarked but plentiful) and bargain the price, but with little difficulty you can get back for about US$5.

We stayed 3 nights and made the Tanah Merah our base to relax and sightsee in the area, but I certainly wouldn't have minded a longer stay simply to "getaway" and take things easy. Certainly the price is right for what you get, and you will be hard pressed to find better hospitality elsewhere. As long as you're looking for peace and tranquility -- and not a lively party scene -- I don't think there's a better place to stay for the money in all of Bali. I'd give them 6 stars here if I could!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. We booked a studio but were upgraded to a villa overlooking the valley on arrival which was amazing. The setting is serene and the views breathtaking. The service is impeccable and Peter is a real character; welcoming and full of great advice. I actually preferred that the hotel is out of town for the setting alone; the shuttle in to the centre is available till 9 so there is no inconvenience. I will certainly return and I recommend that anyone visiting Ubud strongly consider Tanah Merah.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hommedesaffaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Room - We booked a bungalow room (~$100, their cheapest actually) but when we got in the resort, they told us that they have upgraded our room to a two-floor villa. Confused at first. When the staff showed our villa for the night, I was like, "wow seriously, is this a free upgrade?" The villa had 2 rooms (which is actually not needed since we're only two), a very spacious detached bathroom, a veranda with many comfy bean bags and an overlooking view of a beautiful gorge. We loved the feel of our room and the beautifully quilted sheets.

Maintenance - mosquito/insect repellers were replenished right on so the insects were not really a problem (normal on hotels situated in a forest). no cleanliness issues here.

Infinity Pool - they had two infinity pools. I loved the largest pool with the view of the gorge.

Breakfast - the only thing i think that needed improvement was their breakfast. Don't get me wrong cause they actually serve good breakfast with a number of options to choose from. I ordered for an american breakfast; but it had a small croissant, a rough bacon strip and a slice of thick brown bread that was too heavy to chew and swallow. I just hope they had a better choice of breads. actually, it was really not a big deal for me because i was too hungry to complain (drinking my coffee/fresh lemon juice while day-dreaming with a view of the gorge made me forget about the bread rants too) lol.

Staff and security - everyone was friendly and they made sure that they meet your needs while in the resort. check-in and check-out were hassle-free.

Location - uhm, we hired a scooter from the center. so commuting to the resort was not a problem. but considering its distance from ubud's center, i must say that the location can be a challenge.

---

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenditawanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel at the end of a long trip around Asia.

Decided to treat us and booked the Mads Lange villa. It looks amazing on the photos, but is impossible to describe how beautiful is this place in real.

It's an unique experience! If you can afford the upgrade don't even think about it... It's worth every single penny!

It was the seventh hotel we stayed in a row and I am happy it was the last one, as we were so spoilt that we wouldn't like any other place.

Thank you Tanah Merah!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikelandgelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukkila
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stay 3 weeks in Indonesia many places and this one is really most enjoyable place to stay. Breathtaking wiew. Very luxury room(we take Mads Lange suite)own pool, jacussi and garden towards to jungle. Free shuttle bus to Ubud and taxifee back only 50000idr. If you want privacy with luxury, take this. And price is reasonable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kyytiakke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
3.7 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Sabandari
Villa Sabandari
#11 of 542 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#44 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
5.6 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Merah Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah Art Resort

Property: Tanah Merah Art Resort
Address: Jl. Melayang, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#36 Family Hotel in Ubud
#74 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanah Merah Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tanah Merah Art resort is located only 4 km (4000 m) from the center of busy Ubud. The short scenic route from Ubud winds thru rice terraces with view of the big volcanoes until you arrive at the hotel with the only access in Ubud to the Petanu river in the jungle, where you can swim up to the waterfall. The 18 villas and rooms are decorated with art and antiques. The unique museum and gallery here take you thru 2000 years of Indonesian and Balinese history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanah Merah Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Hotel Ubud
Tanah Merah Resort And Gallery
Tanah Merah Hotel Gallery
Tanah Merah Art Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing