We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanah Merah Art Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Ranked #76 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
essex, england
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had seen the positive reviews and having now stayed, I agree with every one of them. Right from the moment we arrived, every person at the resort was warm and welcoming, making sure we were well looked after.

The grounds are beautiful and typical of Ubud. The accomodation is laid across the property. We had studio rooms which are huge and airy. The windows also open right out to give you good views out. Each room has beautiful furniture and well provided.

The pool area is amazing and you can look out right down the valley. We used the restaurant a couple of times and the food was delicious. The breakfast was nice too and freshly cooked each morning. There are a lot of steps up and down the property which is worth mentioning if you are not as agile as you once were!

Not to be missed is the gallery and museum. The product of a a lifes devotion to a passion. I have never seen such an amazing private collection and it was the icing on the cake for our stay. I would whole heartedly recommend this place to anyone. If you want to get out and about, it is easily arranged at reception. We had a car for a day and Wayan our driver was informative and great company.

Tanah Merah deserves all the great reviews - enjoy your stay, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: All rooms have something special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    85
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
58
189
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wow is all i can say...you will not be disappointed. Gorgeous grounds and room. Great staff and beautiful location. A wonderful holiday experience. The artwork is stunning and you really feel connected to nature, the view over the gorge is breathtaking. Loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louie197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I 've ever seen and I am a tourism proffessional,so have seen many many of them.Each cottage here has its own theme ,a true experience of Bali.I recommend the cottages ,far more then the villa.The infinity pool looking at the valley was so beautiful.Massages highly recommended,I mean ...highly .Food was great.We had our dinner there once ,it took some time yes but it was delicious.Breakfast was also very good,Asian ,American or Continental sets as usual in many of South East Asia hotels.
Do not miss the walk to River Petanu where you can swim in the cold river and enjoy ultimate quiteness surrounded with rich greenery.
I loved sitting out there in the porch of our cottage on a rocking chair and listening to the birds ,watching fireflies,etc.
Frangipani trees everywhere.Delicious fragrances and colorful flowers decorating the rooms.
One little tip;If you are terribly afraid of bugs&flies ,this may be a place where you would try to overcome your fobia :) :) A little dark at night at alleyways on the way to the rooms.
I had a personal tour organised by the hotel,Nyoman ,my guide and driver was very courteous and helpful,highly recommended.
I think it is a lovely place for couples and friends ,nature lovers,looking for a retreat but not good for a single traveler.15 min.drive to center of Ubud but they have a shuttle(a comfy SUV) during the day and taxis are inexpensive.
From owner of the hotel to the restaurant personnel ,everybody was so nice and courteous.Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Throughout our many trips to south-east Asia, Tanah Merah undoubtedly remains our all-time favorite hotel and travel experience. We have just returned from our second stay and would like to share some impressions – however bear in mind that words cannot explain how truly enchanting this place is.
The resort overlooks a breathtaking rainforest river gorge, and you are at all times surrounded by architectural and natural beauty when walking around the resort area with its tropical birds and rainforest infinity pools so elegantly incorporated in the lush gardens. Discovering Tanah Merah, we found that each of the villas, cottages and rooms is exquisitely decorated with unique and beautiful paintings and antiques collected by its dedicated owner.
Tanah Merah is in every enchanting detail the creation of its owner Peter Bloch who has travelled and worked across Indonesia for many years. His great energy and passion for art, antiques and life gives the resort its totally unique quality. The star of Tanah Merah is the Museum which is an absolute must! We will never forget the first time we learned about Indonesian history on a voyage of discovery in Peter's unforgettable artistic private collection so generously displayed to Tanah Merah's guests.
There is a wonderful private ambiance and the friendly staff have always made us feel at home and tended to. The food, including the complimentary breakfast, is delicious and made from the freshest ingredients – our favorite is the super tender Tanah Merah steak! The resort's location in the heart of the original Bali is just right for us - we recharge in its beautiful surroundings after days filled with new impressions from around the island - and the free shuttle service makes it so easy to get to Ubud in just minutes.
So thank you Tanah Merah for unforgettable and adventurous days, hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and chose VERY WELL. It was the 'gallery' that swung it for me but I wasn't expecting the room to be a gallery, too. Packed with artwork and so spacious. Lovely touch with the rose petal heart and word- Honeymoon. The pool was breathtaking. The breakfasts were delicious (though little choice). The staff were friendly (although I wasn't a fan of the Rottweilers). Just stunning. It IS out of town, but that's the great thing about it. It wasn't easy to get a ride into town but they did it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metalkarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had booked a Studio room for ourselves. It was huge and really beautifully done up. I can just imagine how lovely the villas must be... The resort environs are truly beautiful - very green, with beautiful stone carvings and sculptures everywhere. Their breakfast area overlooks the Petanu River Gorge, as does the infinity pool - it was absolutely amazing to swim in it. You can even walk down to the Petanu river. But, mind you, it's a very steep climb up and down. So expect to be drenched in sweat by the time you come back up, if you are not very fit. The inclusive breakfast was quite substantial - I could never finish any of it! The Rice Congee was quite good.
They also offer spa services, which you need to book two hours in advance, as they bring in someone from outside. The masseuse was very good at her job! I had a very relaxing and invigorating massage.
The staff is very friendly and cheerful - something we saw everywhere in Bali, actually. Nura, the receptionist was very helpful and had a good sense of humour.
We were able to rent a scooter for Rp. 60,000/day to go back and forth to Central Ubud. Tanah Merah is about 5 Km away from Central Ubud, so if you would rather not travel up and down daily, then this resort might not be for you. But the beautiful environs more than make up for it.
There is a lot of walking about to do within the resort itself - steep steps lead down to most of the villas - so, maybe not the best for elderly people or people with knee issues.
On the downside, the food was not that good and on the expensive side. We tried some Indonesian and Balinese food, but found that the restaurants in Central Ubud offered much better fare. We ate only two meals at the resort. Their roasted chicken sandwich was terribly greasy. So we made it a point to eat dinner out too. The road to Tanah Merah is not very well-lit, and there are a couple of hair pin bends. But if you don't mind driving in the dark and drive safely, then you'll be fine :)
The only really annoying part was the location of the A/C unit. It was right above the door, and it took a long while to cool the entire room, and sometimes the room was not adequately cool even at 16 degrees Celsius!

Room Tip: Our studio room did not have much of a view, but I think the villas have a gorgeous view of the Peta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urvashi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here in 2011. Paid AU$150/night on ebay from a guy that booked the whole resort for a conference that no one showed up for...ooops.Very nice place,but a long way out of town.Even the locals didnt know how to get there.Enjoyed the experience but 2 nights was enough for us. Highly recommended for those seeking complete relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedsMoreSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
2.9 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sunset Hill
Sunset Hill
#86 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
2.1 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#36 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Merah Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah Art Resort

Property: Tanah Merah Art Resort
Address: Jl. Melayang, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#36 Family Hotel in Ubud
#66 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanah Merah Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tanah Merah Art resort is located only 4 km (4000 m) from the center of busy Ubud. The short scenic route from Ubud winds thru rice terraces with view of the big volcanoes until you arrive at the hotel with the only access in Ubud to the Petanu river in the jungle, where you can swim up to the waterfall. The 18 villas and rooms are decorated with art and antiques. The unique museum and gallery here take you thru 2000 years of Indonesian and Balinese history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tanah Merah Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Merah Resort And Gallery
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Hotel Ubud
Tanah Merah Hotel Gallery
Tanah Merah Art Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing