We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Ranked #88 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The resort is beautiful set amongst the rice fields and in the midst of a forest. We stayed in the studio rooms. They are large and can easily accommodate a family of four. The place is clean and well maintained.

The best thing about the resort are the staff. They are friendly and make an effort to make you feel at home. The sense of security is great. On the first day we checked in and went out and forgot to lock our bags. There was money lying around and the staff had come around to turn down the covers in the afternoon. But we did not find anything missing.

The cons are that the place is a little distant from Ubud and the road is dark and deserted in the evenings. So walking back is ruled out. Also the hotel shuttle is there only till about 6 PM. We did not face a problem since we had a car but if you do not have your own transport, I guess there could be a problem.

When we were there, two restaurants were open. The menu is not large and cooking is competent but not great. Considering the number of rooms this is OK.

In the studio, the showers did not work well and all that we got was a thin trickle of water. So if you like a shower after a long day you will be disappointed.

The studio does not have a fan and has one aircon that is placed over the door. The rooms have large windows but if there is no breeze then you feel the lack of a fan. The problem is less in the night as switching on the aircon makes the room cool. We did not spend much time in the resort during the day but could be a problem.

The studio faces the backyard of a house and they tend to throw all their trash in the backyard (see picture and video). Not only does this make for an unpleasant sight but also results in a foul smell. Not something that can be addressed by the resort but a problem nonetheless.

If you are a light sleeper the sounds of the rooster crowing are too loud and will wake you up.

One of the reviewers mentions about the pool being dirty but we used it and the water was clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLYTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    86
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
62
192
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Absolutely a 10 out of 10 experience. I paid for a upgrade to the "Mads Lange pool villa" for a few nights. The pool villa is worth every penny of money and It blew my mind away. It was private and huge and gave sweeping unobstructed views of a lush green valley.

I stayed in a studio as well and also found this environment to be fantastic and luxurious. the bathrooms were particularly beautiful in all rooms. Nice big deep soaker tubs and plenty of super hot water.

The Infinity pool is really clean and nice. there are green tiles on the floor of the pool. This can give the appearance of a light green colour in the water. Perhaps this is why people think the pools may have been dirty in other reviews? Well I have seen the world and been to many resorts and the pool at the Tenah Merah was crystal clean and better than many places I have been to. The view of the valley from the infinity pool was also very special.

The food in the restaurant was very fresh and the steak in particular really impressed me. Make a point of dining at this resort.

The owner has created a gallery and museum of Indonesian artefacts. The rooms in the museum are worthy of the Smithsonian or British museum.

You will be very pleased with all aspects of your stay. This is a very real Bali experience and it is in a small village close to Ubud. the place is timeless.

Stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in the pool villa even if for one night (budget permitting) you will be pleased that you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Tanah Merah genuinely has the potential to be a 5* resort. The resort is beautifully designed and decorated, with amazing views over the river gorge from the cottages and villas and lovely, clean pools. The staff are very friendly and eager to please, and security very good (which is reassuring as the resort is quite open). The owner is a remarkable man who clearly has a great passion for Bali and its people, and has an astounding museum and gallery on site that is unlike anything we have seen before - well worth the tour. Breakfast was lovely and the food in the restaurant excellent (although much more expensive than downtown offerings).

When the service was good, it was excellent. We were upgraded to a villa at no cost after the bed in one of the cottages gave us problems, and the hotel booked various activities for us and gave us advice on what to do. As mentioned, the staff were always friendly and alert to any ways they might help.

However, when the service let us down, it did let us down quite significantly. After a day in Ubud on our first day, we arrived back at 9.30pm to be told by the night staff the restaurant was closed and we couldn't get any drinks or food. As Ubud is a 10-15 minute drive from the resort, this was obviously not something easily rectified. We raised the issue with the manager the next day and was told this had been a mistake and he would speak to the staff, but obviously that spoiled our evening, and as a result we didn't eat dinner at the resort again as we didn't want to get caught out again.

We generally found that basic aspects of hotel service usually taken for granted were missing. The staff happily brought drinks to the pool, but would never return to see if you wanted any more, so you would have to go looking for them. Lunch took 45 mins to arrive when we ate at the restaurant. Requests for extra pillows etc were forgotten until we reminded the staff. We were told that a shuttle service operated until 7pm, when we arrived, but then got a call at 6pm as we were getting ready to say the driver wanted to go home, so we'd have to come now. We also missed the shuttle when the driver left early one night, at 5pm. We did feel that if a shuttle service is promised between certain times, then it should be available as stated. Generally, we occasionally got the impression that we were working around the staff, rather than the staff working around us.

But as stated, when the service was excellent it was really excellent. The staff have all the potential to make it a 5* resort, it just seems to me that they need some professional training to fill in the service gaps. When they do, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it without any reservations.

Room Tip: The cottages are in a nice location but were noisier than the villas and the studios, and much much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bircharama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at the Tanah Merah in April 2012. We'd booked a week and our first impression was just as positive as the reviews promised. The setting is beautiful, we were a short drive from Ubud, and all was well. We were all set for a relaxing holiday. Then, as luck would have it, I suffered a cycling accident. The details are unnecessary, except that we had to move suddenly from the resort to the Bali Royal Hospital. I underwent surgery and was eventually airlifted to Singapore. Our stay at the Tanah Merah was unavoidably cut short ... yet we were unable to get out of paying for the full original stay. The resort insisted that we pay for all of our booked nights, saying "insurance should cover it". And, in fact, the money isn't the issue. Our disappointment is more with the resort's shortsighted view of immediate profit and lack of compassion. There are other equally inviting resorts nearby and next time we'll stay in one of those.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cupidosiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Tanah Merah (red earth) is a remote location in the rain forest of Ubud. The Hotel offers gracious wood bungalows with a huge and full-confort bathroom in the basement. We liked the feeling of being lost in the nature while enjoying the cnfort of the room.
The Hotel has a restaurant which was quite below our expectations. They offered a questionable continental menu. A huge rotweiler hanged around the kitchen and the clients area.
From the garden you can enjoy an extraordinary landscape over the valley. You can easily hear the sound of a waterfall. The swiming pool is also a very nice spot in the middle of the garden.
We raised some questions about the parrots and the other birds kept in some small cages all around the park. The staff explained this is the way they protect such animals from the hunters. Some parrots, we got explained, are also used to get released during the day. Despite of that we left the structure feeling a bit sorry for these animals.
Our stay was really pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel was a 10 minute drive from Ubud. Everything about the place was exquisite and wonderfully thought through. We had a fabulous room stuffed full of antiques and treasures (sleep walkers beware!!) that took our breath away. Luxuriously appointed with a bathroom to die for. I took the opportunity to stay in one of the villas for a few nights; iidyllic. Breakfast (four tables, so no overcrowding) individually prepared by the friendliest of staff overlooking a verdant green valley. A choice of three different swimming pools (including a tranquility pool) ensured privacy & seclusion.
The owner (Peter) personally showed us around the gallery and antiquities enthralling us with his knowledge of rare Chinese porcelain and artefacts.....an absolute must.
After a torrid (horrid?!) time in Kuta and Jimbaran, which was awful our stay here salvaged the holiday and left us with the most treasured memories. A MUST for any visitor !!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the main block (only four of them) which are great value. Or see if one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombaywelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We only stayed in Tanah Merah for two nights and it felt that we need to stay longer. The view from Bali Villa was fantastic! When the review said, the pictures were great but in reality they were even better, it was totally true! Best for get away couples or honeymoon as you'll never regret it. We'll never ever get this view in Australia. Ask for lots of mozzie repellent and you will be fine. The sound of the running water from the river down the cliff, made your day and night feels like in paradise. It was such a great feeling waking up in the morning to the beautiful sound and beautiful view.
The owner and the people from the hotel were all friendly and helpful. Everything there was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
2.9 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#67 of 198 in Ubud
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
6.2 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#57 of 198 in Ubud
70 reviews
5.6 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#37 of 198 in Ubud
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Merah Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah Art Resort

Property: Tanah Merah Art Resort
Address: Jl. Melayang, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#36 Family Hotel in Ubud
#75 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanah Merah Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tanah Merah Art resort is located only 4 km (4000 m) from the center of busy Ubud. The short scenic route from Ubud winds thru rice terraces with view of the big volcanoes until you arrive at the hotel with the only access in Ubud to the Petanu river in the jungle, where you can swim up to the waterfall. The 18 villas and rooms are decorated with art and antiques. The unique museum and gallery here take you thru 2000 years of Indonesian and Balinese history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanah Merah Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Hotel Ubud
Tanah Merah Resort And Gallery
Tanah Merah Hotel Gallery
Tanah Merah Art Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing