We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rembulan room is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #503 of 653 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed a night in the room Rembulan. It was a great experience!
We were a little bit afraid when reading the other reviews but this room was what we expected from pictures and description from the official hotel website.

Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable.
The bathroom was big and convenient, which was really rice. We appreciated the fact that it was clean without any insects although it was an open bathroom.

Breakfast was good and the pool was usable.
What we loved about this place was its location. On one of the main streets at Ubud, it was just perfect!

Room Tip: We advice the Rembulan room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanThi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

Flatters to deceive, this place. Lovely setting in woodland despite being close to the town centre and major sites, but the small refuse tip thrown on the slope just outside (not from the hotel but from the neighbour's house) was not so pleasant. Small pool and comfortable breakfast area, but rooms were basic, no particular charm or quality to them, and not always completely clean. Breakfasts poor - luckily there are excellent cafés just a few minutes walk away. Staff were friendly and welcoming but we had to remind them to correct the bill in our favour due to a mix-up over rooms. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We had high hopes for this place but when we got there the room was clearly not well maintained, many lightbulbs were missing, the door was cracked, the bathtub was unusable,... and the room was not clean. Also, be prepared for many mosquitoes. On a brighter note, the large pool was nice and there were good pancakes for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lies V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A little urban hotel with comfortable rooms, nice swimming pool and free coffee and tea all day. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. Very close to Yoga studio, nice restaurants and convenient stores. Although don't expect much from the breakfast menu. The rooms are simple but clean and spacious. I would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the city center of Ubud but away from crowds and noisy streets.

Room Tip: Best rooms to choose: Room Janger, Room Goa or Room Keshak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cludie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was only able to stay here for one night as it was high season and I didn't have a reservation. The front desk team found me another place to stay and moved me there with all of my stuff. So helpful!

My room was spacious and lovely. The location is great. Same street as the post office, Radiantly Alive yoga studio, Bali Buda, and lovely little shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

these guys go out of their way to make you feel at home and make your stay the best it can be. The rooms are great too. Good value. And a really great location in the centre of everything. They can arrange scooter and show tickets. Free tea and coffee all day is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Kehak room is at the end of the path, lovely and quiet, and pleasantly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BrisHobbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Over my 3 nights stay, we changed 3 rooms. The biggest, yet most horrible Gua room, the Janger room, and finally the Bintang room.
First night at Gua and we were deeply traumatized by the fused bulb in the shower, which the staff refused to change, the broken ceiling fan, which was replaced by yet another broken floor standing fan, and worst of all, a FLYING COCKROACH. The other 2 nights at Janger and Bintang were better, but we battled mosquitoes, flying and non-flying ants. Rooms (and pool) were also dirty and poor maintained.
For full review with pictures, visit http://molly-mia.blogspot.sg/2014/05/mias-travel-log-bali-day-1.html

Room Tip: Do not, I repeat, DO NOT choose Gua room! Out of the 3, I'll recommend Bintang room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#50 of 198 in Ubud
704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,090 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ananda Cottages
Ananda Cottages
#90 of 198 in Ubud
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
0.8 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Jl. Jembawan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $27 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flourish with authentic Balinese hospitality and discover the mystique of old Ubud in "wish is our command" colorful themed huts including abundant daily room service breakfast and formal afternoon tea in botanical pavilion while watching Balinese girls make traditional spiritual offerings. Find repose in air-conditioned Elizabethan library decorated with antiques or reinvigorate in jungle-side bath. Our eco-friendly bungalow in a secluded ravine is a seven-minute walk from Ubud Center/Palace. Hassle-free transportation and in-room massage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Cottage b&b
Matahari Cottage Hotel Ubud
Matahari Cottage Bed And Breakfast Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing