We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room + pool but poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #502 of 653 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We paid Rp250,000/night for 2 people for 6 nights.

Location: approx. 5 mins walk from centre. On same street as Radiantly Alive yoga studio + Bali Budda.

Nice pool and seating area. Free freshwater available, but warm-hot from water cooler as it is left out in sun all day! Room was nice ("Kecak") with good powerful ceiling fan above bed, lockable wardrobe and en suite bathroom with hot powerful shower.

The wifi did not stretch to the room (and some rooms were even further away), so using the internet during the evening involved sitting by the pool and getting shredded by mosquitoes!! (despite 50% DEET and a coil!) Bad mosquitoes is an Ubud thing though..

Breakfast was rubbish, just about edible, a lot of people chose to eat out even though it was free. You get something different + melon every day (no choice), and it was usually something cooked early on, which you got when you got up (e.g. omelette/pancake/terrible scrambled egg)...

Staff quite friendly and helpful, although persistantly nagged about organising activities for us - I presume they receive commission although they denied this.

Okay for 250,000 for deluxe room + pool, as we arrived on the day, but in no way worth the 500,000 they supposedly charge!!

Room Tip: Check if wifi is available in your room if you want it! It's not in "Kecak".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here after a few nights in less central guest house in Ubud. First impressions, when you're looking around it looks really good: central, modern infinity pool, cute bungalows, chilled out vibe.. It wasn't until we had booked our room, dumped our bags on the ground until we realised how FILTHY the place was. We went for the cheapest room which was filled with random chandeliers and antique furniture and looked very quirky and not what we would normally choose but HEY WE'RE ON A BUDGET! I think we were so blown away by how random 18th century English furniture looks in a bamboo hut in Ubud that we didn't notice the cobwebs, spiders and dust. Open minds etc. we're like whatever we can deal with a bit of dirt... But 5 minutes later after truly inspecting the place we agreed that it wasn't fit for anyone and the amount of dust and visible bacteria and goodness-know-what-those-marks-on-the-bed-are.. we had to move room (we wanted to leave right there and then but we were exhausted and it was late at night). So we end up having to spend a significant amount more for this impressively spacious mezanine room which was, I must admit, a lot cleaner than the cheap room but still under no circumstances would I call this place clean, ever. Because we were so lazy and because we had been traveling quite some time and were used to budget accomodation we actually stayed a few nights here but absolutely grudged the amount we were paying- this place is not good value for as you are paying over the odds for what is supposedly 'mid-range' accomodation, when it is in fact only budget standard.

The lack of cleanliness also goes for the pool- it's such a shame as clearly the pool wasn't built too long ago but it was the dirtiest pool I have ever swam in. And after realising this- you don't want to make use of it.

If this hasn't persuaded you to go elsewhere, maybe the description of the breakfast will. Cold, slimey, slither of omelette.. with a sad squirt of ketchup on the side. But you can do what we did and skip the breakfast here and walk down to the road to Bali Budha which does decent food... I must say the location is good.

Hopefully the manager or whoever owns this reads this and deals with these problems. It has so much potential to be a really great place to stay- the location is wonderful and the rooms themselves are decent its just the complete lack of any cleanliness that lets it down. A proper kitchen with a chef is required for the breakfasts- a slither of omelette out of the fridge is unacceptable and just wrong. So is the stale piece of bread with chocolate spread that was put in front of us. I think there should be a choice and I think you need a chef. Nothing fancy, just a freshly cooked, hot omelette, or whatever.

The management needs to sort this out, the staff were friendly and pleasant- perhaps just a little more direction and focus is needed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandmands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Matahari Cottages what a perfect location in Ubud! 100m from yoga studio Radiantly Alive and Bali Buddha cafe. Cute shops without the hassle of hawkers and overpriced gifts. Less than 10min (easy) walk to markets, palace and center of town, about 15min walk to Yoga Barn.
I stayed in Batavia Cottage. Very cute furnishings, close to pool, queen size bed and ensuite, no AC just a fan. I wouldn't stay in this room if you are a light sleeper or like a sleep in as the sun shines through the attic windows and is located next to the kitchen. By 6-6.30 you will see the sun, by 7-7.30 you will hear the staff preparing breakfast and chatting. This wasn't a problem for me as it was a natural alarm clock for a quick yoga class =) Did end up with a few bites but don't let this stop you from giving this place a go. Very good value for location and facilities. I would go back again!
Breakfast is included, tea/coffee available 24hrs by the pool. Breakfast was either fruit and toast with juice or an omelette.
Unfortunately for my visit the wifi wasn't working in the rooms and the pool wasn't able to be swum in due to chemical treatment.
Free locked boxes were available for your valuables - not in the rooms but in the 'library'. Transport can also be organised for pick up/drop off to airport for IDR200 000.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielleBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We made our booking for superior room with extra bed through Agoda.
We, three of us (my husband, 11 yo daughter and me) arrived at Matahari cottage about 6pm in the mid of Aug. At first, the stuff took us to the room but it seemed someone was still there. Not finished bedmaking, cigarette bud was in the ashtray, no space for extra bed. Apparently that room was completely different from our request.
After we complained it, she took us another bigger room, next to the reception which was ok. There was open-air bathroom so that mosquito easy came into the bedroom even though they had a mosquito net but not provided for extra bed. I strongly recommend you to bring a mosquito spray or vape on your own as they wouldn't help you. Towel was grubby-looking.
Breakfast was ok if you understand you stay at a budget BB. Just go to Bali Buddha or another fancy cafe in the neighborhood if you don't like their breakfast.

Actually the location was quite nice, we could explore anywhere in Ubud by walk.
It was only 5 mins to Ubud Market, 2 mins to Bali Budddha and the nearest yoga studio (not Yoga Barn though).

I will find another accommodation next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temancantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights in July/August 2012 in the brand new Kecak room and we loved it!
Super comfy bed, good quality sheets and towels, very nice bathroom with very good shower, ample space for storage, free wifi, ceiling fan (it was enough, we didn’t need AC); no safe provided. Simply but tasty breakfast (omelette cooked different style every morning, fruits and fresh fruit juice), all day free the/coffee/water in the pool area.
Matahari cottages is a great choice while staying in Ubud: we booked e-mailing Sean and he was extremely kind and answered promptly; all the people there were so kind and helpful (thank you, Iluh!).
The location is really good, near the main street but very quiet with it’s beautiful garden and pool.
We definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Where do I begin. First the staff were friendly and helpful. If it wasn't for them we would have left the first day of arrival. The entrance to the place was nice, the pool and the grounds and from there downhill. The bathroom needed renovation. Mold, mildew, bugs and who knows what else was on the walls and tub. It was terrible! The mosquito net had ton of holes so it was not effective. We had some kind of animal poop in the room every time we returned to the room. We had a variety of critters in the room. Our room was the last room so we were next to a dog that barked from 6:30 am until 11:30. He was insync with the rooster. Only one electrical plug for the whole room so if you plug in the fan you can't use the lamp or recharge your electronics. Only 3 light fixtures so the room was dark. I guess if it was lit well you would have seen how run down the place was. The worse place i have ever stayed at. We left after a couple of days. Lack of sleep and just not feeling comfortable in the room. The room was called South Pacific. I don't know what the other rooms look like but this one was terrible.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are other places closer, cheaper and cleaner. Karna hotel was nice clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

After looking at agoda.com(hotel site) I decided that Matahari would be a clean and comfortable. Although when my family and I got there we were escorted by the extremely friendly staff to what seemed to be the shack of the hotel. Our room was terrible; the majority of nights there would be gecko turds scattered on the floor, bathroom floor, and the top of our ragged and hole-filled mosquito net. We at first didn't know what it was so we cleaned it ourselves, but after the 2nd night we noticed there were more and they were bigger. We asked the hotel staff what it was and the friendly man looked up into our rafters and said "Little geckos". The gecko poops that were on top of our mosquito net sometimes were able to slip through the net and onto our bed, leaving a lovely sprinkling of gecko turd. There was barely any space to put bags other then the floor which we refused to lay bags on because of gecko poop and ants. The bathroom was the major down point for us; the sink was barely hanging on, everything was dirty, spiders were abundant, geckos visited often, ants crawled up the walls, we even had a slug. The bathtub was dirty, there was no place to hang the shower head so you were forced to hold it above yourself. The place did have hot water but we figured that out after 2 cold showers, we asked the staff who kindly showed us that the hot and cold signs were on backwards. On our last day we sited a huge gecko on the inside of our ceilings making us very glad we were leaving. There were many rooms, each had names, ours was South Pacific. From the looks of other guests they didn't have as many problems as we did, so we guessed that some rooms have been renovated and ours was just left behind.

The staff were all very friendly though! Every morning breakfast was something different and very fresh. The pool looked nice although we never swam because we tried to distance ourself from the hotel. The location is great; very close to the Ubud Market, Palace, and other lovely shops.

All-in-all: The staff is friendly, location is great, pool looks nice, breakfast is good, but CHECK YOUR ROOM because of the dirty beds,bathroom, floor, and many creatures visiting, we made the mistake of staying.

Room Tip: Check your rooms before consenting. NEVER CHOOSE SOUTH PACIFIC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White-Bai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#51 of 198 in Ubud
704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,090 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ananda Cottages
Ananda Cottages
#89 of 198 in Ubud
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
0.8 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Jl. Jembawan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #502 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $27 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flourish with authentic Balinese hospitality and discover the mystique of old Ubud in "wish is our command" colorful themed huts including abundant daily room service breakfast and formal afternoon tea in botanical pavilion while watching Balinese girls make traditional spiritual offerings. Find repose in air-conditioned Elizabethan library decorated with antiques or reinvigorate in jungle-side bath. Our eco-friendly bungalow in a secluded ravine is a seven-minute walk from Ubud Center/Palace. Hassle-free transportation and in-room massage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Cottage Hotel Ubud
Matahari Cottage b&b
Matahari Cottage Bed And Breakfast Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing