We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Scenic Romantic Getaway in the Heart of Ubud”
other travelers have booked this property
Infinity pool and poolside balé overlooking the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity pool and poolside balé overlooking the valley
Verandah, balé with daybed and sunbeds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Infinity pool and poolside balé overlooking the valley
Verandah, balé with daybed and sunbeds
Bedroom and balcony with candle lanterns all around
Candle lit dinner with soothing gamelan music
Complimentary breakfast by the pool
Romantic at night
Spacious lounge area to sit back and relax
Beautiful full moon above Shamballa Moon
Relaxing at the bale overlooking tropical garden
Welcome fruit with tropical flowers
Mount Agung at sunrise from upstairs
Stunning sunrise from your bed
Path to the pool area from the bathroom
Self contained kitchen with minimalist design
Private villa dinning by the pool
Spacious and private with a view
Candlelit dinner with live gamelan music
Friendly and private butler service
Main road access to Shamballa Mooon
Intimate private villa experience
Daily Bali Hindu offerings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chanflore...
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Scenic Romantic Getaway in the Heart of Ubud”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Shamballa Moom is everything the photographs purports it to be! The best thing about Shamballa Moon was undoubtedly the villa itself - it was absolutely beautiful, with many places to lounge and rest peacefully by the pool. The balcony upstairs in the bedroom was the best place to watch the sun rise as you wake up to the sounds of birds. I enjoyed doing yoga every morning while waiting for breakfast..

The staff was also great - very accommodating and helpful when we needed transportation arrangements. The breakfast served was absolutely delicious.

The only thing is wifi was quite spotty - we had to do some work during our stay so that was the one minor complaint that I have.

I would go back to Shamballa Moom in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthTrip...
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Stunning property with brilliant staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Shamballa Moon is a one bedroom villa in the village of Payogan, four or five kilometres out of Ubud. It is perhaps the best property we have ever stayed at.

On arrival at Bali airport we were met by Wayan, who greeted us like family and provided cold drinks and towels for the long drive to Ubud. And on arrival at the villa, the whole staff came out to greet us with drinks, frangipani garlands and the biggest smiles we have ever seen.

The villa has a huge bedroom upstairs with a lovely and very comfortable four poster bed and a balcony overlooking the jungle. Downstairs is a large living area which opens onto a patio, small pool and pavilion with a day bed. The whole place is spacious and elegant, with more than enough space. It's well equipped with a large screen TV, DVD player and Bose sound system (bring your Ipod). There is also a fully equipped kitchen, although it didn't look like anybody had used it for a while.

There's really no need to use the kitchen - the meals provided by the fabulous staff were beautiful, made all the more so by eating in this romantic and luxurious location. We were given restaurant quality meals in a beautiful setting by beautiful and attentive ladies - why would you eat anywhere else? Breakfast was complimentary and the main meals were really cheap.

There are a couple of downsides to be aware of - Shamballa Moon is a little bit off the beaten track, but still reasonably convenient to town (and Wayan can drive you anywhere you want to go). The stairs up to the bedroom are steep - for some reason the Balinese people love steep stairs, but these are very steep. Lastly, there is a busy road which runs through the valley close to your villa. You can't actually see it through the jungle but the traffic noise can be disturbing.

But what's a little noise when the place is so luxurious? When the accommodation and meals are wonderful? And when the people who run this place are so friendly, attentive and delightful?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff - they were incredible
Liked least: The very steep stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinds
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Shamballa Moon was easily the best place we stayed in during our trip to Bali! The place has to be seen to be believed. Waking up to the sunrise, delicious meals by the pool, and naps on the day bed - heaven!

Kadek and her team looked after us really well, we immediately felt at home. Her cooking is delicious, so we opted to have dinner by the pool every night. The outdoor bathroom was a personal highlight - so relaxing and a great way to start the day.

Location wise, the villa is a 15 minute walk to come restaurants and shops, and a little further into Ubud town, however we made good use of the driver Wayan, who for reasonable prices drove us to wherever we wanted.

We'd love to come back someday, and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Shamballa to others!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber W
1 review
“Beautiful, stylish space and amazing staff”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I stayed at Shamballa Residence for our honeymoon and recently stayed at Shamballa Moon to mark our 1st anniversary. The fact that we returned to these neighbouring villas when there are so many options in Ubud should be testament enough but to elaborate - the space is cosy yet open and airy due to the indoor/outdoor design, the pool and gardens give a peaceful vibe and the staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. In-villa dining is excellent. We would recommend staying at Shamballa without hesitation.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali-Gold
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Having stayed at the other two Shamballa Villas in Ubud, we decided to experience the new Shamballa Moon. We we're certainly not disappointed. The same attention to detail, exceptional service and sumptuous meals. Our biggest disappointment was have only stayed a few nights to enjoy all that Shamballa Moon had to offer.

When we arrived the whole villa was adorned with beautiful frangipani flowers everywhere throughout the villa. We were also presented with a frangipani lai as well. Such a wonderful welcome. It made us feel so special to be in such a beautiful villa.

The one bedroom villa was so cosy, just like home but in the tropics. With the large lounge room downstairs with big comfy couches, big flat screen TV, DVD, and Bose sound system. There was a cute little kitchen with everything you needed if you decided to do your own cooking, but who would?

Outside from the lounge room is the traditional Balinese outdoor bathroom. But this was no ordinary bathroom. It had a large basin, a beautiful stone bathtub and a rainwater shower.

To the front of the lounge room is the covered terrace with its beautiful dining table. Outdoor dining in the tropics is so luxurious, especially when there is a sparking clear water pool right next to you. The large plunge pool was just what we needed to cool down from the tropical heat of the day.

Upstairs is the enormous bedroom with large bed and canopy. The bedroom had its own covered balcony. We loved sitting there in the morning watching the day come to life, as the sun rose in the sky and the birds where chirping as they were foraging for their food. On a fine day you can see Mt Agung from the balcony. What a majestic sight! Off to one corner of the bedroom is the cute little ensuite for all you need during the night.

The meals provided by the villa staff are second to non. Why go out for luch or dinner when you have wonderful in-house chefs ready to cook you up a storm. Our all time favourite is the Chicken Curry. Mild and tasty, just perfect.

We have no hesitation in recommending Shamballa Moon, as with all the Shamballa Villas to all our friends and family. They are all heaven to stay at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Its cosy tropical atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob B
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful Villa with exceptional service”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed in villa for honeymoon and couldn't have been happier. We arrived to flower petals decorating the entire villa both inside and out which was a very nice touch. Had never stayed in a villa before with outdoor bathrooms which was very cool, especially the rainfall shower and soaking tub. The service level of the staff was very high and meals were very good. Highly recommend the banana pancakes, mint juice drink and the corn fritters. They offer transportation from airport which is a little more expensive than taking a taxi, but worth it if you have never been to Ubud and know exactly where villa is as it is off the main road a little bit. Villa is about 5km from the center of Ubud which we walked once but taking taxis should be about 50-60 rupiah.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Privacy and service level
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagatay H
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Heavenly”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Shamballa Villas in past October and was so impressed that we decided to go back and stay with them once again. Although it was not the same unit, the care and the attention to details were as above and beyond expectation.
One can easily get addicted to these properties and the service level they provide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Liked best: The Style and the Comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing