We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place, something felt off though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Ranked #14 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Gorgeous place, something felt off though.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We got a 'family room' for the price of a normal room due to them being booked out. The room was impeccable. Nicely designed, had all the facilities you'd expect for $105AUD/night: WiFi, lovely big clean bed, flat screen TV, air con, pool, free breakfast.
I suspect the staff are badly managed though, as they went about their work seeming terrified and very quiet. The front desk staff were friendly, if a little pushy about making us go through them for transport, activities etc.

The pool was awesome, if a little small.
Also, I couldn't get any hot water :(

Overall we had a good stay.

Room Tip: It's probably worth trying to bargain your way up to the newer larger units - the standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    105
    32
    6
    6
See reviews for
75
226
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidoarjo, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is great sized hotel just off the main road in Ubud. I like it because it doesn't have heaps of rooms and the staff are very friendly and attentive. The garden and pool area is nice even if its small. It's nice and quiet and restful. Every room gets an offering placed outside in the morning and there is a good selection for breakfast. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the garden are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I really enjoyed the lumbung sari. The place is very centrally located on the monkey forest road. It is walking distance to the monkey forest and all of the main streets of ubud. The staff are very pleasant and the rooms are immaculate. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruits and a cooked buffet. Great place to base yourself for touring around bali and the lumbung sari is well worth staying at for several days.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is AMAZING but if you wanna save some money the standars are fantastic and a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Little Gem on Monkey forrest road,
I am writing this sitting on the balcony overlooking the pool, from a newly refurbished room, with huge new bathroom , and seperate spacious shower.
Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast by the pool very good.
Location ideal near shops and restaurants, and still very tranquil and secluded .

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irmgard1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location close to everything. Staffs were nice , helpful and friendly.

Since there is no curtain to separate between the bathtub and toilet area, after showering the floor will be flooded.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Lumbung Sari Cottages are quaint, clean and are traditional Balinese style rooms with comfortable beds and amenities such as flat panel TV screens in the rooms.The property is a bit more upmarket than some of the other local hotels but a very good value. Be sure to bargain with the staff when you check in for a better deal. The grounds and pool are beautiful and lush and they provide a nice Balinese breakfast near the pool grounds. The location is excellent, in the center of the city yet the grounds and atmosphere is tranquil.

My only disappointment is that the rooms are very dark and don't have much of a view. I prefer bright rooms with views of gardens or rice paddies like where I stayed at Gayatri bungalows even though it is not as upmarket.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandalust4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Found this place on the Net and it seemed ok so gave it a chance...and so glad we did! Great staff, new rooms were just wonderful, well maintained and clean as were the grounds and the pool was lovely as well. Breakfast by the pool was great with good food and attentive staff and everyone staying there looked happy and relaxed. Staff bent over backwards to help organising tours, transport etc. Only thing we we didn't like was the shortness of our stay, we were there for only 3 days and did not want to leave :-( but we're already planning our return for a longer stay next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#40 of 196 in Ubud
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 196 in Ubud
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
0.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 196 in Ubud
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbung Sari Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbung Sari Cottages

Property: Lumbung Sari Cottages
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumbung Sari Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lumbung Sari Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumbung Sari Cottages Hotel Ubud
Lumbung Sari Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing