We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character, beautiful quiet location, excellent massage”
Review of Bunga Permai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunga Permai Hotel
Ranked #138 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for a couple of nights-its a beautiful quiet place to relax and enjoy the nature of bali. You can hear a stream and running water all the time, and other than that not much else! The gardens are full of flowers and birdsong. We enjoyed walking around the gardens barefoot and relaxing by the small swimming pool.

We had a massage the first morning and we both agree it was one of the best massages we've ever had! The spa ladies were called in from their homes in the local village upon our request for a massage. They were very thorough and methodical and they both seemed to be able to massage us with the perfect amount of pressure and speed. In other places the massage often fluctuates between painful due to too much pressure followed by a gentle stroking-basically a lack of consistency in pressure and intensity. At bunga permai our experience was nothing like this-these ladies really had their heart in the job and we enjoyed every minute! They decorated the spa beautifully with fresh flowers and incense, gave us plenty of time and privacy to relax and get dressed after the massage, then served us a delicious ginger tea afterwards... The spa is open on one side so it is full of fresh air, the sound of the bubbling stream below, and the view is a lush green forest and open skies. We are seriously considering a return visit for the massage alone!

Our room was fine, very clean and the beds are really comfortable. The bathrooms are quiet basic and a little dark with no window to bring in natural daylight but they are clean and the hot water supply and shower pressure was great. We really liked the open balcony concept and slept with the glass doors open at night, just closing the outer bamboo blinds. We felt very safe and actually never shut these doors throughout our visit. The safety box in our room was locked closed so we couldn't use it, but we just locked valuables in the wardrobe instead, and as i said; we felt very safe.

The staff were all very courteous and helpful, although not very smiley. Nothing to complain about though and they were quick to help whenever we had a request.

The reason i haven't rated this place as excellent is because we found the restaurant a little dissappointing. The food was ok, but after eating there once we weren't interested in eating there again,especially as there are so many good places to eat in Ubud-the only issue being that ubud is a fifteen minute ride by motobike away, so we didn't always feel like going out for dinner, especially if we'd been out and about all day. My husband ordered a balinese curry which he said was quiet good. I had a salad and pizza but the pizza base was very soggy and the salad was fine but nothing special. We understand its a small place and quite out of town so it is probaly difficult for the management to predict demand, and this must limit variety and freshness of ingredients. A suggestion is to provide home made bread for the breakfasts! It would be easy to do.in a small place like this-also probably cheaper than the shop bought bread and would be a nice treat for guests!

Overall we rate this place as very good and we will no doubt choose to stay here again when we next visit ubud!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sheenyshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 106 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed a full week here and only have good experiences. The staff was helpful and arranged a rental car for us, gave good suggestions for walks, we had a nice walk with one of the staff through the rice fields, and some of our group had great massage. The hotel has big clean rooms, good beds, rooms with connecting door possible and a nice pool with view on the river valley. It is not in the city itself, you can either take a taxi, but you can also walk to Ubud via a beautiful shortcut road. The restaurant of the hotel is good, great place to stay with good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4ofUS_eis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Very nice hotel with a lovely view and a good swimming pool. The bungalows are nice and relaxing and breakfast is good. They have a safety box in the room and the rooms is clean.The hotel is not in the centre of ubud, but in a village clos to ubud. It will take just 10 minutes by taxi (30.000 rupiah to the centre of ubud).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine_ash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

It is a nice quiet hotel with a beautiful garden and rooms. Rooms are big and have a nice balcony. The staff is very friendly and arrange everything for us: flighttickets, tour to East Bali, massage, taxi. By taxi it is 7 minutes to Ubud. We make a hike to Ubud, that's very beautiful (ricefields)!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marijje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank LauraGL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.5 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#129 of 199 in Ubud
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gita Maha Hotel
Gita Maha Hotel
#95 of 199 in Ubud
60 reviews
3.1 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#139 of 199 in Ubud
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ubud Raya Hotel
Ubud Raya Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sayan
63 reviews
2.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#113 of 199 in Ubud
339 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
#106 of 199 in Ubud
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunga Permai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunga Permai Hotel

Address: Jl. Cocoa Br. Bunutan, Kedewatan | Jl. Cocoa Br. Bunutan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#109 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $27 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunga Permai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bunga Permai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunga Permai Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing