We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ranked #158 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I almost don't want to recommend this wonderful place lest on returning it's impossible to get a room. Ubud Terrace is the closest thing to paradise at the price that it's possible to find. Lovely staff, from the manager to the sweet gentle gardeners, beautiful immaculately kept grounds, clean pool, and rooms which vary from modern to ancient Aztec like, each a pleasure to return to after rambling the busy streets. The food served at the warung is as good if not better than that in the expensive restaurants, and I couldn't find a better chicken satay though God knows I've tried. 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandHonHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    83
    34
    18
    11
See reviews for
22
62
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days in dec 2011 and cannot fault the attention to detail, (mosquito coils, daily linen changes) and friendly caring staff. set in beautiful well tended gardens, and a great breakfast in the price...will certainly go again and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penstar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Walked up and down Monkey Forest Road looking at the numerous places to stay and selected this hotel because of the price and the location. We loved it. Our room was in the last block before the creek, on the first floor so there were many steps to navigate each day - a small torch was handy as after some Bintangs or wine the steps can be tricky. The room had large windows that opened to green field views and the balcony gave us a view of the creek and more greenery. The small pool was clean and there are nice gardens in the complex. The breakfast area (free basic breakfast!) was small and at popular times you have to wait for a table.

Overall a very pleasant experience and we will be staying here again. I recommend this place for those who want a hotel with character and who are travelling on a budget. We had an Excellent stay here!

Tip - write down the room price and if tax is included when you arrive. The front desk can promise things but on checkout you may encounter a different staff member.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Price: 300 000 rupiah/ night

Pros: lovely room, lots of space, clean, nice balcony, outdoor pool, breakfast included, friendly staff

Cons: when checking out they tried to charge us for a bar bill that wasn’t ours, and extra tax that we were told was included when we checked in. We prepaid one night, and they didn’t believe us. Good thing I kept the receipt. There was another couple there at the time looking at rooms, so they quickly took away the extra charges grumpily.

Bottom Line: Recommended, but check your charges at check out, and if you prepay anything, keep the receipt!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soakupthesun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove, england
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

The rooms at Ubud Terrace are spread out around beautifully kept gardens and are on many levels. A torch would come in handy when negotiating the steps at night. Our room was on the 1st floor and had a four-poster bed and another single bed. The large balcony was shared with the room next door but we never saw our neighbours. The room was large and simply designed, and the bathroom basic, but adequate and with plenty of very hot water. We had the aircon room and this worked out to be 300,000 per night, including breakfast. On the subject of breakfast - at first glance it seems very small, and it is. But it is enough really, and tastes good. They will give you extra coffee at no charge too. We also had lunch in the restaurant and that too was quite nice. There is wifi in the restaurant.
The pool is quite small and is the one area I felt they could improve on. The sunloungers had wonky legs and just looked worn-out. It still is a nice place to sit out in though.
Finally, if you use the laundry at the front of this place, be aware that everything goes in the tumble-dryer. I don't have one at home so a couple of things came back a teeny bit smaller. No harm done, as it happens, but if you want anything special washed, check the label beforehand. Otherwise it all came back, washed, ironed and folded within 6 hours. And the prices are very reasonable.
All in all, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makeminealargeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few nights while travelling through Indonesia, our friend who came to see us for a 2 week holiday also stayed here with us despite us being on 2 different Budgets. We stayed in the cheapest room, which was big and had hot water, a bath and a 4 poster bed! It was a fan room but that was def good enough. They wanted 200k to start with, he quickly dropped to 180k but when we said we cant spend that much after some thought and umming and erring over which room he could give us for cheaper, he let us have it for 150k (although it is + tax so 165k) inc in price is breakfast and wifi (although we had to go to the cafe/breakfast area to receive signal). Its worth noting that my friend stayed in one of their best rooms with aircon and payed 300k + tax and was nice enough but nowhere near as good value, our room might have been bigger and he didnt have 4 poster bed.
The pool is clean and we used it a couple times (despite the weather, it was the start of monsoon season) and the whole set up of the place is pleasant on the eye.

Room Tip: The cheaper fan rooms seem like better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeavinBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the Ubud terrace and we paid 385.000 IDR per night incl tax and breakfast for 3 people. It is good location at the end of Monkey forrest road and the room was big and pretty clean. We were promised hot water but that did not happen. I would get the room without breakfast as the breakfast was very basic and there are a lot of great little cafes in the area. The pool was small but functioning although a bit rundown. Overall, it was a fair price for the room and I would probably stay again if I go back to Ubud. This hotel has one major problem if you old has any problems walking - it has A LOT of stairs. the luggage was brought to the room but on check out we were struggling to get the luggage up to the reception by ourselves.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs so get one of the front rooms if this is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#156 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#171 of 195 in Ubud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#126 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#173 of 195 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#153 of 195 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#129 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Terrace Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Terrace Bungalows

Property: Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ubud Terrace Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ubud Terrace Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Terrace Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Ubud Terrace Hotel
Ubud Terrace Bungalows Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing