We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of town, but feels like the country side”
Review of Nick's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nick's Homestay
Ranked #175 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In the middle of town, but feels like the country side”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The accommodation was simple, but clean and for the price we didn't expect much luxury. It's in the middle of Ubud and thus the perfect location. Everything in Ubud can be easily reached by foot.

The staff was nice and quiet. They offered us transportation and ideas for day trips in and around Ubud when we asked. You have to ask, they don't just provide and offer service you didn't ask for. That's totally okay for me.

The rooms are not sound-proof at all so go to bed early in order not distract your neighbors. Also in the morning you'll be woken up by chickens, insects, birds and other animal noise. This can be lovely when you went to bed early, it can be horrible when you planned to sleep in. However that's all you gonna hear, there's absolutely no noise from the streets or the neighboring properties. The bed was super comfortable.

The breakfast was good and there was always tea on our front porch. After the fourth day however it gets old: There is not a lot of variation.

There is a pool on Nick's Pension which you can use for free. Ask the staff how to get there. It's a couple of minutes by foot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    43
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
36
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Nick's Homestay in July 2012. We loved our bungalow room. We arrived earlier than check in time but since our room was already cleaned we got into our room right away. It was a quiet refuge from the busy Ubud streets. I loved being served breakfast on the front porch. The tea and fresh fruit salad was delicious.The room was clean and comfortable. I was sad to leave this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauracheaptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Positively the location is just superb, right in the middle of Ubud but seemingly away from the hustle and bustle of it all. The service was terrible and we had the overwhleming feel that out prensence was unwelcome by the family. We had to go searching around in the morning for someone to get our breakfast and it felt like it was an annoyance to the staff. The room was simple and adequate but there was no fridge to store any perishables.
Overall difficult to rate as I had some lovely evenings on the balcony listening to a local band practicing and of feeling like I was immersed in local Bali life, but my first thoughts when thinking of this accommodation is of the poor quality of srvice and the attitude of the family who reside on site, hence the time in completing this review since we stayed.

Room Tip: There was quite a bit of noise in the mornings, but we quite liked it as it helped to create the sen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived in Ubud and went straight to Nicks, because of all great reviews. The owner sat down with us, just talking for 30 minutes and seemed really nice. Sadly, things got worse. In the night, we found bugs in our bed. We told the night worker that we wanted another room, but even thouh we showed him the bugs he wouldnt give us another room or try to help us at all. The next day we woke up with bites that ruined our ubud visit. You can use the pool at Nicks pension, but its a long walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room was very comfortable and felt removed from the bustle of Ubud despite being located so close to the main shopping and eating thoroughfares. Was surprised by how new and clean everything in the room was considering the price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I arrived late because of a bad bus connection and came on a recommendation from Rough Guide to Nicks Homestay - I was lucky to get a room and the one they gave me was 350,000 - the room was barren, light didn't work, bathtub wouldn't close and wifi only works barely on the terrace. I switched to a smaller room the next day because of lack of time and afterall the garden is pleasant. For 250,000 I got a teeny room with a fan, hot water that had to boil for some time in the morning by request, and attitude from the staff "Do you want breakfast? we'll bring your breakfast later because we have to make it for the other guests first" what kind of hospitality is that? Just rude. You can use the pools at the other locations but they are far. I moved to a place not 5 minutes away with a gorgeous room with bathtub in a similar fantastic garden for just 125,000/night. Nicks' is way overpriced for what you can get in the hood, and nothing special. Frankly for 350,000 I could have gotten a lot better.

Room Tip: Stay at the other Nicks locations where you have a pool and gorgeous bungalows. The prices at Nick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunrisesintheeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nick's Home Stay is a very charming environment and worthy of many photos. The proprietors are lovely people and wonderful conversationalists. The duplex visitor- bungalows are in the back of the family property and have private bathrooms ensuite. The compound is located at the southern end of the town of Ubud and is a considerable walk to see the main sights in town, but the Monkey Forest is within walking distance. Internet access was available only at Nick's Pension (a much more upscale hotel) which is also much, much closer in to town; this may be important to you if you are planning to walk to the sights. A small breakfast of coffee or tea and a banana smashed between two pieces of toast is included as well as afternoon tea, if requested. Once they served eggs and toast for breakfast. The roof on the duplex is open at the ceiling, so you can hear everything your neighbor is saying or doing. In addition, there is considerable noise in the early morning with crowing roosters, barking dogs, and crying children in the immediate area. I requested to change my room due to the rooster crowing under my window every morning, so they found a new room for me. Unfortunately, it wasn't until that evening that I discovered the blanket had not been changed out after the other guests had left and had a terrible smell. They replaced it the next morning. You will need to bring/buy your own soap, but T.P. and towels are provided. I wish I had splurged on Nick's Pension, which was a beautiful property with lush grounds, a swimming pool, restaurant and internet. If you are really on a very tight budget, Nick's Home Stay may be a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSFL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Jangkrik Homestay
Jangkrik Homestay
#91 of 592 in Ubud
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ganesha Inn
Ganesha Inn
#139 of 592 in Ubud
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nick's Pension
Nick's Pension
#56 of 572 in Ubud
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Depa House
Depa House
#22 of 592 in Ubud
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teja Guest House & Gallery
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Inn
The Peacock Inn
#101 of 592 in Ubud
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Homestay

Property: Nick's Homestay
Address: Jalan Hanoman No. 57, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nick's Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nick's Homestay is a peaceful oasis in the heart of busy Ubud, only 5 minutes walk from Monkey Forest and 15 minutes walk from Ubud Center or Ubud Traditional Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nick's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Homestay Hotel Ubud
Nick's Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing