We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat, real retreat”
Review of Mandala Desa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandala Desa
Ranked #15 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Retreat, real retreat”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ubud becomes a busy noisy city, losing its charms.
Get away from the heart of the city is my advise if you want to find a relaxing place.
Mandala Desa, is perfect to enjoy the silence and the rice fields atmosphere.
Don't think it is too far away. The Mandela Desa supply a free "taxi service" to get to Ubud.
Do not hesitate !

I would love to get back there!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
64
128
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Mandala Desa ticks all the boxes for a quiet, calm, relaxed, and refreshing stay. We recently enjoyed 5 nights and didn't want to leave!

I absolutely loved the location and was holding my breath as we pulled into the villa.
The villa is outside of the hustle and bustle of Ubud and each day that we spent away from Mandala Desa, we loved returning and stepping foot back to our tranquil villa. This special spot is for travelers who want to tuck away into the rice paddies and just enjoy being in Bali. Yet, you are close enough to go to Ubud and enjoy all the local activities. We enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service into town on a daily basis and the drivers were always dedicated to getting us to our yoga classes with a smile and on time. The owner, Jacinta, gives complete attention to detail and ensured that anything we needed was taken care of.

As vegans we were selective as to where to stay and also had special diet restrictions- and we give 5 stars to Jacinta and her staff for accommodating our food requests. We were known as the 'rabbits' by the end of our stay, but couldn't have been happier with the fresh organic vegetables, salads, brown rice, and fruits that were given to us. Thank You again for listening & understanding the importance of our food requests. We enjoyed every meal whether it was under our own private villa or under the stars by the pool.

We stayed in the private villa that is separate from the main building and loved the quietness of the space. It has it's own lanai with sitting area and private outdoor shower. Housekeeping is fantastic and it was always fresh and in perfect order when we returned from a day out.

We enjoyed the bikes that were on property to use and took a little adventure through the rice paddies. A definite must! You will be immersed in Bali immediately and enjoy the secluded back roads that wind through the paddies near the villa.

Internet speed and connection is fantastic! It had lightning speed - and this really made my husband happy as he was able to get a bit of work done!

I would absolutely recommend to stay at Mandala Desa and we will be returning to the calm retreat in the future! It is the ideal spot for the traveler who is looking for a private and calm oasis outside of Ubud. If you are looking for specific activities ask Jacinta for her advice and she will be able to help you plan an excellent itinerary for your trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was the most calm, relaxing and refreshing villa that I've ever stayed in Bali. Nestled comfortably amidst the rice paddies 15-min away from the ubiquitiously touristy Ubud Art Market, Mandala Desa was more of an experience rather than a stay at a vacation rental. We had rented a 2 bed Superior Suite as we went along with parents for a family holiday. The place is very spacious with a large dining room, huge living room and 2 nice bedrooms furnished in woody Balinese style. The balcony is the highlight as its huge and this was where we spent most of our time lazing around. You wake up to birds chirping and sleep to mausic of crickets and frogs. This was very good value for money especially after a Seminyak Villa. Food was very wholesome and fresh and Jacinta went out of her way to ensure that our demands of vegetarian food were met quite adequately. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

we spent 4 nights in this lovely place. the room was actually an individual villa, with large room and a private garden. the swimming pool is really nice, great for children as well. people are friendly and helpful. the shuttle car service to and from Ubud is very flexible and convenient. it is close to Sukawati market (ideal for shopping) and located near the rice fields. it is very quiet, ideal for a relaxing break, far from the very crowded Ubud...we highly recommend this place, which provides an excellent value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Céline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Mandala Desa is wonderful! My family (husband and son, 8) felt like we had rented a home with a semi-private pool, cleaning service, chauffers and good food! The staff was accommodating and friendly; the room was spacious and comfortable; the breakfast was delicious - as were the other meals we ate in the hotel. While there aren't any close by tourist restaurants to walk to, we took advantage of the free shuttle to Ubud and had a few meals there. We would combine a dinner in Ubud with a dance performance or a lunch with souvenir shopping and the driver would pick us up whenever we wanted. The traffic en route to Ubud was a pain, but after dealing with the traffic a few times I was immensely grateful I had chosen a hotel outside of Ubud, which I hadn't visited in 20 years. Mandala Desa is close enough to the action for a family with a child, but quiet enough to feel like a bit of old Bali...yes, I sound like an old fogey but I miss quiet rice paddies!
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSethElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent 4 days in Mandala Desa and it was amazing in every way. It was exactly what we were hoping to have while sightseeing Bali. It is located some 20 minutes car-ride from Ubud, next to a small rice field so location was perfect for us since it was an ideal base for day trips across Bali. They offer a free shuttle service to Ubud which is great and they also provide a driver for more distant locations. 450.000 IDR for 10hrs. Our driver Ketut was great and very enjoyable company so we ended up visiting all important temples and locations with him. All of the staff are extremly pleasant and helpful and the owner Jacinta is very welcoming and kind.
We stayed in a private villa and it was clean and free of bugs. There's a hidden outdoor shower and a huge patio overlooking the rice field.
If you're looking for a quiet, clean place that can arrange a lot of activities and has a good food, I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

In retrospect, our stay in Mandala Desa was the highlight of our three week holiday on Bali and Gili Trawangang.

At first we were a little hesitant, since its location is about 10 km outside of Ubud. Once we arrived, we knew we had made the right choice though. A superb location, well kept spacious living - and sleeping quarters, a very service oriented staff and a pool to die for! Add to that a free shuttle service to the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a great choice of food and drink, a super friendly and attentive owner Jacintha, a relaxed and flexible attitude from all staff, and you have found yourself the perfect hide away to come back to after a day of whatever activity you have chosen to expose yourself to.

We would sit down on our terrace every night to witness what we called the "national geographic-show"; watching the swallows and bats competing for their food over the rice fields, listening to the "tock-eh's" of the geckos and enjoying an invariably pictoresque sunset ensured a perfect ending to the day.

The first floor room offers the best views of the surroundings, but quite frankly; all of the rooms are impeccable and great.

And then there are the nice little touches: bikes to use during your stay, an abundant array of up to date dvd's for the media hungry among us and a very well working wifi, all free of charge.

Sometimes Bali can be a bit heavy on the hustle and bustle, and you're never sure if the people you run into are really friendly, or just want to make a quick buck. Rest assured; you can let go of all those doubts when you arrive here.

A genuine gem, both for couples and families with children. 10 out of 10! Highly recommended for those who like to come back to peace and quiet after a hard day's work of being hassled for "transpor" or whatever the busy streets of Ubud have on offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sundayboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#18 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
8.8 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#10 of 536 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
5.2 mi away
Bali Bohemia Huts
Bali Bohemia Huts
#12 of 536 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#11 of 536 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Desa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Desa

Property: Mandala Desa
Address: Br. Lantangidung, Batuan, Sukawati, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandala Desa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mandala Desa A luxurious and laid back hideaway, Mandala Desa is the ideal destination for those wishing to experience authentic Bali up close and personal. Set on the edge of a traditional Balinese village with endless views of green rice paddies, the villa is within easy reach of Ubud’s many shops and galleries yet feels a world away. Relax in your private sanctuary while outside your window lies the living postcard of panoramic rice field views with farmers working their land and herons and kingfishers flying overhead. We warmly invite you to enter a beautiful oasis of just four accommodations that is everything a vacation home should be comfortable, unpretentious, with delicious food and staff that genuinely wishes to give each guest magical holiday memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mandala Desa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala Desa Hotel Ubud
Mandala Desa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing