We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa
Ranked #106 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I stayed for three nights here and had a very pleasant stay overall. This is a small boutique hotel with a limited number of rooms. I stayed in one of the simpler rooms and it was very spacious and had a balcony overlooking the grounds including the pool area. Large double bed which was very comfortable. Overall the grounds were exceptionally beautiful. The staff exhibited traditional Balinese hospitality. They were always prompt and exceptionally kind. I ate a few meals there and they were very good. There was a choice for breakfast and I had the french toast topped with fried banana and it was quite good. The banana juice/shake in mid-afternoon was quite refreshing. They also offered tea from 3-5 pm which was a nice touch. Each day I took the free shuttle van to the center of Ubud and walked around, shopping and having lunch. Then, I would walk back to the hotel. It was about a 30 minute walk (perhaps longer but it did not seem long) along a picturesque path with rice paddies, houses, temples along the way. On the way back, there is a pleasant little cafe to stop and relax at (right next to the walkway or path). I used the pool a couple of times and it is well cared for and very refreshing and pleasant around the pool area. The dining/lounge area is open and adjoins the pool area (trees between) and is nicely appointed and cared for. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Only negative was the lack of Internet access for the price of the hotel (the first night I was in Bali, I stayed at another hotel on the otherside of Ubud for less cost with as pleasant a room and surroundings plus free Internet access. For this trip, I did not mind the lack of Internet access (I wanted to rest) but it would have been nice to dash off an email message or two to family and friends (which I did from my iPhone in Ubud where most cafe or bars provide free Internet access). They did not even provide access at a central computer. The transportation which is booked through the hotel is also higher priced than can be booked on your own. Of course, prices are not high in Bali but still the cost of transportation to the airport was at least $15-20 more than I payed to get to the hotel. You can probably get less expensive accommodations but the small size and pleasant accommodations were worth it. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
60
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We booked at Taman Rahasia based on tripadvisor reviews and it was the best choice we could make. Just imagine a beautifully landscaped place, very quiet, delicious cheap food, best spa you can get etc. The room was great, with a huge terrace and a very large open bathroom..The decorations in the room were very nice, every morning tea or coffee can be served on the terrace..Is is truly a hidden gem..The staff is great, very helpful and always smiling..Just wanted to share with you this great experience, I wished we could have stayed longer, 4 days are just not enough..Ubud is 20 minutes walking distance following a nice green path and taxis are cheap and available all the time..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineValmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I agree with other reviews that this is a peaceful and lovely place to stay. Truly a place to decompress and relax. The owners and staff are very gracious and helpful. Food is delicious. It's also a great area to shop for art, since it's in the young artist's colony. But also since there aren't loads of tourists around. I felt that I got better deals than in other parts of Ubud. The only downside is that the hotel is not really within walking distance of the downtown area. But the free daily shuttle and cheap taxis make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisenfreudige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Taman Rahasia. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully landscaped. Our room was gorgeous. The staff were extremely kind and helpful. The food was excellent. It was so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Liked — Peace & quiet
  • Disliked — 1/2 hour walk from central Ubud, but that's just minor.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muddypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed at this lovely quiet and picturesque hotel the last two weeks of December 2008. On arrival after a long flight we found that the Taman Rahasia far exceeded our expectations. Here we managed to escape from the stresses of our working life i.e no telephones, televisions, computers, or newspapers.

We had to try out the spa facilities at the hotel. This then caused us the problem of disciplining ourselves to a massage *treat* every two days. I tried all the massages in the brochure. The massage therapists are highly trained and the best I have come across. So it not suprising that guests from other hotels came and booked the spa out. Traditional Balinese massage is not for the faint hearted. I lovely to be all to stroll back to ones room after a massage and be served ginger tea with fresh tropical fruit.

Many of the staff at Taman Rahasia are connected to the land here. We cannot speak more highly of all the staff, from the gardeners to the owner. They have and take great pride in "their" hotel and our comfort was their first priority. Unlike other hotels the staff here are not on the make, others guests also made this comment.

This was our third visit to Bali since 2001. Situated in the small village of Penestanan Taman Rahasia is a spacious, quiet and intimate hotel with a strong Balinese atmosphere and the goings on of village life. Indeed is a Secret Garden. Annamairi

  • Liked — The whole thing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annamairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I'm new to TripAdvisor so this review is based on my experience 12 months ago in November 2007. But I have to put in a good word for this hotel, Taman Rahasia in Penestenan Kaja near Ubud, Bali.

My partner and I stayed here for a week and were treated amazingly. The staff is small and extremely friendly. The room was very large with a four poster canopy bed, sitting area, fridge and large freestanding cabinet / closet. The bathroom was "out back" and was literally outside. It was also very large and had nice tropical plants around the edges and a very high wall for privacy.

The room service items were delicious and inexpensive and the breakfast was tasty every day. We met the manager, an American woman, who was really friendly and gave us good information. The hotel is perfectly situated about a 25 minute walk outside of Ubud. There are a couple of small restaurants on the path between the hotel and the Tjampuhan steps that we pretty much ate at every night.

Again, this review is based on my experience a year ago. Hopefully the place has only gotten better. I HIGHLY recommend it and would be happy to share other information about it to anyone.

  • Liked — The "secret" location, and the staff
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.7 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
2.5 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#138 of 196 in Ubud
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 196 in Ubud
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#95 of 196 in Ubud
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#74 of 196 in Ubud
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#107 of 196 in Ubud
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa

Property: Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa
Address: Penestanan Kaja, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#70 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#88 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Balinese, family owned hotel, with 8 pleasantly spacious rooms featuring modern amenities and open air bathrooms. We are located 50 meters off the main road in the quiet village of Penestanan Kaja. The walk to Ubud center is about 1.5 kilometers and you will get there by walking on a pleasant path with rice fields, small local warung's, shops and spas. We are in a perfect location for day trips around Bali. We want you to have a memorable experience and we are here to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Rahasia Hotel Ubud
Taman Rahasia Ubud
Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing