We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, home-made Thai food, yum!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warung Siam

Warung Siam
Ranked #39 of 714 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic, home-made Thai food, yum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a change from all the gorengs, ayams and gado gados, but your taste buds still long for all those exotic spices and ingredients - Warung Siam is the place to go.The place is fairly small, with 4 tables inside and 2 long benches to sit outside,like a typical warung, but the food - my oh my - so gooood!! The food we had was quite simple (without fancy ornaments you get at swankier restaurants), served in simple bowls and plates, but we could feel everything was home-made with super fresh ingredients. The juices are being prepared on the spot from fresh fruit - there's nothing better than freshly made pineapple juice, or coconut juice served from a cocunut! Me and my husband enjoyed one starter to share (thai rolls), two tom kai gais, one green curry, one noodle dish (can't remember the name but it's no. 15 on the menu -
amazingly tasty!) and 4 fruit juices for 230T IDR (<20USD) in total. I think that's a really good price for all the great, fresh food we had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    120
    35
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thai hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

It is only a small food shop in Goutama street which gave me big surprise. Warung Siam(Thailand's old name) has foods in menu 20 menus and 18 seats. Small spot but big enough for place to relax. I started try Tom Yam(common Thai spicy soup) so good can feel fresh lime smell.
Pad Thai here become my fav, i can feel tamarind in sauce not like tomato sauce in other places.
Try green curry there, superb.
Price, this is warung. It is stared from 18k-40k no tax or service charge. Fair enough.
You can see this spot in Goutama street, they have elephant painting on wall.
I will be back there often.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sucitaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Desert, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I need Thai food during vacation in Bali and come across with Thai small shop in Goutama street. Green Curry and Pad Thai always are my choices everywhere i go and i dont disappoint, full of favours also other dishes nice. Noodle salad and fresh spring roll, sauce is wonderful. The place is small but easy to see. Elephant painting on the wall.
They are not so busy but im sure they will.
Price is around 30-40k no tax and service are added. Simply nice shop. Recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angelina1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I found my favourite food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Small shop with great foods.green curry is nice, just found good green curry outside Thailand. My favourite is Pad Ped Moo(spicy pork with long bean), full of spices Enak sekali delicious.
Great foods in simple shop.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliex21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Quality little Thai restaurant located on a quiet street. Food was tasty and prices were very cheap. If you're looking for Thai in Ubud this is the place to go. Very authentic with quality ingredients. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeandCathy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Siam also viewed

 

Been to Warung Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing