We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ketut's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ketut's Place
Ranked #56 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We have stayed, I think four or five time at Ketut's Place and loved every minute. It's so wonderful to stay with a family in a place they have so tenderly, carefully and artistically developed over the years. The animals, birds, frogs and all the paraphenalia of Balinese culture are thrown in. A nice walk uphill from the centre of town, you are in Ubud but apart from the hustle and bustle. Sure, nowhere is perfect, but for a real Balinese family experience with unfailingly helpful and kind hosts this is the place. We will be back again soon...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    119
    36
    26
    13
See reviews for
85
179
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We booked Ketut's Place pretty last minute and it was probably the only choice we had since other places around Ubud area were all fully booked. We thought USD60 (incl tax) was not too expensive, for a Deluxe Aircond room for 3 persons. When we checked in, our room wasn't ready. We strolled around the area and was quite pleased that the place was indeed was at its closest to nature. Swimming pool was clean. Only when we came back to the room at night, we were led down many many steps of dim lighting to get to our room - Room 15. Ketut said we wouldn't be disappointed with the scenery of the ravines and trees. I'd beg to differ here. Night time was scary, I can't imagine going back to my room alone! Our room had a damp and musty smell. One thing that really bothered us: no in-room telephones! I had to call using my own mobile to ask for wine glasses and a hairdryer (which wasn't available anyways). And they only sent in an extra towel after we got in. Having said all that, I'm glad we only stayed 1 night. If you're looking for a budget place and you just need a place to sleep and to store your things, I would recommend it. Otherwise, look elsewhere. Location-wise, it's a bit far off from the central area and walking back to Ketut's at night is not recommended with the lack of lightings along the street.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darkcherrymocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We booked at Ketut's based on the glowing reviews on trip advisor and our first impressions were positive. We booked 2 deluxe rooms overlooking the ravine. Although a steep climb up and down to the rooms we were impressed with the size of the rooms and the private garden attached to each room. The bathrooms were a little rundown and in need of renovation but we could have lived with that.
Out of the 2 rooms room 12 was the better, being higher up, lighter and with better air circulation. But room 13 was so damp and musty I would class it as a health hazard. We didn't see the other rooms further down but I can't imagine them improving as they descend down the side of the ravine.
The one night we spent in our room was almost unbearable. Even with the air conditioner running and the windows open we still had the sensation we were inhaling mould spores with each breath. In the morning we had to chase up breakfast as it didn't look like it was going to appear.
We asked Ketut if we could change rooms, and he did try to accommodate us, but was fully booked. We decided that we couldn't stay and decided to move across the road to Ben's Homestay. (see review)
To get out of our booking we had to stay for one night and pay for two, and have a long face saving conversation.
Maybe at another time of year or if you are not concerned with what goes into your lungs then this homestay will suit you but I think there is better value around.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

And the reason is this : If you can afford the higher end rooms then this place is great. If you cant (because you're on a budget) then this place is the pits

The location is great and the ambience is outstanding. It seems like you've walked into a tropical jungle that is on the edge of a river. Then you walk into your room and if it is the higher end room then you will be thrilled with the view, etc.. BUT if you've booked one of their budget or 'traditional' rooms you will be great by a danigy, badly-lit cramped room that is far too over-priced.

In fact, while we were there another family was so upset that they check-out in the morning.

Warning : The Lonely Planet calls the owner a 'local luminary' but you have to be willing to pay for his over-priced buffetmeal / musical night to be able to get any insight that he might have to offer. The only time he seemed exceptionally clever was when he tried to OVERCHARGE me for the rooms (tried to charge me a tax when his website clearly stated that all prices were inclusive of all taxes!)

Tip : just around the corner is Rumah Roda (www.rumahroda.com) that is less than half the price and about triple the quality!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Eastern, US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

If you want to be a traveler, not a tourist, then this is the place to stay. My husband, a friend, and I stayed here for 4 nights, and it was pure bliss. You will not find another place like this. We stayed in the deluxe room on the bottom floor overlooking the ravine- with the smell of jasmine in the air and the rushing water underneath it's impossible not to relax here. It is quite a climb with all the steps, but it is so worth it. The architecture, carvings, and landscaping of this place is just beautiful. The breakfast is simple but satisfying, and the town is only a few minutes walk down the road (a very easy, safe walk). We were very happy with the informal attention- Ketut and Wayan were like family by the end of the trip. Be sure to check out the Kecak Fire and Trance Dance with Ketut and his son (the white monkey). What a great show! And make sure to get a massage and scrub- just can't beat the price, atmosphere, and the service!
This is one of those places you want to keep a secret so it doesn't turn commercial and ruin the local flavor!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

We had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool-good sized, clean, well appointed with a wonderful balcony. It is a small, welcoming property-it is Ketut's home compound and he and his family make you feel very welcome. It was nice that the room was screened so we didn't have to use mosquito nets. Ketut and his staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. It is a bit of a walk to town, maybe 10 minutes, but a nice walk and worth it. I highly recommend Ketut's Place! The Balinese Feast is worth it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTtraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

My boyfriend and I found Ketut's place by accident and immediately fell in love with it. Ketut and Wayan are wonderful hosts and really take great care of you. We stayed in 2 of the more expensive rooms that overlook the river. They are a great deal for what you get----an entire floor to yourself that is built into the side of the cliff overlooking a river. The rooms are beautifully decorated with great views. They will bring breakfast to your patio....so relaxing and romantic.

Ketut and Wayan also put on a great 15 course dinner as well as cooking classes. I can't recommend it enough!!

  • Liked — Rooms, Ketut and Wayan, setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuregirlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
1.5 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketut's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketut's Place

Property: Ketut's Place
Address: Jalan Sweta No. 40 Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ketut's Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush Balinese gardens, Ketut's Place boasts an outdoor pool and cosy rooms with a private terrace or balcony. It also offers 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi in all areas. In-room massages can be arranged upon request. Ketut's Place is located in the peaceful town of Ubud, just 500 metres from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market. Monkey Forest is within 700 metres away, while it takes 5 minutes to drive to Tegalalang from the property. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 1.5-Hour drive away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, the Balinese-inspired rooms are all equipped with a wardrobe. Views of the pool or greenery can be enjoyed from the private terrace or balcony, which is fitted with a seating area. En suite bathrooms come with a shower. On-site conveniences include vehicle rentals, airport pick-up arrangements and tour assistance. Cycling and hiking trips can also be arranged upon request, while luggage can be stored at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Serving local specialties, Ketut's Place also offers special diet menus. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the privacy of guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ketut's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketut`s Place Hotel Ubud
Ketuts Place Ubud
Ketuts Place Hotel Ubud
Ketut's Place Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing