We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”
Review of Ketut's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ketut's Place
Ranked #51 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed August 23, 2011

this is an excellent family run bed and breakfast/upscale homestay. it gives you a chance to see how a real family lives in ubud/bali. i thought the high season price of $40-50 per night was very reasonable. ketuts place has loads of charm. it is a 10 minute walk from the main strip in ubud. i have stayed in a wide variety of accommadations around the world and for the price this is one of the best. 3 generations of his family help run the place. i enjoyed feeding bananas to monkeys at the monkey forest.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 539 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is my second time to Ketut's for the weekly banquet prepared by his wife/family. I read about it back in 2009 in Lonely Planet.
Unfortunately, the popularity has meant the quality of food, value for money has gone downhill.

Positives:
Authentic Balinese food
Nice local surroundings in Ubud
Homely - it's Ketut's house!

Negatives:
Very expensive for what you get - more than Rp150,000pp
(You can get more food for less at Wayan's Bakery in Ubud)
Hardly any meat - in fact only ONE!
The rest were vegetables
Range has reduced significantly since 2009 - there used to be 3 types of satays and 2 types of keropoks...now only one each :(
The food ran out - considering how many peple they catered for, there wasn't enough to have seconds....but you pay for the price of seconds...thirds...!
We all GOT diarrheoa! So hygiene isn't great...Shame :(
Ketut is a touch narcissistic and tends to go overboard self-inflating himself in the "pre-dinner talk"....he did this too back in 2009....a bit too much considering we are customers and paying him to feed us....I don't really need to know how great he is!

Anyhow, I think it's over inflated now and overpriced.... I was really suprised at how much its deteriorated in 2 years...and then finding out other places/hotels in Ubud that served similar stuff for much lower prices and much bigger range of food. I find this really disappointing in Bali, as so much in tourist areas are completely over priced...when a massive meal in the local night market with the same contents would cost you only Rp20,000 each

Sorry Ketut...need to upgrade...tourists aren't just bags of monies...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EatBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Ketut is a real good host that has build a beautifully located 'compound' that is owned by the family. Our room was located by the river that runs through a small canyon. Ketut's is a very spacious and decorated b&b with stylish hindu craft. A very romantic and luxorious place I Would recommend to everybody to stay at.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radboud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We started our Bali holiday with 4 adults at Ketut's place. This place realy feels like an oasis in busy Ubud. The bungalows have fantastic views over a junge like environment. It has a very nice swimming pool and the people are very friendly. You can have a small bite to eat but the taste is great. We also enjoyed a real nice Balinese dinner. Ketut's place is within walking distance of the centre of Ubud. TIP; book a cycle trip to the coffee plantations and through the rice fields.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolanda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I stayed at Ketut's for 5 nights. The combined allure of Ubud and this charming family-run guesthouse made this the highlight of my brief visit to Bali. The delux traditional rooms literally tumble down a ravine and overlook a gushing river far below with lush tropical greenery everywhere. Each room seems to occupy an entire floor with king-sized beds, a private terrace and floor to ceiling windows in both the sleeping area and the bathroom. I stayed in Room 14 which is one of the lowest down the hillside. This meant a bit of huffing and puffing each time I came and went but it also made my little corner of the guesthouse feel like a private paradise. A fantastic breakfast with fresh juice, pancakes or eggs, and Balinese coffee was delivered on my porch every morning at whatever time I had requested the night before.

I am not familiar with the standards of other guesthouses in Ubud but compared to the places I stayed at in Kuta and Sanur, one of which was rated as 4*, this was far superior accommodation at a significantly lower price. It is true that apart from the room charge (which included breakfast) extras could be quite pricey but then I felt under no pressure to avail any of these.

The only downside is that the guesthouse is about 7 minutes walk slightly uphill from the town centre. After about 10PM it can feel a bit lonely so at least for solo travellers I would suggest hiring one of the transport touts to zip you up to the hotel if you are returning late at night. They should charge no more than 5000 IDR (about 60 US cents).

Room Tip: To avoid leg fatigue, ask for Rm 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ssjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We LOVED Ketut's Place!

We just came back from 3 weeks in Bali, and we stayed at Ketut's place for a total of about 10 days. The lush tranquil gardens, the stunning location, the peaceful atmosphere, and the welcoming, traditional family environment made it, for us, a home away from home.

The truth is my partner and I are a bit baffled by some of the comments we've read about Ketut's Place on this website, so much so that we thought we should try and address a few of the criticisms mentioned in some of the negative reviews.

The first thing we think it's important to understand is that Ketut's place is a more like a homestay. There are three generations (soon to be four!) of Ketut's family living there, and a number of extended family and staff. It is their home, and they are gracious enough to share their warm family environment with the people that pass through there.

Please realise this is not a hotel! If you want 5 star facilities and and 24-hour service then spend some money and stay at a resort. It's kind of hard to believe, and more than a little embarrassing, that people who are paying as little as $25 for a room can be motivated to complain publicly that their breakfast was a bit late, or they were woken up by crowing roosters. This is Bali after all. Relax. Don't get so wound up. You might enjoy things more... ;)

And there is plenty to enjoy. We endorse all of the positive comments made by other reviewers here, so we won't rehash those except to say that we loved Ketut's Place, and we'll definitely be going back.

As for the criticisms:

No TV?

So what? Do you really want to stay in a place like Ketut's and listen to people's TV's blaring incessantly all day? We don't. If you want to go on holiday and watch TV you should, (we'll say it again), pay the money and stay in a resort.

No telephones in the rooms?

So what? We've noticed in some of these reviews people complaining because they had to, wait for this, actually leave their room and talk to someone face-to-face to get some towels or something. Once again, this is not a hotel. People live here. Take the time to talk with them.

Buffet too expensive?

Ok...if you think 100.000 rupiah ($11) is too much to pay for a delicious, fresh, authentically and lovingly prepared Balinese meal of ample quantity and served in a relaxed and charming setting, then you are out of your mind. It was the best Balinese meal we had while we were there,(actually we had it twice!) and I can tell you, we ate in a lot of different places, and often paid as much or more than that. You would easily pay double or triple that price in one of the local upper scale restaurants. Ok...so it's more expensive than a simple $2 fried rice at a local warung, but if that's what you want to pay then that's where you've gotta go. Meanwhile, to the previous reviewer who states that a nearby guesthouse offers a similar buffet for 35,000 rupiah...that is, with all due respect, simply ridiculous. Anyone who spends more than a few days in Bali will realise how dubious that claim is.



Security?
We felt very comfortable leaving our bags and some valuables with Ketut on two occasions while we went off and explored the island. Of course, everything was in order when we got back, plus a book that we'd forgotten in our room.

Bad Attitude?
“surly and greedy” “inhospitable” “grumpy and negative”? We secretly suspect that the reason some of the negative reviewers feel this way is because they were not treated with the fawning subservience and eagerness to please that, unfortunatley, many people who come to places like Bali feel they are entitled to. We felt we were treated warmly, hospitably, and helpfully the whole time we were there.

Not enough breakfast?
We stayed at 7 or 8 different places while we were in Bali. The breakfast offered at Ketut's is more or less the same you find everywhere else, while the quality was better than average. Ok...so it's not huge, but if you want an extra bannana pancake or fruit salad, just pay a couple of bucks for it. Geez. Don't be so cheap.

It seems obvious that some people simply have quite unrealistic expectations, and at the same time seem incapable of appreciating the simple, beautiful things that make travelling to a place like Bali, and staying at a place like Ketut's, such a wonderful experience. What a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank DylanAndYaleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I've traveled to Bali nine times, and have stayed at Ketut's Place three or four times when in Ubud. I think I kept staying there just out of a sense of familiarity rather than any particular fondness for the place. I've never felt particularly welcome by Ketut (except on one visit when he was showing me his under-renovation spa area) and after a few visits, it occurred to me that he's just gotten surly and greedy. It's really not about providing a nice place or any personal insight -- that's just marketing rubbish at this point. It's just about the money. He comes across as annoyed and inconvenienced by the guests staying at this place -- like he's always got better things to do.

The prices charged are not outrageous (US$50 for a deluxe room for two), but do seem a bit steep. The Balinese buffet served is indeed nice, but fantastically overpriced. If they browbeat even six people into signing up, that's Rp. 600,000 for Ketut. As an example of how steep this price is (Rp. 100,000 per person), another nearby guesthouse offers a full Balinese buffet for Rp. 35,000.

It's not a bad place, but the stairs are steep, the pool is small, and the rooms are dark. I enjoyed it moderately, but I won't go back there any more. There are far too many choices in and around Ubud to put up with an inhospitable guesthouse owner.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chadley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#32 of 199 in Ubud
580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#52 of 199 in Ubud
695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#59 of 199 in Ubud
927 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketut's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketut's Place

Address: Jl. Suweta no. 40 | Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $35 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ketut's Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush Balinese gardens, Ketut's Place boasts an outdoor pool and cosy rooms with a private terrace or balcony. It also offers 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi in all areas. In-room massages can be arranged upon request. Ketut's Place is located in the peaceful town of Ubud, just 500 metres from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market. Monkey Forest is within 700 metres away, while it takes 5 minutes to drive to Tegalalang from the property. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 1.5-Hour drive away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, the Balinese-inspired rooms are all equipped with a wardrobe. Views of the pool or greenery can be enjoyed from the private terrace or balcony, which is fitted with a seating area. En suite bathrooms come with a shower. On-site conveniences include vehicle rentals, airport pick-up arrangements and tour assistance. Cycling and hiking trips can also be arranged upon request, while luggage can be stored at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Serving local specialties, Ketut's Place also offers special diet menus. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the privacy of guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Ketut's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketut`s Place Hotel Ubud
Ketuts Place Ubud
Ketuts Place Hotel Ubud
Ketut's Place Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing