We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love them! beautiful, quiet, close to Ubud and the rice fields... I'm coming back to them!”
Review of Melati Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melati Cottages
Ranked #238 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Love them....love the service, beauty and quiet...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

The setting is stunning, the staff are so lovely- typical Balinese.
The rooms are certainly dated but there is such a charm about them. You feel like a princess in the canopy bed. The gardens were lovely, set in the rice padis. The lanes and paths around the Cottages are entrancing and so much fun to explore.
However, there is no fridge- the only downfall!
No spa, room service or fitness centre- not that type of accomodation.

Room Tip: All rooms are eaqually charming. Ask for a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikkijg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I would love to return some day. Just for one more day of the lush surroundings and cool showers @ the poolside.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This place was wonderful - pool, lovely rooms, lovely gardens and paths, plenty of space, great restaurant (black sticky rice and pancakes for breakfast - yum) and really nice and helpful staff

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideYabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed 5 nights and really enjoyed the place. Although located not very far from the busy streets of Ubud, the hotel itself is very quiet and relaxing. Staff is friendly.
Nice and clean swimming pool in a beautiful garden.

The room was big and clean, with a terrace from which we enjoyed the view on the rice fields.

A real good pick if you stay in Ubud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the rice fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentucky26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and although the setting of the hotel is just lovely the rooms are unfortunately very average. Our bedding was very musty and although the staff did change the bedding for us after a short while it was smelly again due to the pillows and mattress being very musty. The wardrobe was very musty and we could not hang our clothes up in it. I know there can be high humidity in Bali but other hotels did not smell like this. The bathroom was very old and shabby and is in serious need of an update.
The hotel is a little way out of Ubud... we were lucky enough to have a car as I would not have liked the long dark uphill walk back up from town late at night. I would recommend getting a taxi back just for the safety aspect.
The swimming pool area is lovely as are the views from the rooms but I think there are better hotels out there for the price. I know breakfast is included but it was pretty horrendous and we ended up going into Ubud to eat breakfast.
Overall, if this hotel had a bit of updating it could be really fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meander63380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

booked in here because i live in bali and knew that the rooms here looked nice. Won't ever bother again.
When we arrived we were shown to a family room - big but badly maintained, shabby and dark. We had a few bags but we had to carry them ourselves - the owner / manager was not interested in helping us.
About halfway through our quiet afternoon the ukelele orchestra practice started in the room above us - great footstomping music if you like that kind of thing... but i don't. So i asked if we could change rooms - oh no we are full was the reply. They weren't. I walked around and spotted that the really nice looking rooms with ricefield views i had thought we were getting into were still empty - so after a lot of persuading we moved into a much nicer room with a view - smaller ok but at least it was quiet and with a view. And yes i moved all the bags myself while the staff watched. I'd read that this was like staying with a nice family ?The most unhelpful people i've ever met in bali.
Breakfast was shocking. After we had sat down for about ten minutes i managed to get the waitress to bring a menu - it was like she was really inconvenienced.
I had been really looking forward to this place - had even recommended it to friends. It was bad. Great pool, great location - but they just didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plasmodesmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
0.2 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#118 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#76 of 199 in Ubud
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Cottages

Address: Jl. Penestanan Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $23 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Melati" means jasmine. This delightful complex consists of several 2-storey structures, each with a number of rooms all ensuite with balconies, looking out over the gardens or ricefields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melati Cottages Hotel Ubud
Melati Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing