We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yep, stay here”
Review of Samhita Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samhita Garden
Ranked #121 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed April 8, 2014

In summary, it’s extremely good value for a bit of luxury in a great location. We liked this hotel so much we’ve booked again for this year (2014) so I would highly recommend it (and do regularly on the forum!). And apologies for the lateness of this review (we stayed there last October).
We chose this because it’s on Jalan Bisma so quieter than Monkey Forest Road but also close everything including yoga at the Honeymoon Guesthouse in the mornings. It also has Wifi in the rooms which a lot of hotels in Ubud don’t seem to have.
I tried my luck and negotiated $110 AUD pn for a deluxe room including taxes, breakfast and in-room Wifi, much less than on the website. Their initial email response was relatively quick, within a day or so and they were fine with this price. While we were there we asked to see some other rooms and were quoted about $135pn for the suites (no private pool) and $240pn for the villas (with private pool) – considering the quality of the hotel, these are good prices so it’s definitely worth seeing what you can get.
Location – very good. Jalan Bisma is a relatively quiet street, but still close enough to walk to everything (10 mins to Ubud market). There are quite a few eateries in the immediate area. Café Des Artistes is next door – the food was certainly fine but nothing great. Semu Jaen across the road and north a couple of doors however was something great – really liked the food and very reasonably priced.
Hotel itself – beautifully presented, Balinese style but very up to date. The land on which the hotel stands is long and skinny as most blocks are in Ubud – running back from the street in order are the lobby, pool area and guest lounge, with four deluxe rooms (two upstairs, two downstairs) and a one-bedroomed suite next to the pool. Then there’s the breakfast pavilion with three pool villas around it. Then there are two sets of four deluxe rooms (2x2 again) facing each other and then finally the two bedroom suite looking over the gorge down the back. This suite is three stories and can also be divided into one deluxe room and one one-bedroomed suite by locking the door between them (deluxe room down the bottom). We had room 28, a deluxe, which was in the back set of 2x2s on the upper floor. It’s a bit of a walk to the pool from the back rooms and suite but certainly nothing arduous.
The villas are very nice with a large dressing room and separate shower. They have more storage than a deluxe room as well as a private pool and a small outdoor area. The bedroom was the same size as our deluxe.
The one bedroomed suite looked good, with the lounge, a little kitchen area and a loo downstairs and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The bedroom was again the same size as the deluxe suite but it also had a dressing room and a separate shower.
Lovely grounds with lots of greenery and frogs at night.
Room –The room was a usual hotel layout with bedroom and ensuite bathroom and reminded me of Italian houses – all marble tiling and huge rooms. There was a lounge, coffee table and desk inside, and chairs, table and an airing rack out on the verandah.
The room looked across to other rooms but there was a little verandah garden so the view was partly obscured.
There was a TV but we didn’t try it to see if it worked.
Bed, pillows – the bed was huge (kingsized, anything less would have looked tiny in the big room), very comfortable and we got three pillows each. The linen or at least the washing could be improved as the coverlet seemed singed or browned in places and the sheets, while very clean were greying. This really let the room down as crisp white sheets and an unmarked coverlet would really have been in keeping with the level of quality otherwise.
No mosquito net but the room is relatively well sealed (including a ceiling instead of going straight up to the thatch) so unless you leave the door open you shouldn’t get many mossies. There didn’t seem to be as many as the coast anyway.
Storage – there was a luggage alcove that fitted both out suitcases as well as a wardrobe with both hanging and shelves. Quite a lot of room.
Bathroom – very big with great amounts of space on the vanity and convenient power outlets. The shower was over the bath with pretty poor pressure. It was all done nicely but the design meant that water ended up all over the floor and had to be mopped up with a towel. But the water was hot when needed (a lot of places have just lukewarm and occasionally I like a good hot shower) and the bathroom had lovely marble tiling. As with every other hotel, the hairdryer was useless.
Lighting – good although not really that bright. Bedside lamps, stand up lamp, light over vanity in the bathroom.
Aircon - effective, mostly quiet although it ticked a bit at night.
Full length mirror – no.
Wifi – bit dodgy at first but after they rebooted the router it worked fine. We had a limit of two devices but that was not a problem.
Security, including safe –the safe was tiny, could only just fit a very small laptop in it. It had a keyed lock not combination.
Windows/doors – small one in bathroom too high to open. Big front sliding doors in the bedroom. Thin day curtains then thicker night ones. Front door was a bit dodgy to close.
Breakfast – usual eggs, bread and croissants, fruit, beverages (not buffet). Eggs are always tasty as they’re free range. Staff in the breakfast area were very nice.
Staff – cleaned the room once a day including tidying up and folding stuff we’d just left lying around, showing quite a sense of humour in arranging it (after it happened once we were a bit more diligent about tidying up after ourselves!). They also did a turn down service when we went out at night.
Top points to Ketut at the front desk – we had gone to Bridges for dinner and it started pouring with rain. We asked the waiter if they were able to organise a taxi and he asked where we were staying. We told him and he went off – we thought he was just ringing a taxi or driver but he rang Samhita, thinking they had a car that could come and get us – Ketut grasped immediately what was happening and as Samhita doesn’t have a car, organised a taxi (and pre-bargained a price at 20,000) for us.
Laundry - There’s no hotel laundry - they recommended a laundry a few doors down and when we got some washing done we ended up with marks all over our lighter clothes, so perhaps the hotel uses the same place for their linen.
Noise – I’m a light sleeper and I really notice noise so ignore this bit if you don’t have this curse.
As mentioned by another reviewer, you do get a bit of noise from the local bars and restaurants but we found this only on Saturday and Sunday nights until around 10pm. It didn’t keep my husband awake so it’s not that loud. No early morning roosters either and didn’t hear any frogs (unlike Komaneka on Monkey Forest – that was like a frog brass band playing next to the room all night).
There was a bit of noise inside the room - the bar fridge was really noisy, so we moved it to the bathroom so we could sleep, luckily the cable was long enough to reach the outlets in there. The cleaners didn’t know what to make of it at first! The airconditioner sometimes ticked loudly but I used earplugs and could sleep fine. If the hotel was booked out you might get a bit of noise from other rooms because of the marble floors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelMMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a delightful location and serene oasis of calm in ubud and jalan Bisma. So central and close to some fantastic eatery options (eg. Next door Kopi -for best coffee and snacks, Cafe des Artistes, Miro, Griya - BBQ restaurant). Stunning gardens and beautiful pool and surrounds. Wonderful to rise and see Mt. Agung from our balcony, and the chameleon in the palm trees. The service was fantastic - attentive but always unobtrusive, yet with wonderful grace, humour and smiles. Breakfasts were abundant and so relaxing in the separate pavilion and gardens. One feels like you are so far from the bustle of the main Street of Ubud, yet close enough to go for a brief walk to banks, shops, and grab an elusive cinnamon bun from Casa Luna. So sad to have to leave.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool (eg rooms 16 & 17)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeltAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have recently spent 5 days at Samhita Garden in an apartment, our fourth visit over 10 years. We highly recommend this property.
The staff is ever attentive to the needs of clients. They set a high standard of service at all times.
The property is continually maintained and cleaned. Gardens are very colourful, with beautiful flowers and trees.
Its location on Jalan Bisma is excellent for nearby restaurants and tourism sites.

In a word..........Excellent!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank redcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had the opportunity to return from Ubud and stay at the hotel again. The hotel still has all the great qualities that makes this among my favorite hotels in Ubud. Location, rooms, grounds, food and services all wonderful. The prices are also reasonable. Just and added comment about the location. Though less than one block away from the main thoroughfare in Ubud, the hotel offered solitude. Within easy walking distance of most Ubud sights and restaurants. Looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fossil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for one lovely week in May. The hotel was beautiful and in the best position, a quieter street just minutes from the main town and markets. The people that ran the hotel were very gracious and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were huge and everything WORKED. After 7 trips to Bali we are used to things being a little unreliable. Breakfast was adequate but we love to eat out in Ubud and made the most of several exceptional restaurants for breakfast. The pool area was relatively small but more than coped with the amount of people staying. The bathroom was really nice and very clean, BUT, the winning feature for us was the giant balcony which is where we spent most of the time at the hotel. There is a safe in the room which has a key not a combination. We liked that idea, and the wardrobe that it was in could also be locked. The wardrobe was really big so it would store all your things and all that shopping. The new section of Ubud markets are now open and very close.
The only negatives were that there was only basic news channels in English ( we don't care but for those with kids it may be an issue) No tea and coffee making facilities in the basic rooms. Again not an issue for us as we always travel with our own tea bags and cups. The hotel happily supplied a really good jug for us to use. The room service is limited. The last small thing was the wi fi. It was not free but I thought $5 Au for unlimited access was not an issue and if it was there are many restaurants nearby that did have it..no problem. I really just want to go back!

Room Tip: Room 24 down the back is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been four days in April. We appreciate its centric location, not precisely in the center but five minutes walking from there in a quiet surroundings (the street is not congested for a change!). The hotel is an assembly of low buildings resembling the tradicional balinesse home structure. It has few rooms, nothing in it is too big, with beautiful garden flowers and maintained as clean as this exhuberant climate tolerates. The hotel spaces are clean and convenient.
Breakfast a la carte, not another buffet... Everybody tries his best to help...
The only complaint is they want to charge you 50.000 rupees for using WiFi in your room.
We felt at home, could concentrate in our own business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I arrived at Samhita Gardens & was pleasantly surprised to find that I had been upgraded to a suite. I was given two storeys that included a lounge area & kitchenette, a huge bedroom with enormous bed, a bathroom with bath & separate shower & a lovely little balcony that overlooked the hotel's temple, trees & the rooftops of Ubud.

The Samhita Gardens stand out to me for their lovely landscaping. The swimming pool & sandstone paths are all surrounded by gorgeous water features & lush greenery. They also attract a really lovely clientele & the other travellers I met there helped make my stay all the more enjoyable.

I'm not sure that any hotel in Bali has unfriendly staff , & the Samhita Gardens certainly had their fair share of helpful & pleasant people to help make me more comfortable. The breakfast was incredibly generous (but I have to say that the breaky at The Honeymoon Guesthouse just a bit further down the road is exceptional).

I also think the fluffy, sweet smelling towels are worth an honourable mention.

The only downside for some might be the volume of the music playing at Casa Luna, a restaurant just across the river from my room at the rear of the hotel, but it was funky & fun & I'd recommend you just get out of bed, walk to the restaurant & join the fun instead of letting it get you down!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Gayatri
Gayatri
#74 of 200 in Ubud
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#114 of 200 in Ubud
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0 mi away
Rouge - Villas & Spa
Rouge - Villas & Spa
#72 of 200 in Ubud
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samhita Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samhita Garden

Address: Jl. Bisma | Kawasan Wisata Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Hotel Class:3 star — Samhita Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Samhita Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samhita Garden Ubud, Bali
Samhita Garden Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing