We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going back”
Review of Samhita Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samhita Garden
Ranked #122 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Keep going back”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I keep going back to Samhita Gardens - I love it's secluded yet 'short walk to everything' location, beautiful gardens and large rooms with spacious balconies. It has to be one of the best kept secrets in Ubud. Try the Lily salon nearby on Jalan Bisma for great massages and Cafe des Artistes, Miro's Garden Restaurant and Casa Luna for great meals.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are more private. Those furthest from the pool would be better at the moment bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    37
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
55
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toukley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at Samhita Garden in March and loved every minute.
Beautiful rooms, great staff and beautiful gardens.
We loved every aspect of this place, breakfast was adequate and we are coming back and bringing a crowd.

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstairs room by the pool and it was great. Lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportToukley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We tried to book into the Honeymoon Guesthouse at Casa Luna after reading all about their great cooking school. Luckily for us they were fully booked, and they suggested we try Samhita Gardens, only about 100 metres up the road.
We wanted something traditional Balinese in a great garden, quiet, walkiing distance to the town centre, and not a large resort.
What did we get? Everything except the traditional old balinese building.
Samhita is new enough to offer all the modern facicities you want in a room, yet old enough to have a truly stunning garden. In fact the garden, whilst quite small, is stunning; maintained by full time gardeners. We met people staying at Honeymoon Guesthouse who saw our room and realised they were staying at the wrong place.
Location is A+++ Just a short walk to the town centre and our daily coffee at Casa Luna coffee shop.
Our only concern is the breakfast. Instead of offering the normal buffet breakfast, they offer a very limited menu to select from and they prepare your selection and serve to the table. All very friendly service, and what you get is nice, but the menu selection is dreadful. If you don't like eggs then bad luck; you go hungry. How simple would it be to offer even home made cereal and yoghurt?
Friendly staff.
Would I go back. YES! Sure would, but be prepared to eat out for breakfast occaisionally.

Room Tip: all rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Samhita Garden in July 2011 and loved it. The rooms are spacious with large balconies. The location is peacefull, yet only a 10min walk to everything. Outside the hotel there was a lovely cafe, convenience store, internet and massage. The staff were great, very helpfull. Great breakfast provided. Loved Ubud and this property and will be back as soon as i can get the time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butcherbranigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Samhita Gardens ticks all the western-tourist boxes: big, clean, pool area, modern rooms, room service etc. It would be fine for families or large groups and the private villas with their own pools are good value -$200 off-season.
However...I have been terribly spoilt with quality, charming, great value rooms with all of the above for
more than half the price which as a solo traveller suits me fine.
The staff at Samihta were helpful when they eventually understood what I was asking.
Great location; cocktails are from Cafe des Artiste next door and breakfast ample.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_woman_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We would just like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff at the Samhita Garden Hotel for their great hospitality, friendliness and smiles. Our stay at Samhita in Novermber was fabulous, we are definately planning to return along with other members of our family. Well done and we look forward to staying with you again.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank howeae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed with a few friends and found this hotel to be really nice. Large well maintained rooms, beautiful pool and garden. The staff very friendly and helpful and it is well located close to shops and restaraunts. Seemed reasiably priced for this standard of villa in Ubud.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Rouge Bali - Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#104 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#98 of 198 in Ubud
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
0.6 mi away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#135 of 198 in Ubud
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ladera Villa
Ladera Villa
#41 of 542 in Ubud
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samhita Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samhita Garden

Property: Samhita Garden
Address: Jl. Bisma | Kawasan Wisata Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Hotel Class:3 star — Samhita Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Samhita Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samhita Garden Ubud, Bali
Samhita Garden Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing