We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barong Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barong Resort and Spa
Ranked #87 of 190 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights - the room was large, clean and tastefully decorated. Good food, nice pool and spa facilities. Quiet and very well located too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Theo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    74
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
113
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

this is a small hotel with 11-ish rooms (if i remember correctly from the staff). Thus the services they offer are pretty personalized because it is easy for them to remember the guests.

We had good experience in this hotel for 6 days as we spent our time around Ubud. Room was always clean and tidy. The cleaning lady came twice a day to 1)clean the room 2)make the bed for the night. Privacy is very well kept as each room has a private small yard with door. Breakfast was very nicely prepared and ingredients felt fresh (even if only few guests are having breakfast as it is a small hotel).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suomi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The place and location are awesome and good value for money. You will get an exclusive villa with surrounding walls and a little garden so it is very homey although not too big. The location is rght a long moneky forest with many cute shops and restaurants nearby. Services, however, are bot up to par esepcially with bali standard. Staffs are quite slow and not as responsive, although they are quite polite. Breakfast was not quite elaborative and not as yummy as other places. However there are also many other nearby places to walk to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

It would be perfect if not for the nightly traditional dance performance near the property.

Room: Great and spacious, especially that we were assigned with no. 1 villa (newly renovated) at ground level. The door opens into a sitting area where you would have in-villa meals. Everything else is great.

Staff initiative was lacking when there was a dog howling loudly outside the property; in the middle of the night with each episode lasting more than an hour, and short interval of less than 10 mins 'resting' time. When tried to phone the frontdesk, no one picked up the phone. No one was attending the frontdesk when we went to there; we also noticed many other guests were standing outside their villas trying to find the howling dog.

This went on for 2 nights (both the traditional dance performances involving drum beats and the dog howling), and the dog howling only stopped when we requested the staff to chase away the dog. After 2 sleepless nights, we had to cancel the remaining bookings and move to another location.

Aside from these, the villa would be perfect as the staff were generally very helpful and friendly (except for the initiative part) when approached.

Room Tip: Bring ear-plugs for light sleepers as the property is located conveniently along the belt of busiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quirkymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

stayed 7 days which was too long in a rather gloomy traditional styled room TV hair dryer, room lighting shower all pretty useless Hard surfaces in room needed thorough clean Breakfast adequate Had dinner first night but not again !!!!! Did not try spa Plus side ? Very private (occupancy was low ) not too much music noise from Monkey Forest Rd central to Ubud 2 mini tours thrown in were very good Staff were accommodating but poorly trained ( check out murky pool ) & had minimal English Would we stay again ? Possiblity not we have stayed in better places in Ubud

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Our stay was excellent, we got a Deluxe villa due to the fact that we have 2 children's but we end up sleeping at the top room all of us, this guys provide us with a mattress so all good, as someone else point it out TV is hopeless we couldn't watch news or anything at all during our visit. The boys at the front wonderful, breakfast for us was excellent, as much juice as you can drink lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elytenrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

One of the most beautiful rooms I've ever stayed in. I only wish they offered breakfast BUFFET!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaziarH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#89 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#34 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#49 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#104 of 190 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#95 of 190 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Property: Barong Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#58 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#74 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing