We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Loved Loved the Komaneka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #5 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved Loved Loved the Komaneka”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My Husband and I stayed here for three nights in April. We had a valley view pool villa and loved every minute of our stay. The villas are to die for and are decorated beautifully for your arrival. They are serviced twice a day which is a very nice touch. We were celebrating our anniversary and enjoyed a red light special dinner by our plunge pool. It was so romantic and well worth every cent. Our breakfast was delivered to our room daily and we ate by our pool. The staff were magnificent and knew our names from the moment we arrived. Although the resort is not in the heart of Ubud it is only about a 10 minute drive. The resort offers a regular shuttle service. Our only dissapointment was when we had to leave. We loved Tanggayuda so much we have booked to return in October for 5 nights. Can't wait

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where2NowPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    143
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
195
1,294
38
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This was our second holiday in Bali and we reviewed both hotels before on tripadvisor. We booked Komaneka at Tanggayuda because it was rated # 2. And we are glad we did!!!!

The staff is ABSOLUTLY BRILLIANT. They can not do anything more to make you feel at home and part of the family. Every single staff greets you by name, has time to chat to you and ensures you have everything you need. Kande and the others from reception were amazing. We asked if they had certain movies for us to watch, which they didn't. 20 Minutes later we got a knock on the door, they had gone into town and bought them especially for us.

The hotel is approx. 10 min. outside Ubud, so very quiet. Shuttle service is provided every hour which is very handy and the drivers tell you very interesting things about the area and about balinese culture.

The Villas are sooo beautiful and very private. We had Villa 105 overlooking the Valley. It was very spacious and CLEAN and decorated with tasteful art. You had everything from big TV, Sound system, DVD player and wireless internet connection. You can even borrow a laptop to take into your villa for your stay. The cleaning service is spot on and comes twice a day. In the morning to clean and in the afternoon to get the villa ready for the night. The outside pool is just right if you want to stay in the villa. The main pool is just down some steps and overlooks the forrest.

We had most our meals in the hotel and enjoyed them (try the black sticky rice pudding). Again the restaurant staff (and I feel very embarrassed that I can't remember their names, sorry guys and girls!!!!) couldn't have done any more to make us feel good. For my birthday my partner booked a candle light dinner at the main pool. The staff decorated it with over 100 candles, lanterns and swimming flower arrangements. The food, bottle of wine and champagne was very nice. I think Western Society has to learn a lot when it comes to Service.

The spa is very pretty and the girls are brilliant, I had the best massage here. We did have spa treatment outside the hotel but only because of the price difference. The service in the hotel was much better but for us too expensive to have it every day. Management did give us a free Spa treatment which was very much appreciated.

All in all I have to say that we were very very happy and will for sure see the "Family" again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandKerstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I will never forget Komaneka. First of all, absolutely brilliant infrastructure - minimalist where needed, lavish in other areas. Komaneka at Tanggayuda made my Southeast Asia trip unforgettable. Unlike most trips, I was absolutely aware the entire time that this was a memory in the making. From the Komaneka baked egg (try it!) to the afternoon tea and free yoga lessons, to the infinity pool - it was stylish, decadent, and down-to-earth. In short, perfection. Don't forget to book some local tours through the hotel and catch as many sunsets as possible. Bali holds its place as my favorite place in this world, thanks much in part to Komaneka.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhy04001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a holiday to Bali. We stayed first at Anantara in Seminyak for 5 nights - have also written a review. We then moved to the Komaneka Tanggayuda for the last 2 nights of our holiday. I only wish we had stayed here for longer. We were so sad to leave. We arrived to a wonderful welcome with a tour of our private villa. I say private villa, it actually felt like our private hotel as we bearly saw anyone else during our stay. Its so peaceful and secluded I cannot relay this enough. We got an excellent tour of our villa and all of the facilities including our free fruit and unlimited supplies of the best cookies ever! (they even gave us a bag when we left to take with us on our journey, I liked them that much) The four poster bed, beautiful thatched roofs yet modern in style also, combined with the huge bathroom area and separate toilet & separate shower was excellent. The pool outside with separate day bed (more like an outside four poster bed) and 2 loungers complete with oils and insect repellents) with views of the valley, rice fields and trees/forest surrounding was just the ultimate in luxury with nature right on your doorstep. It was just beautiful. Breakfast was beautiful and the choice of types of menu from Balinese to Indonesian to American etc.... was endless and all excellent and could all be eaten at your villa from room service at no extra cost. As could any drinks/meals you wanted, you could have them at your villa. We experienced a romantic candle lit dinner which is something we will never forget. Our villa was decorated outside with candles all the way down the path, all around the pool, on the wall & pink rose petals covered the pool with 2 floating large candles in the centre. The day bed was beautifully set up with flowers and waiting for our dinner to be served. We had our own personal waiter for the entire evening who looked after us so well and gave us as much time as we wanted between courses (the food was exquisite by the way). When we were ready, he telephoned for our next course to be brought - we ended up sitting for nearly 3 hours!!! We had the moon to look up at and the most beautiful setting/meal ever. To top it off, after our meal we were brought a birthday cake for my husband - I had mentioned that it had been my husbands birthday a week earlier and we had already celebrated with a cake and so didn't need one but they still made a gorgeous chocolate cake and sang happy birthday it was lovely. I commented on how yummy the spring rolls were we had as a starter and a phone call later meant I was getting the recipe which was left for me in a bag when we checked out - along with a separate bag of the cookies we had loved so much! We were so well looked after and spoilt rotten. We checked out at 5am to get an early flight and they had arranged for us to have a wonderful breakfast box each (contents of our choice) I opted for a lighter option of fruit and pastries - we couldn't even eat them all! We have travelled quited extensively and stayed at some beautiful hotels in some beautiful locations but the service we got during our 1.5 days stay here was second to none. The location of the hotel is 15 minutes from the centre of Ubud (which retains much of the balinese traditions/culture) which is great for genuine arts/crafts and beautiful souvenirs with lots of side streets to keep you busy for hours and hours. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to and from Ubud which they provide a bus timetable for but basically you can say when you want to leave/pick up etc.. as nothing is too much trouble. The people of Bali are so hospitable and friendly and thre is so much to see. As the world is such a big place and there are so many places to visit it is not normal for us to say we'd like to go back to visit the same place twice but Bali has so much to see and do and has given us such wonderful memories we would love to go back - any time and this hotel would be a definite. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle_andy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Komeneka Tanggayuda for 5 nights in February, what a fantastic experience. The staff could not do enough to assist us. With regular shuttles into Ubud, the biggest challenge was leaving the absolute luxury of our beautiful room, and choosing between the delicious Indonesian and Balinese breakfasts.

While we stayed at the Komeneka there was some construction going on, but this was so minimal that we couldn't really hear it. And the humility of staff meant that there was definitely not a short supply of apologies!

The town of Ubud is great, far enough away from the main touristy areas of Bali, and still very much culturally intact. There is no doubt we will definitely go back to the city and this hotel. If you are after luxury at an affordable price in a relaxing location, Komeneka Tanggayuda has all this and more. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay an experience we won't forget.

Sarah and Chris Hawley

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My husband and I spent 14 wonderful days of the Komaneka during our honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for a better spot. Not only did we fall in love with the beauty & tranquility of the resort & Bali, we fell in love with the staff and the people.

The staff went above and beyond what is expected at a hotel and made our honeymoon feel unique and special. We enjoyed candle lit dinners by our own pool, were given gifts of scarfs and robes with our names embroidered and were treated as part of the family.

The staff was incredibly knowledgeable about the area and steered us over and over in the right direction for good food, good shopping and good sight seeing. They even made custom tours for us so we could see the country.

The resort itself is pristine and the garden view villas are incredibly private (perfect for a honeymooning couple *wink wink*) you will honestly get the feeling you're the only guests on the resort.

The food is good (especially the red light and candle lit dinners) but be warned it is made for Westerners, so if you're a spice lover like me and my husband you may prefer to go into town for your meals to get the more authentic taste. If you are a spice lover be sure to order their Balinese breakfast. It's excellent.

I could go on and on about what a great trip we had, suffice it to say we'll be going back at our first opportunity. :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DohaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Well, once again Komaneka @ Tanggayuda and it's wonderful staff made our 2-week holiday one of absolute bliss! This is our 2nd visit in 8 months and we enjoyed it immensely - not only the superb food and wonderful breakfasts, but more importantly, the feeling of coming home. We were treated like honored family members and nothing was ever too much trouble for the wonderful staff. From the moment we arrived, being greeted personally by our dear friends, to the daily personal greetings by every staff member, the attention to detail by the houseboys, the personal touches that were obviously 'extras' but so welcomingly received, the invitation to one of the staff's weddings, the service from the wonderful waitresses and chef, to the intimacy of the whole resort, we loved it all. Yes, there is a bit of maintenance happening ("The Project" is soon to finish, we've been told), but the compensation, a lovely free massage to "put me in a better mood for my full-moon dinner" was amazing turning the whole afternoon/night into one of absolute pampering and feeling like we were the 2 most special people in the world. This is the doing of the very special resort manager, Apendika, and his wonderful staff including some special friends we've made: Utami, Yunanti, Kande and Kantu. Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou to ALL of you. We can't wait until we come again - maybe 3 weeks next time??? Warm regards, Perri and John (Perth) Australia

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerriPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,895 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,157 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,056 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
2.5 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing