We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Honeymoon Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #8 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Honeymoon Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is the best kind of 5-star hotel - wonderful service but no snobbiness or attitude.

We stayed in September for 6 nights for our honeymoon before heading for the beach and we seriously considered cancelling our beach stay to remain at Komaneka at Tanggayuda. I'm glad we went to the beach (The Oberoi in Seminyak) but now that I've been there once, I know that when we return to Bali, we will avoid the touristy beaches and stay in the cultural heart of the island.

We had a Valley Pool Villa and even though we arrived at the resort at 2am, the front desk was ready with tea and cookies and when they walked us to our villa, the flower petals were waiting on the turned-down bed and the bath was already drawn with flower petals. Amazing greeting after a 24-hour journey to get to the hotel.

Our suite was beautiful and we preferred the Valley Pool Villa to the brand new Premium rooms because they had more character and were less modern-looking. It was very private and offered amazing views. The bathroom was huge and we loved the little koi pond outside the bathtub as you could hear it bubbling while you relaxed.

We used room service quite a bit and they have a pretty good variety between local and Western foods. It was all good - not the best food you've ever eaten but always hit the spot and obviously convenient.

The included breakfast was amazing - always at least a 3-course meal and they were very flexible with their multiple menus so that we could pick and choose from a few them.

The main infinity pool was very nice as well and not crowded. Our villa pool was quite cold but the main pool was perfect - refreshing but not chilly.

We did have a couples' spa treatment as well and it was lovely. The treatment room looked out onto a water feature so that was nice. They also encourage you to use their sauna, showers, and jacuzzi afterwards to continue your experience. The treatment itself - a Balinese massage - was really cool and the two women worked completely in tandem and in sync.

Afternoon tea was lovely - only had it once but would have gone back if we were around more at that time.

The front desk was really great about putting together drivers, excursions, reservations, appointments, etc. They even helped me with an appointment with a healer, set up a driver, and packed me a sari and offering to bring with. All of the excursions were really affordable, too and private.

The best part of the hotel is the SERVICE! Everyone knew our names, our room number, what we had planned for the day, the times of all our reservations/appointments, etc. It was like if we mentioned something casually to one employee, they had some way of sharing with the entire staff. They were all so friendly and wonderful - the best service I've ever experienced.

Totally worth a trip here!

Room Tip: The Valley Pool Villas are probably the best value of any pool villa in Bali and totally worth the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    138
    29
    5
    8
See reviews for
171
1,185
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just spent 5 days there.

The good things are :

Service is awesome. nothing took longer than a few minutes to arrive at the room. For turn-down service in evening around 3 staff turned up incl an inspector for quality assurance !!! Seriously though - they major on this

The location - we had room 102. You pay more but you have your own pool & it has a stunning view.

The negatives

The food - we sensed the chef can cook but somehow has lost his passion or his way. The diced really were too bland. almost has if he had decided to take the middle ground to appease most western palate's. Come on !!! be bold with your dishes & your roots. If you are making a curry then spice it up .......... if you are making a soup - do not delver water. Other guests the week we were there also told us they thought the food was a real let down

We ate a few times at the start & then gave up.

The actual hotel grounds. Too much concrete - not enough soul - things are spread around the place. Does not feel "cosy". Frankly get rid of the boutique, art gallery & the rest area - never saw anyone use them anyway & in there place put some warm things that guests would love.

We did feed-back this to resort manager - who was so sweet & proactive. I am loathe to write anything bad because the staff are 100% perfect but really this is aimed at the owners who need to do something to refresh the communal areas - i repeat - it lacks SOUL.

anyway - to end on a positive - we have been to 8 hotels over 3 weeks & this is the best one for the service.

Room Tip: 102 or own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
527 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel located a few kilometers outside Ubud. The garden is beautiful notably at sunrise down the stairs where the infinity pool is located. The room is large very comfortable well furbished and perfectly fit our family (2 kids and 2 adults). The food at the hotel was good (local cuisine). For the breakfast we could opt regularly for fresh fruits (sometimes we bought outside the hotel, i.e. mango, papaya, etc.). It's a very relaxing and peaceful place to recommend. The hotel has a second address directly in Ubud which better suits those who want to go easily out of the hotel. We can recommend the place. One thing needs to be improved is the organization of the baby-sitter. The service of the hotel on this topic is clear not at the level it should be. I believe we had a mere housekeeper who had not clue what to do with the kids and who did not manage to speak a word of English...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PATCO060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our first visit to Bali and we split our 8 days between Ubud and Seminyak. I'm so glad we did Ubud and the Komaneka were beautiful. We had a Premier Valley pool view room and was initially given one of the down stairs rooms (lg garden but not infinity pool). The next moring I asked about moving rooms as the garden didn't have much sun and the hotel was so accommodating, moving us that afternoon to the room above which was absolutely perfect.

The grounds are quiet and peaceful, the staff are friendly, greeting you by name whenever they saw you.

The food in the restaurant for breakfast was very good serving up fresh fruit, cereal, pastries and English breakfast (the poached eggs are spot on!) and the view again is fantastic...

We were both surprised with how cheap everything in Bali and the hotel is, Bintang for £2, local wine for not much more and a delish lunch/evening meal for not much more than £5 per course!

The spa was also fantastic value compared to London prices, around £25 for an hours massage although you will need to book a min of 24 hours in advance.

The hotel is 10 minutes from the centre however the shuttle is always on time and very handy, one day they even dropped us in town despite missing the shuttle by 10 minutes. That being said please don't panic about being held to shuttle times...the taxi was £3/£4 ;-)

We considered The Viceroy, Uma by Como, and Samaya all would have cost considerably more than Komaneka, I'm so glad we didn't waste our money. This was a boutique 5 star experience and a great option for Ubud.
I would both return and recommend this hotel to friends and family

Room Tip: ask in advance for an upper level room for the infinity pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, with my wife and my baby. We had a room on the second floor (below the first floor) called premiere pool valley, with huge private swimming pool on the balcony. Stunning every morning for viewing great sunrise from our room. Nice big room, super comfy bed and pillows. Glass doors in bathroom. Everything that five star hotel rooms are supposed to have, was there.

This hotel is surrounded by beautiful greenery. So, scenic view from every part of hotel is obvious. There are no cafes or restaurants within walking distance from hotel. But, there are one restaurant very famous called nasi ayam kedewatan, very good tasted coz we had try and the hotel staff can help you to take away to your room. All Staff like a big family member, very warm and will give whatever you required. As this hotel is surrounded by hills/ valley and greenery, one can enjoy beautiful views from every part of the hotel. Lovely view from the lobby. Restaurant also has beautiful scenic view.

Hotel has restaurant. Again, very friendly staff. They know their menu very well so, don’t hesitate to ask them for suggestions or something particular you want in your food. Restaurant is not so expansive as per fine dine restaurant. We had our dinner there on all three nights and. Portions were more than enough for one person.

Breakfast buffet, was huge. So many things to choose, from local delicacies to western cuisines. Variety of breads. Jams, cereals, yogurts, Fresh juices, Egg station (you can customize your omelette), Fresh hot pancakes.

Overall... Yes we will come back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fransglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I have just returned to Australia having spent a wonderful 5 days at Komaneka Tanggayuda. All the positive things others have said are true; we couldn't fault anything, to be honest. We enjoyed our visit so much, that en route back to Australia, we booked a return trip there next July!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the valley would be great, but the courtyard rooms are still exceptionally pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Bali in September 2013. We decided to experience Nusa Dua and Ubud during our visit since it was our first time in Bali. For our stay in Ubud, we stayed at the Komaneka Tangayuda resort during September 23rd through September 25th for two nights and three days. We came from Nusa Dua which was about a 1-1.5 hour drive to Ubud. We could not of have been more happy with our stay at Komaneka Tannggayuda. We would HIGHLY recommend this resort to anyone that is considering it. Both my husband and myself would easily consider the Tanggayuda or one of the other Komaneka resorts if we are able to come back to Bali.

From the moment we got to the Komaneka Tanggayuda resort, we were welcomed with open arms. The service was impeccable! The workers really cared about your stay and comfort and ALWAYS had a smile on their faces.

We stayed in Villa #109. It was a Luxury Pool Villa which was located between the two main pools. The Villa was absolutely exquisite. It was very clean, spacious and smelled very refreshing. The bedroom/living space was enclosed with glass walls all around. And then there was a separate bathroom area. The bathroom area was very spacious with a separate area for the toilet, shower, double sinks and a tub. The private infinite pool was convenient to have in the Villa for you to take a dip whenever you wanted to.

Our favorite meal each day was breakfast. We had a divine Indonesian breakfast every morning with a beautiful view. During one of our nights, we had a Romantic Dinner in our Villa. It was originally setup outside by the pool, but my husband and I did not feel comfortable with all the insects flying onto us and around us during the dinner so we requested it to be moved inside. Our waitress was very accommodating and did not give us a hard time at all. During dinner, we enjoyed the crispy duck and chicken which were both very tasty. However, earlier in the day we had gone to Ibu Oka for lunch for the suckling pig and so dinner was not comparable.

Ubud Center is about a 15-20 minute ride from Komaneka Tangayuda with a shuttle drop off and pickup provided by the resort. This was very convenient as my husband and I had spent half a day shopping and of course visiting Ibu Oka (which is an absolute must for the suckling pig). Additionally, during one of our nights we decided to venture out to a nearby restaurant for dinner. The resort was very accommodating to this and they dropped us off and picked us up after dinner.

If you are interested in a massage, we had the couples 60 minute Balinese massage and it was AMAZING!! We loved our massages and were provided tea before and after our massage which felt very invigorating.

If you are considering staying at Komaneka Tanggayuda, you can not go wrong!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#11 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#1 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#9 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing