We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simply Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed at Komaneka 3 times - firstly at Bisma, which was excellent. Then last year at Tanggayuda so we would be near to where our friends were getting married. We went back again this year and would not consider staying anywhere else when visiting Ubud! Absolutely everything was first rate. Tanggayuda is amazingly beautiful and all of the individual villas are wonderfully spacious, private and well appointed. We have stayed in both the suite room and the pool villa and couldn't fault either, but if you can afford to treat yourself the pool villa really is something special. But what really makes Komaneka Tanggayuda so special is the incredible hospitality from everyone who works there. They say they want it to be your home away from home, but the reality is if home was that good you'd never go anywhere! Literally nothing is too much to ask and they are always prepared to go that extra mile. Friends of ours came over for dinner one evening and Komaneka even made a birthday cake, no charge!
On a practical note, the main swimming pool is stunning, the restaurant is excellent (quality, service and location), there is free wifi throughout and three computers in a private lounge room that you can use. Breakfast is pretty big, so I'd recommend mixing and matching from the different menus. There is a free shuttle service to the centre of Ubud roughly every hour and the staff are always willing to drop you off or pick you up anywhere along the way. It's not that far to Ubud centre but takes about 10-15 mins due to the speed that traffic moves in Bali! Ask the staff for recommendations for dinner if you're going to Ubud, they are usually pretty good!
Overall I just can't rate Komaneka Tanggayuda highly enough - should get 6 stars!!

Room Tip: Pool villa - amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    135
    28
    5
    8
See reviews for
168
1,140
32
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This resort has the minor problem of 20 min drive to restaurants in Ubud but they provide a shuttle. Other than that this is the only resort I know that does everything it can to make you comfortable and welcome, you almost feel like the only guest here. Breakfast is anytime and can be brought to your room at no extra cost, they even have little touches like reading glasses with the newspapers. The food is fine, they could do with getting decaf as well as regular coffee but if you want to relax and feel spoilt but unbothered as well this resort is first class.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank clownfishUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is our first trip to Bali and we are glad that we spent the entire trip at Komaneka Tanggayuda on our 4d3n trip (a little short in my opinion, you wont want to go home!)
We were doing research on hotel options for our trip and we read the excellent reviews of Komaneka Tanggayuda, an Indonesian owned resort in Ubud. Although it was a 1.5hr car ride from Ngurah Rai Intl Airport, the experience of our stay made it so worth the long journey! After habouring much anticipated eagerness to experience Komaneka, we can say that we were truly blown away by the personalised impeccable service by the staff at Komaneka!

We arrived in the late afternoon and was greeted by the manager who was so warm and friendly. Checking in was an experience, instead of the usual digging through our bags for the hotel voucher, passports and credit cards at the front desk, we were taken on a tour of the resort and facilities after our cold towel and welcome drink. We were finally brought to our villa where we could settle down and do the necessary document exchange (although our villa was supposed to be a valley view but it was obscured by some plants :( ) Nonetheless, let me continue on sharing the amazing resort with you.

The resort offers fantastic afternoon tea (balinese pastries and cakes that were amazzzinggg and different every afternoon) served with coffee/tea. In the evening, candle lit clay jars will be placed along the walk ways and there will be live gamelan music played by 2 skilled musicians in the courtyard during sunset. The atmosphere is just so beautiful
.
The housekeeping comes in twice a day - in the morning to tidy up the room and the usual, as well as to top up the lovely chocolate & nuts cookie jar & change the tropical fruits for the day (there was never once a hungry soul in Komaneka). In addition, they make another trip in the evening (somewhat like ninjas while we are away for dinner in town, doing our spa, taking a walk etc.) to make the bed once again, lay out the night gowns on the bed and place a bedtray which has in it bedtime stories and quotable quotes for the night. Excellent house keeping!

Every where we went, the staff knew us by our names (not on the front desk, but the manager, driver, chef, restaurant waitresses, room service staff, spa staff etc.), and they were so courteous and lovely people. They made it a point to ask about our day, give suggestions on activities and even remembered all our likes/dislikes. For example, I was commenting how i loved the Tamarind tea at the spa during our early morning market tour (that comes with their Balinese cooking class), and the chef that escorted us to the market immediately had a whole pot served to us during our breakfast when we returned. Also, I commented on how i loved the ginger sweets in the jars at the reception/spa, hence during checkout, they packed in 2 packets of these amazing candies with compliments from the resort. Life cannot get any better at Komaneka! We truly truly appreciated such personalized relationship with the staff at Komaneka. It made our stay very comfortable and at ease. :)

Some of the activities that we engaged in, hosted by the resort, included doing the early morning trekking to the rice fields (our guide was Sariti who taught us all about the vegetations and uses of traditional herbs found along the way), a personalised Balinese cooking class (this starts off with a visit to the local market at 7am, and a 3 hr cooking class either in the afternoon/evening, depending on when you want to have the cooked meal), massages/steam bath/jacuzzi at the spa etc. Even learning how to make floral offerings by the pool in the evening time was lovely!The cooking lesson was tiring, only because I had to learn how to make the Balinese spice paste from scratch, which made everything very authentic. The dinner was fabulous! We thoroughly enjoyed everything that we did during our stay.

During our stay there, we also ordered some Balinese food from the restaurant menu, and everything that we ordered tasted fantastic! Speaking of which, I am beginning to miss the cuisines there!

We are definitely looking forward to our next trip back to Bali, and back to Komaneka Tanggayuda. They are currently expanding their resort grounds to double their capacity :) Hopefully the same impeccable and praise worthy service will remain as their resort brims with greater success :) Thank you very much Komaneka Tanggayuda!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zhou_wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Seriously... This hotel is out of the ordinary. It's actually quite hard to describe why it is so... It's the total experience of your stay, I guess. We had such a fantastic stay here, that we changed our itinerary and came back for a second stay.... On the same holiday!

The staff at Tanggayuda are BY FAR the best I have ever encoutered on a hotel. They want you to feel like part of their family and that's exactly what it's like. I could live the rest of my life as a guest on this hotel and die a happy man. We stayed in a valley pool villa on both visits.

Just go here... You'll see what all the fuzz is about :o)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RasmusO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A bit of a splurge, yes, but very much worth it. This Trip Advisor “Travellers’ Choice Winner for 2013” has it all ---- superb service, beautiful villas (mine with a private plunge pool), lovely grounds, complimentary tea time and yoga, a personal assistant to help with plans, logistics and any problems, great food, homemade cookies and fruit in the room, a cooking school, etc. etc. The reviews are excellent, and they don’t lie. There are four Komeneka properties in Ubud, and they run a shuttle or provide free transport to any number of places in town. They are simply lovely people with a great attitude about genuine service. A wonderful home away from home. I'm planning to return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DamariscottaLakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stresa, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our second time visit in Komaneka properties, after Bisma on our last year visit. Like what others wrote, Komaneka Tanggayuda was a really beautiful-over the top property.
We stayed for 2 nights in Pool Villa. Amazing room!! Too bad at that time it was raining season in Indonesia, so our pool was full of dirt & leaves from the tree mostly of the time.
Staff were all wonderful, friendly and always smiling all the time. I believe that's one of the Komaneka impeccable service standard.
Breakfast was delicious, with lots of choices, decent portions and fresh ingredients.
One of our problem in Komaneka Tanggayuda was the internet connections. Unfortunately, because of my husband job. He needs the internet to check some mails and do some works. But too bad during our stay, the internet was sooo slow even to open an email :( I wish they will fix the problem soon.
Anyway, for those who want a total relax and a piece of paradise. This is the place! Will recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a pool valley. Our pool wasn't strategically placed and not as nice as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intan_linggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have just spent three lovely days at komaneka tanggayuda and have never experienced service this good anywhere. The staff could not have done enough for us and this started from the moment we got there until the moment we left. We were even greeted by the manager who was lovely.

We stayed in a pool villa which had our own private pool, a bathtub in the back with a Fishpond and a very spacious bedroom and bathroom. They provided us with fruit daily and also a jar of cookies. Upon arrival we were also given a present each which was rather thoughtful.

We opted to have our breakfast daily in our villa and the staff set everything up for us. The food was very good and when I made changes to the breakfast choices they were very good about it. We also had lunch at the restaurant and this was also very nice. We had dinner in ubud centre each night which is about a 15 minute drive but they had a shuttle service that leaves every hour on the hour and certain times it picks you up and brings you back to the hotel.

They had so many activities that unfortunately we did not get a chance to do.

I highly reccomend komaneka at tanggayuda and would definitely stay here again. The service here is what makes this place stand out and it is difinitely a notch above the best.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and book a pool villa. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#11 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.4 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing