We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“perfection in Ubud” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #8 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“perfection in Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am writing this review on my last night of my stay in Bali. This is my seventh trip to Bali and further afield in Indonesia. I want to share my impression before I get home and let it fall off my to do list. The concept of this hotel is based around "family." The staff greet you by name. The individual villas are beautifully executed with traditional Balinese style. The compound is extremely private and although the resort has many guests, it feels like your own home and your own resort. The service is impeccable but unobtrusive. The food is outstanding. This is a place that you will never want to leave. Kudos and thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,446
    138
    29
    5
    8
See reviews for
171
1,187
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I recently spent three nights at Komaneka and it was absolutely amazing. This is without doubt one of the best places I've stayed at. The staff were really friendly and I would also recommend trying the traditional Balinese food at the hotel restaurant. Our villa had the most beautiful view of the valley from the outdoor area featuring day bed and plunge pool. I only wish I had more time to spend in this truly amazing place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, il
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We honeymooned here in July of 2012 and it was by far the best hotel experience of our lives. It was the middle part of our trip (5 nights prior in Sanur and then followed by 8 nights in Nusa Dua). From the moment we were picked up by the driver, Komaneka was making our stay special. It is a bit outside of Ubud, but we actually preferred being outside of the hussle and bussle. We stayed in a pool villa and it is worth every penny. We we walked into the room there were fresh flowers on the bed and in the bath. The private pool and the view is worth a thousand words alone. We even had the chef cook us dinner at our pool cabana which was an unforgettable experience. The spa service was the best we had in Bali. The amenities, rooms, and views were amazing, but the hospitality of the staff is what made this stay. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. From the server who brought our breakfast in the morning to the turn down staff, everyone had a smile and told us happy honeymoon. I would highly recommend Komaneka to anyone. If you are in Bali, it is a must stay place!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I were in this hotel for 7 nights (our full honeymoon). It was probably the best hotel-experience I had in my life. We really enjoyed the time we spent there: the staff is welcoming and attentive, and the atmosphere is great: natural, ethnic, traditional... but very clean and organized at the same time.

Our room was upgraded to a "villa" with a very cozy backyard with private pool and outdoor bed.

They organize from time to time special events for the guests: during my stay there was a projection of a film showing the traditional balinese life, followed by a traditional balinese dinner with life music. With all the staff specially dressed for the occasion with their traditional balinese clothes. Simply great.

The facilities of the hotel are very nice, and well serviced by the kind staff. And there is wi-fi coverage (free of cost) everywhere. The only "but" for me is that the spa is expensive if you compare it with the average prices that you can get in Ubud.

The hotel is in a rural area, perfect to take some walks between forest and ricefields... There is a regular shuttle bus service (every hour) to bring guests to Ubud (15 mintues away). And they have bicycles and motorcycles available for the guests as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexcarreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Really liked the jacuzzi/pool in villa, a hit jacuzzi by the spa and the pool overlooking padi field. Ambience was well balanced, with nice greenery making the whole area relaxing. Breakfast was feeling with many courses and sumptuous. Would have preferred if there weren't any flies though which was fairly annoying given the nice setting.

Hotel was little out of way though and need transport to go anywhere. Fortunately the hotel provides transport to Ubud town hourly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuneKeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Komaneka for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon. This is without question one of best places we’ve ever stayed, and we have stayed in many hotels/resorts.

The service is absolutely fantastic, one which we’ve never experienced before. Everything is so personalised, and they always greet you by name, no matter if you see the staff in person or on the phone.

We had a private pool villa that overlooked the valley. It was absolutely beautiful. The villa was spacious, had a huge four poster bed, big bathroom and an outdoor bath. Outside we had the plunge pool, 2 sun loungers and a Balinese day bed.

You had a choice of breakfast everyday and you could have it anywhere in the resort. We chose to have ours on our day bed every morning overlooking the valley. The restaurant is also very nice and all of the meals are delicious. They are also very reasonably priced. There is a nice infinity edge pool that overlooks the valley and is very peaceful. The spa is also very good and again very reasonably priced. There is a free shuttle bus into Ubud town which is about 15 mins away and runs into the evening in case you want to have dinner in there.

This is THE place to go if you want to relax and enjoy the real Bali. Our special thanks to Bapak Ardi, Bapak Gungdek, Bapak Anom and all the staff who made it our home for the time we were there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSteel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had an unfortunate accident involving an oncoming truck whilst in Ubud with my girlfriend. We both ended up being rushed to hospital and had to undergo surgery. It is a daunting experience to need to go to hostpial overseas, however once Komaneka found out about our accident, the hotel manager and 4 staff immediately arrived at the hospital. They were unbelievable and ensured EVERYTHING went as smooth as possible. They insisted on leaving two staff with us overnight and made sure we had everything we needed, even bringing breakfast from the hotel in the morning! We arrived back to the hotel with the entire staff greeting us. They did not charge us for any of this. They were truly upset for what had happened to us, probably even more than we were. They are extrememly friendly and kind people and are more of a family than colleagues. I will definately come back to stay here when visiting UBUD.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brixton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#9 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Property: Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing