We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, beyond-fantastic service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Ranked #7 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was the first trip to Bali that we made with our 2 month old son and I'm glad we chose komaneka. Nuances such as remembering your names, dietary preferences and attending to every request with a smile, made our stay very comfortable and relaxing. The staff is exceptional. Only downside- Food is kinda average and I'd recommend folks staying here to make the 10 mins trip to Ubud for great food options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumedha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Komaneka Tanggayuda for three days in April.

We were greeted with a fresh fruit / vege drink and a complementary shoulder massage in the open air area of the spa, plus use of the facilities. We did several spa treatments during our stay including a couples massage. My pedicure was good, but be warned that it takes forever for the polish to dry in the open air.

The room was very spacious and comfortable and we appreciated both the welcome gift and the evening turn down service. Having a private courtyard (and a supply of bug spray) made it easy to relax and have private time outdoors in the evening. There was some construction on-site when we were there but because we were gone for most of the day we didn’t hear anything at all (other than at check-in).

The view from the pool was amazing and the staff were more than happy to bring our breakfast poolside for us (we called from our room when we were getting ready and it would arrive just after we did). We were a bit nervous that there wouldn’t be enough chairs in the pool area, but as the overall property is quite small there was always enough room for everyone.

The complimentary afternoon tea service was lovely and certainly provided a substantial snack. We also ate at the restaurant twice and both times really enjoyed the food.

We didn’t get an opportunity to enjoy the cooking class or any of the fitness classes as we spent most of our time during the day in town.

The shuttle into Ubud was really useful. We had it pick us up from a restaurant one evening and from the Komaneka Monkey Forest after visiting the forest. We were able to charge drinks at the Monkey Forest hotel back to our room which was really convenient.

If you’re visiting Ubud we’d highly recommend eating at Bridges Bali (http://www.bridgesbali.com/). The food was amazing and they had lovely selection of wines. The view is fantastic. The small art gallery was also fun to check out (you can walk to Bridges after as long as it's not too hot).

We also had the hotel arrange a taxi service to tour us around the island and enjoyed that very much.

During our time in Bali we also stayed in Nusa Dua so that we could get some beach time. Ubud was perhaps our preferred stay though as it was a bit more unique.

Room Tip: While it's always fantastic to have your own pool, the common pool is really beautiful and we en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DestinationNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff were all warm, friendly and helpful, we arrived much later than expected and they made us feel welcome with a delicious cup of tea.
All the staff knew our names and always addressed us in a very polite manner. The venue is absolutely awesome. The food was great. Lovely venue for honeymooners. We loved the personalised care and the bedtime stories every night.
Big ups to Komaneka, its definitely a MUST visit and I'll be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a private pool and the peace and serenity was fabulous. It was like we were in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I don't think I've experienced better service at a hotel or resort. From the moment we arrived it seemed the entire staff knew our names and was on a mission to make sure that we were as comfortable and relaxed as could be. A hand-written welcome note and jar full of delicious cookies greeted us in our room.
The resort is comprised of twenty villas so there is an overwhelming sense of privacy and calmness throughout.
The breakfasts are delicious. We tried each of the three-course set menu selections during our stay and loved them all. Afternoon tea was a nice treat to return home to after a day of exploring Ubud. We chose to take it at the small dining area overlooking the pool every day but they'll bring it to your room if you prefer.
Our initial room was next to the construction going on at the resort. We weren't overly concerned because our plan was to spend our days outside of the resort anyhow, but we were immediately offered a transfer to the much-touted Komaneka at Bisma, which we said we would consider if the noise turned out to be a problem. Before we could make up our minds, the next morning at breakfast we were told that the management would like to upgrade us to a pool villa far from the construction for the rest of our stay. The room was fantastic; large, comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was as big as the sleeping area and looked out onto the private pool/patio. My only note: the lighting is rather dim in the bathroom so if you're traveling with someone who is concerned with applying make up or getting their hair just right, you might want to pack a lighted mirror or something.
As a guest you can use the facilities at the other Komaneka resorts and we went to Bisma for a yoga class on a day that it wasn't offered at Tanggayuda. As Bisma is rated higher than Tanggayuda I was expecting to be jealous of its facilities. While the reception and pool are certainly beautiful, Bisma has more of an institutional hotel feel than Tanggayuda (there are room blocks and elevators...) and we were disappointed that the yoga class was held in what seemed to be a conference room - nowhere near as atmospheric as the outdoor pavilion where we took a class at Tanggayuda.

My advice: go to Tanggayuda. It is a wonderful experience. But do it soon. It seems the construction going on at the resort is for a block of hotel-style rooms which will double the guest population and might do much change the relaxing, intimate feel of this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PickACard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

In Komanema everything is just at its right place, fine furniture and decoration with a lot of taste.
Service is just outstanding, the place is peaceful, and people are so nice.
We had a high level of expectation reaching this place : fulfilled ! Lovely front forest view room with pool and with Balinese bed outside. Rooms are not very large but fit our needs. Food is good and the restaurant very pleasant
Very romantic place. We've been in 5 different hotels during our stay in Bali, of the same category, Komaneka is the one we enjoyed the most.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My teenage daughter and I spent a blissful week here. The facilities are first rate and the service is impeccable - with the staff anticipating our every need. The complimentary shuttle service, which runs a loop from the hotel, to central Ubud and the monkey forest was excellent. We spent some time exploring Ubud but a lot of the time simply relaxing and enjoying the pool, spa treatments and general surrounds. The complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea service (with different treats every day) is wonderful. And there is a beautiful walk through the valley and rice paddies just around the corner.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a private plunge pool, which I would recommend. The courtyard pool villa was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Over six nights my partner and I stayed at three Komanekas in Ubud. This was our favourite (the others were Bisma and Rasa Sayang).

You won't go far wrong staying at any of the K'neka properties: all deliver impeccable personal service with attention to detail - eg. in the quality of the beds/linen - and offer value for money. Overall, though, we found Tanggayuda particularly special.

The hotel is some way out of Ubud (easily reached by the free shuttle or a local taxi) but this is more than compensated for by the beautiful and large villas/suites (most with private pools), the gorgeous grounds and main pool with its valley views, service levels and, in our experience, much better dishes at breakfast and dinner. In terms of design, the hotel combines very well contemporary design with older Balinese elements. 

Certainly, Bisma has the "wow factor" due to its stunning setting, two pools and spa - but the majority of the rooms are in a "block" rather than individual pavilions! and breakfast was a bit disappointing (another reviewer perfectly described it as "dowdy"). Rasa Sayang is also lovely, very comfortable and centrally located, but for us it didn't compare to the other two hotels, although is cheaper.

I would recommend the hotels' spa treatments. Ours, at Bisma and Tanggayuda, were sublime. The couple's treatment room at Bisma in particular - built over a raging torrent - is supremely beautiful, especially at dusk.

Tanggayuda more than meets expectations of a Balinese idyll, especially when candlelit at night, and I have rarely stayed in a more peaceful and relaxing environment. Two nights was certainly not sufficient time to really enjoy it though and I'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms in the hotel are less than superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADL_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,222 reviews
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 199 in Ubud
1,938 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.5 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $215 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing