We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a sham - this place offers no value for money and very poor standards and quality!”
Review of Padi Prada

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padi Prada
Ranked #186 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed August 26, 2009

"Prada" means the Golden Touch of excellence according to the website of this overrated hotel.
What a joke clearly excellence is not something that anyone associated with this hotel has experienced.
We were booked in for five nights - we could stay no longer than one, but were forced to endure three because we could not find alternative accommodation at short notice.
To say that this place ruined our experience of Ubud is an understatement!
We checked in after a hot trip from Seminyak thinking we would cool off in the pool - no way - it was all cloudy and dirty. The first night we endured heat and humidity as our aircon wasn't working - an attempt to have a cooling shower was met with not a shower, but a solid trickle of water.
So on to the included American Breakfast - disgusting leathery scrambled eggs a small piece of some brown manufactured something that was passed off as sausage. The coffee cups were filthy and the coffee - well I love Bali Kopi - but this stuff!!
No fluffy towels in this place - just threadbare bits of greying something - at least they matched the sheets.
Without making too big a deal of cancellation policies etc - which I perfectly understand,
I could not get anyone to empathise with our situation, receiving a flat - this is our rule (policy) from the travel agent that the hotel uses (Bali Go!).
My suggestion to them that they were in breach of their "contract" to provide at least something close to the standard of accommodation that their website promises, and that I deserved some compensation was gain met with "Our cancellation policy is.."
Finally, we have been to Bali many times, so are very much aware of what you get from a $100US a night hotel - and essentially you get much more than this place delivers.
I must say that the staff at this hotel are delightful and of course very friendly - what distresses me is that the management of this place and the Travel agent put them in such a bad situation with their guests and they are powerless to act on behalf of their guests - I lost count of the number of times I reiterated that it was not their fault.
Two weeks later and now back home - still no refund on my credit card!!!
Tell all your friends - don't go there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pawayun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed there last weekend with the family and booked 3 villas.
The superior or twin bed villas had a tiny bedroom and does not come with a DVD player, unlike the Deluxe rooms.
The resort, though quaint, was worn out and its aging is apparent.
Linen and terry items are thin and well used.
Minimal lightings in the villas/rooms does not provide for a good reading ambience. It's a pity as the scenery provides for a nice atmosphere to just sit in bed and read a book!
The rattan smell in the room was over-powering and gave me slight sniffles!
Although it provides for hot and cold water, water pressure is very low, making it difficult to have a nice shower in the tub.
Best to bring your own bath amenities as they provide tiny bottles without labels.
Not worth paying an average of USD70 per night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BespokedService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I visited this place in 2005 and paid $30 and thought it was superb; I visited in 2008, paid $70 (having haggled from the asking price of $90) and left disappointed. Polished, clean and well maintained back then but mould and mildew now graces the once gleaming walls and stone. The loungers and pillows that you would once snuggle into are now grubby. The thing that capped it last time was the jacuzzi in our bungalow - this time however it didn't even work.
If you want to treble your asking price in three years you have to put some serious graft in but unfortunately these guys haven't.

If you do stay, tell them $90 is too much and haggle the price (those that know they have asked too much always have room for negotiation) or all of these once lovely places will continue to rest on their laurels and continue to think that it's okay to rise their prices just like the more deserving hotels and homestays have done.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoskoPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We stayed at the 5-villa Padi Prada between the Monkey Forest and Jalan Hanoman, and while I found it a little out of the way (I do like to be in the middle of everything), it was lovely to look out onto the rice fields and enjoy their beauty.

The room was spacious and charmingly furnished with air con, a bar fridge, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom had a hairdryer and shampoo and conditioner. Light was low (we were told it was more romantic!) so we replaced the bedside bulbs. The TV was Indonesian only which was great for a little language study as it showed the occasional movie and program in English with Bahasa Indonesian subtitles. The bale-style varandah overlooked the ricefields and had bamboo blinds that could be used for privacy. Breakfast could be had there or in the restaurant. Breakfast was good with 3 styles and choices in them.

Each lunchtime one or two coachloads of tourists descended on the hotel and learned gamalan, did cooking or painted masks. This was interesting to see and was obviously the way the hotel survived given its small number of rooms.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff. Gusti, the main 'carer' was wonderful - good English and quick to recognise a problem and quick to find a solution. We had taken the advertised phone in the room to be direct dial for my husband's computer needs. Unfortunately it was not, but Gusti helped arrange for a small fee the use of the office between 7.30 and 8.30am each day. He also organised an extension in our room so we could use the laptop where there was light. This saved us having to move, but as we found out when investigating, the hotels with this level of facility were either booked or out of our price range. We paid US$75 net for our villa as it was a long stay. Published rate is US$100. The room 'boys' Putu and Komang were also helpful and friendly as was the admin staff Suzy and Andy. On our second last day they all presented us at breakfast with a thank-you for staying there so long: a delicately carved wooden horse. We were touched and have taken away fond memories of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Zenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
2.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.9 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
0.9 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padi Prada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padi Prada

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#125 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Padi Prada 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Padi Prada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padi Prada Hotel Ubud
Padi Prada Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing