We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice stay overall”
Review of Padi Prada

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padi Prada
Ranked #185 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A really nice stay overall”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This place was a little trip advisor wake up call for me. Having checked into a highly rated homestay and finding it quite horrible, we found this place just by wandering around and instantly loved it. How funny to afterwards find it slammed on trip advisor! I think some people came here with unrealistic expectations, plus some of the reviews are pretty old.

We paid 600k ($60) inc tax and breakfast for one of the stand alone villa/roundhouse in low season. This dropped from 700k just by asking for a discount. Didnt want to haggle further than this as it seemed a fair price. They also had nice rooms with inside and open showers for 500k (pre haggle).

I'd imagine if you booked in advance through an agent and paid $100 you might be disapointed, but for $60 direct (and compared to the other things we saw in this price range or higher) this seemed good value for ubud.

Dont go here expecting 5 star luxury hotel - it isnt this, and your not paying those prices. Go here thinking you will get a really nice, comfortable and authentic (large) hut style accomodation with some luxurious touches with amazing lovely staff.

There is an inital wow factor with the hut/roundhouse, its a big high ceilinged room with thatched roof, four poster bed, a/c, tv, minibar, fresh flowers etc leading through glass doors onto a huge private covered veranda with cool low seating and rice paddy views. You go through one door into the walk in wardrobe with safe, follow it round to the big marbled sink area, then a toilet area, then a shower area then a bath area with perspex ceiling so the light floods in, then this area leads back into the central room through another door.

The bed was very comfy, the room was as near to spotless as you could get. It looked like it had a paint and new curtains recently.

There are a couple of things they could do with fixing, like the water pressure is a bit low, yes the linen is a little worn in places (hardly disintigrating though!) but very clean, the lighting a little too low, but nothing that stopped us leaving with a great feeling. This is asia after all.

Staff were really, really freindly, helpful and super nice without being overbearing. Definitly there when you needed them. Breakfast was nice enough but slow so if your in a hurry tell them first.

Do yourself a favour and eat in the reastaurant, the 'real' food (ie not the breakfast) was actually very very good. And you get 10% off as guests. It seemed a tad more expensive than some surrounding retsaurants but then it includes all the taxes that ususally get added on after and the quality was very high. Still dreaming of their Char Kwee Tiow noodles (yes i know they arent balinese but you can only east so many nasi gorengs on a trip!). Would have loved to try the duck it looked great, but just ran out of meals, there are so many good places to eat in ubud.

Ps didnt use the pool but it looked spotless and nice views. Base of the sun loungers looked a bit shabby but the cushions looked fine.

Overall we had a really nice time, extending our stay from 2 to 4 nights because it was so comfy here. Trip advisor doesnt always get it right it seems - sometimes price and expectations just need to align!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helent24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, the only good thing about this hotel is staff was friendly like everywhere else in Bali. Where do I start? We stayed on the new years, which the price is up to $96 / night.
Don't get fooled by the superior suite with "jacuzzi" it's just a regular tiny swimming pool, took 5 hours for us to filled with hot water, and it turned out cold. (the hot water is limited and turned into cold water after a few minutes).
Hotel are worn out, so does the room, linen, towel, bathroom, anything that your eyes can see.
The double bed isn't a king size bed, but a two single beds pushed in the center.
At night, Lighting is terrible, bugs, gecko's poop, giant gecko will pretty much bother you all night long.
The door is hardly locked, breakfast was plain, don't bother calling either front desk / housekeeping, no one answers.
Location is far from the center of monkey Forrest's area where all the restaurants, mini markets etc. You gotta walk up & experience a dark environment at night before you finally found a crowd.
I don't recommend anyone to stay in this villa / hotel for any reasons, take your money somewhere else and stay away from this hotel!

Room Tip: No good room in this villa, everything is worn out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syelovia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were taken to Padi Prada for the crispy duck set lunch as part of our package day tour to Ubud but did not stay there.

The Ambience
The restaurant is not air-conditioned, but has ceiling fans from the high wooden rafters, and cool breezes come through the open sides across the lush green padi fields. Ask to sit along the open sides for a lovely view. The restaurant itself is a bit run down, but some might say it's "rustic".

The Food
The moment we were seated at our table, the waitress brought two bottles of cold bottled water for us. About 10 minutes later, she brought out two large platters each with half a roast duck (small Balinese duck, about the size of half a small chicken), two sticks of satay, some unidentifiable paste wrapped in a banana leave and grilled, a mound of rice, two types of sambal / chili paste, vegetables and crackers. A LOT OF FOOD. The rice was very fragrant with coconut, the vegetables fresh and crunchy, the crackers crispy, the satay tasty, the sambals hot but delicious, and the unidentifiable paste remained untasted.

The duck lived up to its name of Crispy Duck. It was so crispy, we could even crunch on the bones and get more than our daily recommended requirement of calcium! The duck was well seasoned and not gamey in the least. While the skin and bones were deep fried crispy, the meat remained moist and flavourful.

Needless to say, it was one of our best meals in Bali.

As it was part of our package tour, unfortunately, I do not know what it cost.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga, nsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

"Prada" means the Golden Touch of excellence according to the website of this overrated hotel.
What a joke clearly excellence is not something that anyone associated with this hotel has experienced.
We were booked in for five nights - we could stay no longer than one, but were forced to endure three because we could not find alternative accommodation at short notice.
To say that this place ruined our experience of Ubud is an understatement!
We checked in after a hot trip from Seminyak thinking we would cool off in the pool - no way - it was all cloudy and dirty. The first night we endured heat and humidity as our aircon wasn't working - an attempt to have a cooling shower was met with not a shower, but a solid trickle of water.
So on to the included American Breakfast - disgusting leathery scrambled eggs a small piece of some brown manufactured something that was passed off as sausage. The coffee cups were filthy and the coffee - well I love Bali Kopi - but this stuff!!
No fluffy towels in this place - just threadbare bits of greying something - at least they matched the sheets.
Without making too big a deal of cancellation policies etc - which I perfectly understand,
I could not get anyone to empathise with our situation, receiving a flat - this is our rule (policy) from the travel agent that the hotel uses (Bali Go!).
My suggestion to them that they were in breach of their "contract" to provide at least something close to the standard of accommodation that their website promises, and that I deserved some compensation was gain met with "Our cancellation policy is.."
Finally, we have been to Bali many times, so are very much aware of what you get from a $100US a night hotel - and essentially you get much more than this place delivers.
I must say that the staff at this hotel are delightful and of course very friendly - what distresses me is that the management of this place and the Travel agent put them in such a bad situation with their guests and they are powerless to act on behalf of their guests - I lost count of the number of times I reiterated that it was not their fault.
Two weeks later and now back home - still no refund on my credit card!!!
Tell all your friends - don't go there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawayun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed there last weekend with the family and booked 3 villas.
The superior or twin bed villas had a tiny bedroom and does not come with a DVD player, unlike the Deluxe rooms.
The resort, though quaint, was worn out and its aging is apparent.
Linen and terry items are thin and well used.
Minimal lightings in the villas/rooms does not provide for a good reading ambience. It's a pity as the scenery provides for a nice atmosphere to just sit in bed and read a book!
The rattan smell in the room was over-powering and gave me slight sniffles!
Although it provides for hot and cold water, water pressure is very low, making it difficult to have a nice shower in the tub.
Best to bring your own bath amenities as they provide tiny bottles without labels.
Not worth paying an average of USD70 per night.

  • Disliked — The rattan smell in the rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BespokedService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I visited this place in 2005 and paid $30 and thought it was superb; I visited in 2008, paid $70 (having haggled from the asking price of $90) and left disappointed. Polished, clean and well maintained back then but mould and mildew now graces the once gleaming walls and stone. The loungers and pillows that you would once snuggle into are now grubby. The thing that capped it last time was the jacuzzi in our bungalow - this time however it didn't even work.
If you want to treble your asking price in three years you have to put some serious graft in but unfortunately these guys haven't.

If you do stay, tell them $90 is too much and haggle the price (those that know they have asked too much always have room for negotiation) or all of these once lovely places will continue to rest on their laurels and continue to think that it's okay to rise their prices just like the more deserving hotels and homestays have done.

  • Liked — The view over the padi fields and the pool to yourself
  • Disliked — Poorly maintained
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoskoPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We stayed at the 5-villa Padi Prada between the Monkey Forest and Jalan Hanoman, and while I found it a little out of the way (I do like to be in the middle of everything), it was lovely to look out onto the rice fields and enjoy their beauty.

The room was spacious and charmingly furnished with air con, a bar fridge, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom had a hairdryer and shampoo and conditioner. Light was low (we were told it was more romantic!) so we replaced the bedside bulbs. The TV was Indonesian only which was great for a little language study as it showed the occasional movie and program in English with Bahasa Indonesian subtitles. The bale-style varandah overlooked the ricefields and had bamboo blinds that could be used for privacy. Breakfast could be had there or in the restaurant. Breakfast was good with 3 styles and choices in them.

Each lunchtime one or two coachloads of tourists descended on the hotel and learned gamalan, did cooking or painted masks. This was interesting to see and was obviously the way the hotel survived given its small number of rooms.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff. Gusti, the main 'carer' was wonderful - good English and quick to recognise a problem and quick to find a solution. We had taken the advertised phone in the room to be direct dial for my husband's computer needs. Unfortunately it was not, but Gusti helped arrange for a small fee the use of the office between 7.30 and 8.30am each day. He also organised an extension in our room so we could use the laptop where there was light. This saved us having to move, but as we found out when investigating, the hotels with this level of facility were either booked or out of our price range. We paid US$75 net for our villa as it was a long stay. Published rate is US$100. The room 'boys' Putu and Komang were also helpful and friendly as was the admin staff Suzy and Andy. On our second last day they all presented us at breakfast with a thank-you for staying there so long: a delicately carved wooden horse. We were touched and have taken away fond memories of our stay.

  • Liked — the outlook
  • Disliked — the location
  • Tips/Secrets — accept using transport to get to Jalan Raya
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Zenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#102 of 196 in Ubud
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 196 in Ubud
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Dalem Cottages
Puri Dalem Cottages
#187 of 196 in Ubud
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#40 of 196 in Ubud
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padi Prada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padi Prada

Property: Padi Prada
Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#122 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Padi Prada 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Padi Prada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padi Prada Hotel Ubud
Padi Prada Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing