We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
The Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pool
Villa Lumia - View from the Rice Fields Villa Lumia - Century Old Hand Carved Joglo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The Pool
Villa Lumia - View from the Rice Fields
Villa Lumia - Century Old Hand Carved Joglo
The Pool
The Pool
Villa Lumia - Swimming Pool with a View !
The Pool
Villa Lumia - Living Room at Night
Villa Lumia - View at Night
The Pool
Villa Lumia - Century Old Joglo
Villa Lumia - Bedroom
Villa Lumia - Overview view from the Rice Fields
The Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Villa Lumia - Bathroom with view on the Rice Fields
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 2
Villa Lumia - Bedroom with Mezzanine
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 2
Villa Lumia - Mezzanine
Bathroom Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Villa Lumia - Bedroom
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Villa Lumia - Fitness Center
The Bedroom with Mezzanine
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Dressing Room
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 4
Villa Lumia - Fitness Center
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 4
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 4
Villa Lumia - Semi Open Sky Bathroom
Bathroom Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 3
Bathroom Bedroom 4
Villa Lumia - Semi Open Sky Bathroom
Bathroom Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 3
Living Room
Villa Lumia - Bathroom at Night
Living Room
The Bedroom 3
Living Room
Villa Lumia - Billiard and Bar
Media Room
Living Room
Media Room
Half Bathroom
The Bedroom 3
Play Room
Dining Room
Play Room
The Bedroom 4
Play Room
Villa Lumia - Billiard and Bar
Gym Room
Dining Room
Gym Room
Kitchen
Bathroom Bedroom 3
Gym Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Villa Lumia - Billiard and Bar
Entrance
Dining Room
Parking
Bathroom Bedroom 3
Gym Room
Kitchen
Villa Lumia - Jacuzzi
Garden
Kitchen
Garden
Terrace
Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rohit_Kha...
Amritsar, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were family of 9 on a holiday and we stayed at the Villa Lumia in the beginning of January.

We stayed for 3 nights in Seminyak before coming to Villa Lumia. It was an incredible experience for me and my family.

From Rooms, swimming pool, games room, fitness room, kitchen, Jacuzzi are all as detailed in the Villa description and are all of a good standard of quality. My sons aged 18, 15 niece aged 10 and nephew 7 Yrs old were either in pool, jacuzi or playing Pool the whole time.

Before coming to Villa Lumia we had planned to do lot of the things with kids in Ubud but as we reached here no one wanted to leave this place.

Initially the bathrooms which are totally open air with natural surroundings were a concern. I don’t like insects at all and also being an Indian my wife never thought of bathing in open was a good idea but at the end of the trip I felt one of the beauties of Villa Lumia is this natural open air bathroom which we would like to do it again.

I was beyond impressed with this property on every level; the home, the location, the staff, the service from beginning to end.

A special mention for Ketut the housekeeper, his wife Komang and Manager Made were always there when needed and they were full of local knowledge and advice and really go out of their way to please and to make the whole experience very special. We chose to have breakfast and dinner most evenings at the villa and the standard was excellent.

The place was impeccably clean and extremely well maintained. Basically, it was brand new.

Joris, the owner, had been very accommodating, responsive and helpful, all through the initial booking and even after we had left the villa, checking to make sure that everything was alright.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bathrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2015
Thank you so much for your great review of Villa Lumia Bali!

We are very delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome all of you soon (and hopefully this time you will be able to visit a bit more Ubud and its surroundings :)

Joris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattooedP...
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Villa Lumia is THE place to stay for your Bali Holiday!”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

While I could say that Villa Lumia is like a home away from home, I'd be selling the villa and it's staff short. Because it is so much more than a home away from home. It's a house in paradise, you know, the one you dream about having. If you book your stay here (and why wouldn't you?) you'll know exactly what I mean.

It's an amazingly designed Villa, with large "rooms", stunning architecture and the friendliest of staff you will ever find. In my opinion, much better than any 5 star resort I've stayed in, and much more reasonable on your wallet.

The villa is nestled off the road in a beautiful Balinese setting (just look at the photos, they're truly worth a thousand words).

Ketut and Komang are excellent cooks and gracious hosts, we looked forward to breakfast every morning. With offerings of fresh fruit, fresh bread, coffee and an array of different styles of eggs, pancakes and meats. We also had lunch and dinner at the villa, all superbly prepared using the freshest ingredients found at the market that day. While there is a fee for meals other then breakfast, it's quite nominal and much better than you may find at a local restaurant.

The villa is very clean. From the towels, to the sheets to the seating areas and kitchen. The mattresses are premium (and I should know, as I was in the industry) and the pillows just right. The closets are huge, with enough room to spare for all in your party. The bathrooms are open air, so don't be shocked to see a friendly critter or two, it just adds to the experience and the stories you can tell. I almost forgot, the pool is simply amazing.

The villa is a very short drive to downtown Ubud, yet convenient to the rest of the island.

So in short, if you want an amazing Balinese experience, book Villa Lumia without any hesitations, you'll be glad you did.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2015
Hi Steven,

Thanks for your awesome review, this helps a lot and we are very happy you enjoyed your time with us at Villa Lumia.

All the Staff (Ketut, Komang, Made, Etc.) look forward to be able to welcome you and your lovely family anytime soon!

Joris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NevaDunja
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There are no words to describe how amazing this place is!”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Before visiting this Villa, I was sure you can't make any place to feel like home after just 8 days. Now I know it is possible, thanks to beautiful design and amazing staff of Villa Lumia.

There is no one single thing I would change there. When you see pictures, everything looks amazing but pictures can't show how warm, nice and special this place actually is. Everything you can see on the pictures is 10 times better and what gives special touch to this Villa are definitely people. They were taking care of us in the best possible way. Always friendly, always smiling, ready to help. Their cooking skills are also one of the things that I would point out as a highlight of the whole experience. They are definitely giving special touch to this amazing place.

I've been traveling a lot but I think Villa Lumia is the only place I would always go back to. Spending 8 days there made it not only experience of my life but also my second home.

Thank you for that!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2015
Hi Neva !

Thank you so much for your awesome review! Your review not only adds up to the previous ones: we all felt very proud whilst reading it and were very happy you all enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Lumia!

As usual we will always strive to improve our guests’ stay and we are already working on some potential improvements, so stay tuned!

Thanks again,

Joris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alen D
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The place to come back to again. And again.”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I have managed the group of 11 that love to travel and have traveled to many places around the World. As we wanted to have many activities during the day as well as to make small trips, this was a great location for us. The service was more than great, constantly available to us; from the communication with owners, transportation to people at the villa. I can honestly say that the property is even better than described at the web page offering a really nice and relaxing space. I never visit the same place again, however, most of the group agreed to go to Bali again and stay at Lumia.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place was more than a good value for the price paid.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2015
Hi Alen !

It's always a pleasure to read such review and to know our guests spent a nice time at Villa Lumia. All the staff was very happy to have you with us and we definitely hope we'll be able to welcome you another time as well!

Please send our Best Regards to all the Group as well!

Joris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freewill
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid Villa that feels like Home”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I am so glad that I managed to book Villa Lumia after scouting for a villa for days to accommodate our group of 11 pax, as well as having sufficient amenities to keep both kids and adults entertained. The moment I laid eyes on Villa Lumia’s website, I knew that this was “it” and I have to book it. We were certainly not disappointed and everyone was thrilled with the amenities in the villa. We were either enjoying a swim in the pool, soaking in the Jacuzzi, playing billiards, watching movies or chilling out in the common area. Going to Ubud center was also a breeze, with complimentary return transfer provided by the kind staff, Ketut and Made.

The setting of the villa is just next to the rice paddy fields, with farmers harvesting the wheat every morning while we were there. Everything is clean and new, with a lot of thoughts having gone into the design, architecture and maintenance of the villa. Even the bath towels have a nice smell. The furnishings are new, the beds are comfortable for a good night’s sleep with the premium mattress, and the open air bathrooms are spacious with good water pressure. Each of the 4 bedrooms have a bathroom attached to it, making it convenient for our large group to wash up after a swim or sight seeing trip. But do take note that most of the bathrooms being open air, will have insects coming to visit once in a while, but this is part of the charm that goes with the whole natural setting in a villa.

On our second night, Ketut and Komang bought fresh ingredients from the market and served up a delicious meal of shrimps, snapper, chicken satay, vegetables, followed by home made chocolate ice cream and fried bananas at only a small charge of 25% of the cost of the food. It was our first time in a villa and we were practically living it up, with everything taken care of nicely by the thoughtful staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We even had our laundry done at a small fee and everything was returned to us within the day.

Joris, the owner, had been very accommodating, responsive and helpful, all through the initial booking and even after we had left the villa, checking to make sure that everything was alright. If you are a group of travellers looking for a villa in Bali, with sufficient activities to keep the kids and adults occupied, look no further and make reservations at Villa Lumia. We will certainly look forward to the next trip to enjoy the facilities and the hospitality at Villa Lumia. Thanks to the great team of staff and Joris for helping to make this an enjoyable and great bonding time for our family!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great facilities and design, warm and helpful staff
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
Hi Scully !

Thank you so much for reviewing Villa Lumia and for providing potential guests so much (and extremely positive) information about your latest stay with us. This is always very heartwarming to get such a feedback and it helps us strive to maintain our service and do even better in the future. All the staff was extremely glad to have you with us and they all send you their best regards.

Hope we’ll welcome you soon!

Joris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpl2015
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, attention to details, luxurious, spacious and private villa”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Lumia provides excellent service. Housekeeper Ketut and his wife Komang are excellent housekeepers and were attentive to our needs. Always cheerful and helpful, they took care of our group consisting families with children 2 to 11. Komang whips up a delicious beef rendang dish and is ever accommodating to dietary needs; we had amongst us vegetarians, vegans and meat lovers. The villa is spacious and secluded. The common areas including pool, Jacuzzi, snooker room, TV room and dining hall are well positioned and equipped in the estate. The estate is well maintained and décor is tasteful. Amenities were ample, from toiletries to fridges, washing machine to cars on standby for a trip to town or to other parts of the island. We felt at home and were really reluctant to leave. Compliments to a well run villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: service
Liked least: bathroom design
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2015
Thanks for posting this fantastic review Poh Lin!

All the staff was very happy to welcome you all! I'll pass the comments to them as they well deserve it...

We are glad you all felt home at the Villa and you have been able to have some relaxing time.

In the meantime we will also make sure to continue improving the facilities at the Villa to make your potential upcoming stay even more enjoyable!

Thanks again,

Joris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falk K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence!”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first trip to Bali and thanks to a friend who is a regular there, we got to stay at Villa Lumia.
It's the most difficult review I have to make as the risk of repeating what has been written about it before is very high.
I can only reconfirm that this place is heaven on earth. It's the first time we have stayed in a villa when traveling in the region (we are stationed in China), and we will now look for similar properties when booking our trips instead of staying at a hotel.
Right from the pick-up at the airport, we felt we would be taken care of like we were family to Ketut (and we then met his wife Komang and Made). He was all smiles the whole way. He knew that was our first time in Bali and started to ask us questions right from the start to ensure he would be able to give us the best suggestions to make our stay memorable.
It was dark when we arrived at Villa Lumia, and I have to say it was quite a strange atmosphere when driving into a bumpy road. At that moment we did wonder what we were doing there. Well, we were arriving at what proved to be a splendid property. It was like arriving to paradise. Lighting was beautiful, multicolor flowers in huge vases, cold towels to freshen up and a very tasty welcome drink.
It proved hard to stop the kids to remove their clothes and jump into the very appealing pool. Actually it proved hard for us not to do the same thing.
But as I had asked the owner (thanks Joris for your perfect follow-up), we were served an amazing dinner that made us wonder whether we would try restaurants a friend of ours had recommended.
We then visited the rooms and let me tell you, none of the pictures in the website do manage to reproduce the quality of each one of them.
Bathrooms are unusually spacious and so are the rooms not to mention the walk-in closets.
We quickly put the kids to bed and I went for a pool challenge with a friend staying with us leaving the girls raving about everything.
I could write more about Villa Lumia but would only repeat what has been written in the past.
Oh wait, last but not least: homemade jam and bread! Ketut told me the parents of the owners taught them how to make it. Unexpected and delicious!
I am not in a position to compare it with another property in the area as this was a first for us but what I am sure of is that we will not risk staying at another place next time, the risk of being disappointed is very very high.
We were a party of 8 but could have been 12.
I would recommend (I actually already have and a group of friends from Germany have booked for next year) Villa Lumia again and again.
We, for sure, will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2014
Hi Falk!

Thanks a lot for this very nice review and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Villa Lumia and had a great time in Bali generally speaking!

We have well noted your upcoming stay with us next year and I'll make sure we prepare enough home made jam this time (I've heard from the staff you and your lovely family consumed everything!) :)

See you in a few months,

Joris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing