We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but outdated property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bhanuswari Resort & Spa
Ranked #133 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cikarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view but outdated property”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2012. Quite far from main street and far away from Ubud. Surrounded by rice field, green garden. Pools are very nice, and one of our family stay on the 2nd floor, the view from the room is beautiful.

But, the furniture in the room is very outdated, frankly speaking, kids were frightened when the night comes, less illumination/light in the night, so you need to be very careful when going down from 2nd floor.

Many mosquitos and even in front of the room, i found many ants.

Breakfast, we dont like it, no many option, very standard.

Complimentary mineral water only available on the first day, 2nd day...no more.

Overall, kids didnt love the resort at night, but pool and view they loved it. We will stay at other place if we come to ubud again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    117
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
37
129
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We escaped to Ubud to get away from the madness of Kuta and we were treated with the friendly service of the staff and the beautiful surrounding. Lush green rice paddies welcome you every morning. The shuttle service was awesome because the driver will drop you off in town and pick you up anywhere at a phone call.

For the price we paid, this place was well worth it!!!! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah_25122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at this place for 4 days in the standard room. The service and staff were wonderful!
The rooms were clean and house keeping was excellent. The location was fantastic and tranquiity was in the air!! Their breakfast is worth mentioning - particularly their french toasts! I particularly appreciate their effort in getting our breakfast ready even before we asked for our Volcano trekking (that starts at 3 am). Further the owner was very jovial and he helped us get great discounts in the wood carving galleries. Overall, this place is indeed great and I recommend it strongly for anybody wanting to stay in the Ubud area.

Room Tip: Do not choose the standard room just below the kitchen. It is noisy in the early morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmsrvignesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Bhanuswari! Amazing spot on the rice paddies, staff 10/10, pineapple pancakes very tasty! You are a little out of town but the shuttle is very accommodating and picks you up wherever you are. We would ask the restaurant or cafe to call the hotel and pick us up and it wasn't a hassle at all. We recommend staying in the deluxe rooms down the back of the hotel towards the second pool, they were lovely. Overall we would recommend staying at the Bhanuswari. Ubud is definitely a great relaxing place to visit. Ash & Jamie

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I admit this: I love the place. I will strongly recommend this place to my family and friends.

Great things about this boutique retreat everyone covered very well. Let me entertain you with little things we discovered.

First of all, true Balinese morning offering session at 11AM. A lady would carry a basket, full of beautiful offering flowers, rice and coconut to Balinese Hindu Gods, to the Temple inside the retreat first. It was nice to see real people doing real things naturally. You respect and love their peacefulness and charming.

Next, it must be Max - the down-to-Earch Australian co-owner. Dont let his appearance disguise you. As a former Royal Navy officer, a St Johns paramedic and a guy growing up from mining area in Western Australia, Max is an honest, charming and lively man. If the driver not available, he will drive you to Ubud immediately :) Talk to him. Ask him to show his amazing "HMAS battleship" match stick model. He is also a sponsor to the local medical center.

Last but not least, the local. The villagers make their living by wood carving products. They will open door to let you see their work. Hassle free. If you like their artworks, you can politely give them some money. Again, ask Max for more information.

Room Tip: Great double bed room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricDNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Bhanuswari Resort & Spa is 10-15 minutes drive from Ubud & surrounded by scenic rice terraces. We stayed there for 9 nights and by the time we left we felt part of the family. The people here are extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. A driver is always available to take you into Ubud or anywhere else (no charge for Ubud, other day trips are reasonably priced). The Resort has villa style accommodation set in attractive gardens, as well as standard rooms in the main building. The dining area has good atmosphere & views over the rice fields. The breakfast is good, & they serve meals all day including dinner. There are 2 good sized pools where you can relax for hours. The Spa also does excellent Balinese massage. All in all, a very relaxing stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraser97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We loved it here- the rooms are so clean and spacious. The bathroom is to die for. The resort is a little way out of the main part of Ubud but there is a free shuttle service. Food is great and I strongly recommend the cooking class done in house and is completely hands on- just the two of us with the chef. We learnt how to cook 5 local dishes for US$20, that we all got to eat afterwards. The pools are beautiful, spa treatments lovely and the views wonderful in a quiet, meditative environment. And all reasonably priced. It was the perfect way to start our holiday in Bali.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great balcony and view of the local rice fields. You can't lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
4.1 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#96 of 198 in Ubud
143 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#104 of 198 in Ubud
214 reviews
12.4 mi away
Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#113 of 198 in Ubud
315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#120 of 198 in Ubud
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhanuswari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhanuswari Resort & Spa

Property: Bhanuswari Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Tengkulak | Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#104 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bhanuswari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco / sustainable tourism / GLBT friendly welcome to tranquility! Bhanuswari Resort & Spa offers "natural Bali", providing exquisite peace in a lush tropical environment, away from traffic. For discerning travelers seeking both traditional and modern Bali, we offer a true sense of place, with a special spirit that is truly unique. Only a 10-minute drive from Ubud, "cultural capital of Bali", this property is surrounded by flowing water and gently terraced rice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bhanuswari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhanuswari Resort And Spa
Bhanuswari Hotel Ubud
Bhanuswari Resort Ubud
Bhanuswari Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing