We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel in the center of busy ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Ranked #155 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights in the darma room while traveling around bali with a group. I very much liked the bungalow style in the nice garden, the pool was small but clean. The room was clean, comfy bed, good clean bathroom without any unwanted visitors, aircon.
The wall to the other room in the bungalow is quite thin though, could hear my sleepless neighbour mucking around and listening to the radio.

Breakfast is nice, freshly made with fruit juice, fresh fruit, eggs, toast and pancake, coffee or tea served outdoors under a big roof.

Good sot to stay to explore ubud and sourroundings, would stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 212 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in the Gatotkaca room which overlooks the water palace and the dance performances happening every evening. This was the cheapest hotel that we stayed at in Bali(!!) and perhaps the best in terms of overall expereince. No unexpected events (unlike our stay at Tanjung Benoa and Semniyak, where we paid a lot more for much inferior hotels).

Every thing is at walking distance and evenings are very enjoyable from the verandah of the room. The hotel provided cabs at very normal rates without much haggling - the taxi drivers outside charge more.

Food was average - breakfast was very minimal. But we were fine with this as the place is evry centrally located and everything is at a walking distance.

Room Tip: Gatotkaca has the most beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoidaDeepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Wanted to experience this one for a change. Staff unhelpful, room small and very average. Arrived around 7pm so dropped everything and went next door to Lotus Cafe for something to eat and drink. Only away for 40 minutes and came back to find our door open. I am very particular about locking our room. Someone had opened the room, fiddled about with our stuff and turned the air con off. Staff blamed us and said we left the door open. Then they came back with a group of Javanese women who apologized saying they thought it was their room. What a dreadful shambles. We were devastated that this could happen. Very bad experience.

Room Tip: Don"t know as we hi tailed out of there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trippingtobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were placed in the Arjuna room at the rear of the complex. We found our room left open twice during our stay (afternoon and evening).

1. The male staff harass you to book tours, spa treatments and transport relentlessly: over breakfast (yes they stand there and stare at you) and on your arrival

2. The room we had was not able to be locked. The window had no lock at all and could easily be opened from the outside. The door is only "lockable" via padlock when you leave through worn old door handles: when you're in the room you have to use a plank of wood through a contraption at the rear of the door.

3. Sheets, Towels - are threadbare, with holes and tears.

4. Old blankets are horrible.

By day 2 both travelers had broken out in a rash from what we can only deduce was dust mites due to the lack of cleanliness in the room - the floors were mopped daily, that was about it. Dust centimeters high on the curtain rail and cupboards.

EXTREMELY OVERPRICED at $85USD a night: you can stay elsewhere nicer, cleaner and cheaper: try around Hanomen Rd.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'Arjuna' room at the rear of the complex at all costs! STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serenity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

i got abeautiful room upstairs over looking the fire dance area, saving all 8 of us money, just like royalty and my friends got a wall for a view,
clean pool nice food, clean rooms, friendly staff ,, the dog is chained through the day but hecto runs free with his puppys at night when i was there, they also have a awesome orchid display near reception, accomodated our friend with only one leg, we will be back ,, only a short walk to nice restaurants big market and dirty duck were the rolling stones ate ,,, pics of mick and co on the wall .. just like fawlty towers superb food,

Room Tip: ask for one over looking the water palac upstairs .. stairs are steep and a bit dodgy after a few dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Puri is way overpriced for what it is. Yes it is in the Palace grounds but the bathroom was dirty and smelled mouldy. It is very noisy as there is a dance on next door every night. The worst thing is to have to walk past the Royal dog, a beautiful labrador, that is kept chained up in a cage except for a brief walk each day. He looks so depressed, is flea ridden and sleeps on a hard stone floor that is wet most of the time. He needs a good bath, a bed to sleep on and to be free to run around. Sad state for a good family.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back and don't pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I last reviewed Puri Saraswati in 2008. I gave them the highest ratings at the time, my how four years changes things.

My wife, 3 children and I stayed in the same room as last time (the Kunti/Dharma twin rooms) and they were in pretty average shape. Cracked tiles, stained bed covers and generally run down. The staff at front desk were very pleasant, however a few staff seemed to really begrudge being at work the night we stayed.

A shame, because it really has beautiful gardens, wonderful location (it'd be hard to get more central, and there are performances every night only metres away at Lotus Pond) and a great vibe about the place. I do hope that with a bit of work, Puri comes back to the same standard we expected from last time.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back, away from street noise, and less foot traffic out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miles_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#117 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#98 of 199 in Ubud
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#151 of 199 in Ubud
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rouge Bali - Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Saraswati Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Saraswati Bungalows

Address: Main Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $48 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Saraswati Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Puri Saraswati Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Puri Saraswati Hotel
Puri Saraswati Ubud
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing