We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Everything comes together, perfect symphony.
One of theh major and best things is the attention to details.
Highly recommended. Also amazing are the rice fields. To ubud there is a shuttle bus or you can rent a
Motor bike and to some sight seeing. The motor bike is the best solution. Enjoy!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Manumadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    201
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
384
36
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have one word for the staff and management at Junjungan Ubud - AWESOME.

We were a group of 2 families with very young children and the staff made our stay as pleasant as was possible.
The rooms were HUUUGE, the view was beautifull, the aromatic oils helped keep insects away, the FOOD was amazing.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and considerate.
We were to arrive by a late flight from Singapore, and on calling the hotel enroute, the reception advised us on their own to pre-order the food as the kitchen closed at 10pm.
When we reached the hotel, all famished and tired, we were immediately served hot dinner, even though the kitchen staff had left.

I wish them all the best and i hope that in my next trips to Bali i stay with them again.

Room Tip: Savah 5 has a huge Double Queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HemangMeher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

One should never stay at Junjungan Hotel and Spa for this most obvious reason: Once you stay there, you will feel like the rest of the hotels that you stay at in future pale in comparison. Your conversations will always revolve around "Remember those days we spent at Junjungan..."

1) Location
This place isn't located in Central Ubud. It's quite a distance from there. But no worries, because there is a free shuttle service anytime you want it (from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m.). The shuttle service can drop you anywhere in Ubud- they provide a map and as long as the place you want to go to falls within that area, they can drop you there. Whatever time you want to get back, just let them know and they will pick you up at three convenient locations. The shuttle service takes around 10-15 minutes to reach central Ubud to the hotel, so it doesn't take much of your time away from exploring Ubud.

2) Room
There were only a few rooms located in this beautiful property. The rooms were spacious, lighting was a little dark though. Bed was comfortable. They have this area where you can use to enjoy your afternoon tea. Free afternoon tea from 3-6 p.m. There was a big bathtub, towels etc. provided.

You wake up to rice fields- now that is something you can't find everywhere. We spent mornings watching some ducks waddle across the fields and spent the nights looking up at stars in the night sky and fireflies darting across the dark rice fields. Complete with the faint croaking of frogs as it accompanies you into dreamland.

Cable channels available. There was also a range of blu-rays for you to choose from- Eat, Pray, Love was there on the list given that Elizabeth Gilbert spent some time in Ubud.

3) Food
The first day we arrived here, we were served free tea time which consisted of banana coated with a deep fried batter. It was then drizzled with chocolate sauce.

We spent our first night having dinner in the hotel restaurant because we were too tired to venture out. When we first arrived at the restaurant for dinner, we were the only diners and wondered, "Oops, is the food here bad such that no one's here?" Our worries were unfounded because the food here was decent. We had this entire place to ourself for quite some time and it felt like we had a private dining experience.

The Nasi Goreng Seafood (around Sin$4) was decent- distinct rice grains, not too oily with some prawns and fish.

For breakfast, you have to order a day in advance so that they can prepare it and serve it when you want it. Breakfast comes with a variety of fruits, hot chocolate/coffee/tea and a main course.

Food was okay, they probably don't do their Western fare as well as their local fare. But it was good enough in any case.

4) Amenities
They have a small swimming pool, not big enough for you to swim but probably for you to spend your afternoon lazing around.

The thing I like about this place is that they provide bicycles for free and the bicycles are in pretty good condition. We took the bicycles to ride around the place in the morning and it was a good way to start the day. Some slopes around so it can be a little tiring to pedal up these slopes.

Only downside was that wifi was a little spotty.

5) Service
Finally, the part I want to rave about.

Their service has spoilt me rotten and I give full them full marks for their service. Everyone here is polite and friendly. They even remember your name and greet you when they see you. But above that, they go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one.

When we reached this place, it was past 6 p.m. That means that tea time was over. But in any case, one of them arranged for the banana fritters to be served to us even though they didn't need to.

When we were going to trek Mount Batur the next morning and told them we weren't having breakfast, they offered to pack breakfast consisting of assorted bread just so that we wouldn't be hungry. We had to leave the hotel at 2:30 a.m. Guess what they said, with a smile, "No problem." And indeed before we left, their staff were standing there, ready with our packed boxes.

Two thumbs up for the wonderful staff here!

6) Price
For all that wonderful things above, how much did we spend a night? Sin$130 a night. Now, how's that for a fantastic deal?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank limericklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Staying at Junjungan Ubud has completely spoilt any hotel I may stay in after this. It's a beautiful oasis with warm, friendly and attentive service.
Taking each aspect:
Ambience - It's beautiful and quiet. Very calm and a perfect place to relax.
Location - While it is located about 10 mins (by car) away from central Ubud, they have a fantastic shuttle service that will drop you to any place in Ubud and will pick you up until 10 pm from three central spots.
Cleanliness - VERY clean. No complaints at all.
Staff - Helpful, friendly, always greeted you by name and with a smile. They helped us organise our days in Ubud and plan our journeys.
Food - FANTASTIC restaurant. We were very surprised that some of the best food in Ubud were at the hotel's restaurant (do try the gindara). The breakfast pancakes were scrumptious. The complimentary afternoon tea and cake are worth staying in for.
Spa - We tried many different spas in Indonesia. This wasn't the best in terms of cost etc, it was still very good.
Wifi - A bit patchy, but pretty good for Indonesia.
Value for money - Absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Studio 3 - was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnwK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great getaway.

A typically day in Junjungan means biking around the village in the morning, free and flexi shuttles to and fro Ubud Town for the day, nice breakfast and afternoon tea, lovely chats with the staff and fellow guests, and finally, a game or two on the PS3 for my son into the evening.

Musgi and the Jun team really work to make the place comfortable and relaxing for the guests. If there is a problem, it is probably the wifi connectivity which is really poor. Given that the cable-connect is good, this is probably something they can easily rectify.

This truly marks the highlights of my family's fourth time in Bali (and the first since 7 years ago). Bali has changes significantly since then and it is wonderful to see the Balinese people again. Trust that they will continue to evolve wonderfully into the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinvinceng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed there in June 14 and ist was our best hotel (from 6) in bali and gillis. The service, spa, food and atmosphere was quite nice, familiar and very helpful. It is 10 minutes away from the city but they drive there for free w
whenever you want. The Strawberry, pinapple Pancakes where very delicious.
Thanks for the Stay, Florian and Janina

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

It was a great experience, very friendly and helpful staff, good location, nice hotel. Although it's not in the city center, their shuttle service (until 10pm) is great, you just call them and get picked up in 20 minutes. The room was very nice with a great view on the rice fields. The only problem was that it was a bit loud in the morning, but otherwise it was excellent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank laszlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#19 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
2.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#23 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
2.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Property: Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing