We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay in Ubud”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was a little worried that this place was a little out of Ubud, but I shouldn't have worried. I can't imagine that there is a better place to stay. The staff are so friendly, you can be driven into or back from Ubud at any time of day, the breakfasts and food in general is amazing.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    217
    27
    6
    0
See reviews for
130
453
45
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012. Superb Boutique Hotel in Ubud. Definitely recommended for those who are looking for luxury bed and breakfast like I had before also in Lovina (Bali Paradise Hotel)-highly recommendet when you planning to go to Lovina). Wide breakfast selection with excellent hospitality from the staff.
Very clean place with nice amenities !
Shops and restaurants are within walking distance - will be definately one day back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franzen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

On driving up to the property, I was a little worried - perhaps the website photos created a different vision in my mind... A place a little more off the road and more of a high view perspective over the rice paddies... I really only glanced at the photos... But it has been a wonderful experience... The buidling is very nice (doing some upgrade work on the facade which will be great...)... Rooms are attractive and have a rustic, local feel... The staff are truly wonderful... From Siwi at the front to the team in the restaurant - they smile so hard it must hurt and they are so sweet and helpful... Just amazing... English is fairly good on all fronts - but be carful if you are trying to communicate complex situations; I see tourists get all bent out of shape here in Bali when its clear that there is a communication breakdown, not that the people forgot something or are trying to rip you off... The pool is a nice asset, they brought us iced teas! It's a ways out of Ubud but the shuttles take you in and pick you up whenever you want - there were no problems... They have free bikes, but the roads are pretty hairy for bike riding so we passed... Food is pretty decent, and the breakfasts were very good - we ate here many times and it was just fine - Bali home cooking... Many nice touches like free afternoon tea... Very good prices in the spa - 90 min massage for $20...! No complaints!

Room Tip: We were in Room 4 which had 2 twins (which they put together to create one giant ultra king Elvis be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is one of life's little gems. Its located outside of the Ubud frenzy, but the on-demand complimentary shuttle bus provided by the hotel means the journey to and from the town is easy & trouble-free. The rooms are great - large and airy with great views over the adjacent paddy fields. The bathroom too is large - it has to be to accommodate the huge bath tub! But as other have commented, it is the staff that really make the difference at this hotel, they are so warm and welcoming, nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

There are two things that can be first said about this hotel.
- The staff are extremely kind and helpful.
- It is really far away from Ubud center. It takes 10-15 min. driving.

But, they provide a free shuttle whenever you want until 10 pm. When you are in the town, you just call them and they come to pick you up in 15 min. wherever you are. At first, we were worried about the hotel being far away from the town but it worked quiet efficient and it did not bother us.

The room was nice and pretty. It was clean enough and large enough having a balcony looking to rice fields at the back side.

So, the question is whether you want to be just in the center of Ubud or it does not bother you to be dependent on someone to go to your hotel. As I said, it works though.

We used the hotel's car to go to the airport as well. They offered us to charge 200,000.- Ind. Rp. for it. The "taxi sign holding" men in the town were asking the same price roughly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okutuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Junjungan in 1 week, we left it yesterday and miss it already!
From day 1, we felt so welcome, the staff is top professional and made us feel like something special! They know the names of all their guests, and you are greeted with a warm smile all day long, and just so helpful at any time! Especially Siwi who works at the front desk, and Musgi as waiters in the restaurant, they are amazing and sweet as honey :-)
We booked their 1 bedroom studio, which is really beautiful and big, with separate living room, it has a balcony with over rice field, and a big and nice bathroom, with a bathtub so large that you can take a swim in it ;-)
On my daughter's birthday, she turned 11 years, they came at our door surprising her birthday song, a red rose, cake with a little candle on top, and 3 angels made out of wood in a box wrapped in gift paper! SOOO nice touch, I almost got tears in my eyes!
Everything was just amazing, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting Ubud, and need a quiet place to stay away from all the busy city center!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bellasmama4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here 1 night on my own and 1 night with a friend and I wish I could have stayed longer,
Location is a bit far out of central Ubud but most definitely worth it - overlooking rice paddies out in the countryside and the free shuttle bus service takes only minutes to get into town. Extremely helpful and friendly staff - helped us to get ferry tickets for Gili when all the companies we could find had already been fully booked. Food was excellent and very competetively price with restaurants in town. Definitely worth a stay if you find yourself in Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
2.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
4.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 198 in Ubud
276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 198 in Ubud
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Property: Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing