We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly honeymoon”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #9 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Heavenly honeymoon”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

From the driver, margi, picking us up at the airport with the biggest smile on his face to the friendly staff at the front desk and the restaurant, to the most helpful owners (thanks Margaret), we couldn't have picked a better location to start our honeymoon. We stayed at one of the deluxe pool villas with amazing views and great amenities and 24 hour service. You can't go wrong with this choice of hotel. They have an amazing chef and a great menu to eat in at the cascades restaurant, thanks to Nick, their head chef...we're a very picky couple and love our luxury and this hotel certainly met our every expectation. Thanks Viceroy Ubud...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SamiMuna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    88
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
106
745
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

There are some places you stay that bring tears to your eyes when it is time to leave. The Viceroy in Ubud is one of those places. In our short two night stay we already felt like we had become part of the Viceroy family. We were swept away on arrival by the friendly staff with a beautiful lai of frangipani's and rose petals and a yummy ice tea. Immediately you know you have arrived somewhere very special. The view from the area around the infinity pool is simply breathtaking. This area of Ubud gives a feeling of quiet like no where else. The rooms here are so spacious and comfortable. My two boys were very excited to see their very own plunge pool and were quite taken away by the size of the shower! Sleeping a family of four can be testing at some hotels, usually they will only allow three in a room. But the reception staff here were more than accommodating. They provided a spare bed and the king size bed was roomy enough for my 9 year old son to squeeze in. (there is also a large comfy lounge) Although I could have stayed here for a length of time with my husband, two nights was plenty with two boisterous boys. Although they absolutely loved it, The Viceroy is more of a honey mooner's location. The Viceroy is the kind of place you want to share with all your loved ones. It is an experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully located in the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed there six days and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!
The rooms were very big, very private and romantic. We both had the best sleep at Viceroy! Loved the sheets so much that we even tried finding the exact kind in the shops in town, but no luck

Where does one start with the food. The food was out of this world! We loved getting up each morning to have our breakfast. We loved how it was not a buffet and how it was very fresh and that we could order as much as we wanted. My partner loved the bacon and said it was the best bacon he had ever had. I loved the rice pudding because it reminded me of my Nan’s rice pudding which she was very good at. Each dish at Viceroy I found took me to back to fond memories.

Everything about the hotel was perfect but what made the hotel special for us was the staff. They were always very friendly and helpful! Everyone there was always smiling and polite. We had two drivers who took turns taking us to town and they were very very good drivers and people. (Nova) thank you so much for making our trip to Lovina very smooth. The hotel can arrange their cars to collect you from a place to their hotel or from their hotel to your next destination. We did that both ways and would definitely recommend it as you are collected in royalty style and welcomed the same way.

Thank you everyone at Viceroy for making our trip to Bali so magical and unforgettable.

Chris and Bohenia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohenia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I had the fortunate pleasure of accompanying my daughther on a travel-writing trip to Bali that included a 3 night stay at the Viceroy, Ubud.
The 5 star resort was luxurious to say the least. Our villa with private infinity pool lacked for nothing and overlooked the jungled valley, emphasizing the peace and tranquility of the surrounding area.
The Cascades restaurant was a gourmet's heaven and the adjoining spa, complete with a 2 hour treatment left us feeling completely relaxed and wanting to stay there forever.
The service from the staff was friendly, welcoming and first class.
I look forward to returning here someday.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sandyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We wanted something special for our recent Bali vacation as it was our anniversary and this was the place to give it to us. We were pampered when we wanted to be and left alone when we wanted to be. The garden villa was great, we both loved the gardens. The Viceroy Bar was also very nice, with a great selection of beverages as well as a great view. Cascades restaurant was also good. We really enjoyed our stay here and will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Viceroy for our honeymoon in November 2012. The grounds of the property were absolutely beautiful, everything was made of marble. The villa we stayed in was gorgeous and our balcony had the floating gazebo above the private pool. The views from the balcony was the jungle and it was stunning, you can hear birds and monkeys playing in the trees. Breakfast buffet was very good. Hotel was very quiet and we hardly saw the other guests. Price wise however, we felt it was a little overpriced, especially since we saw how far the US dollar can really go in bali. The center of the city was probably a 10 min cab ride from the hotel. I recommend renting a scooter in the city and checking out the sites in ubud!

Room Tip: Get the villa with the floating gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank am33dandy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our honeymoon at the Viceroy Bali in Ubud. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout our stay, with good attention to detail. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a larger apartment, which was such a lovely surprise. It was luxurious, with its own pool and pagoda, kind size bed and spacious living space (you are not overlooked at all). The hotel itself has fantastic views across the forest and a very attractive infinity pool. We enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel and all food was up to a high standard. We did wish, however that there were more Balinese dishes on the dinner menu (although it was clear that the restaurant was predominantly French). We enjoyed a special night at the hotel which showcased Balinese dancers and a great menu, which was a highlight.

Other highlights included a free shuttle service to and from Ubud (a great cultural town with lots of restaurants and craft shops), free bike hire so that we could explore rural Ubud from the hotel (got lots of great photos of the paddy fields, etc), petal bath on our last night and the cocktails (Lychee Martini was a favourite). We couldn't recommend this hotel enough to you if you are looking for a luxurious honeymoon with an exclusive feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
251 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 196 in Ubud
1,899 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Property: Viceroy Bali
Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing