We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed there six days and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!
The rooms were very big, very private and romantic. We both had the best sleep at Viceroy! Loved the sheets so much that we even tried finding the exact kind in the shops in town, but no luck

Where does one start with the food. The food was out of this world! We loved getting up each morning to have our breakfast. We loved how it was not a buffet and how it was very fresh and that we could order as much as we wanted. My partner loved the bacon and said it was the best bacon he had ever had. I loved the rice pudding because it reminded me of my Nan’s rice pudding which she was very good at. Each dish at Viceroy I found took me to back to fond memories.

Everything about the hotel was perfect but what made the hotel special for us was the staff. They were always very friendly and helpful! Everyone there was always smiling and polite. We had two drivers who took turns taking us to town and they were very very good drivers and people. (Nova) thank you so much for making our trip to Lovina very smooth. The hotel can arrange their cars to collect you from a place to their hotel or from their hotel to your next destination. We did that both ways and would definitely recommend it as you are collected in royalty style and welcomed the same way.

Thank you everyone at Viceroy for making our trip to Bali so magical and unforgettable.

Chris and Bohenia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohenia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    81
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
98
674
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I had the fortunate pleasure of accompanying my daughther on a travel-writing trip to Bali that included a 3 night stay at the Viceroy, Ubud.
The 5 star resort was luxurious to say the least. Our villa with private infinity pool lacked for nothing and overlooked the jungled valley, emphasizing the peace and tranquility of the surrounding area.
The Cascades restaurant was a gourmet's heaven and the adjoining spa, complete with a 2 hour treatment left us feeling completely relaxed and wanting to stay there forever.
The service from the staff was friendly, welcoming and first class.
I look forward to returning here someday.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sandyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We wanted something special for our recent Bali vacation as it was our anniversary and this was the place to give it to us. We were pampered when we wanted to be and left alone when we wanted to be. The garden villa was great, we both loved the gardens. The Viceroy Bar was also very nice, with a great selection of beverages as well as a great view. Cascades restaurant was also good. We really enjoyed our stay here and will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Viceroy for our honeymoon in November 2012. The grounds of the property were absolutely beautiful, everything was made of marble. The villa we stayed in was gorgeous and our balcony had the floating gazebo above the private pool. The views from the balcony was the jungle and it was stunning, you can hear birds and monkeys playing in the trees. Breakfast buffet was very good. Hotel was very quiet and we hardly saw the other guests. Price wise however, we felt it was a little overpriced, especially since we saw how far the US dollar can really go in bali. The center of the city was probably a 10 min cab ride from the hotel. I recommend renting a scooter in the city and checking out the sites in ubud!

Room Tip: Get the villa with the floating gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank am33dandy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our honeymoon at the Viceroy Bali in Ubud. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout our stay, with good attention to detail. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a larger apartment, which was such a lovely surprise. It was luxurious, with its own pool and pagoda, kind size bed and spacious living space (you are not overlooked at all). The hotel itself has fantastic views across the forest and a very attractive infinity pool. We enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel and all food was up to a high standard. We did wish, however that there were more Balinese dishes on the dinner menu (although it was clear that the restaurant was predominantly French). We enjoyed a special night at the hotel which showcased Balinese dancers and a great menu, which was a highlight.

Other highlights included a free shuttle service to and from Ubud (a great cultural town with lots of restaurants and craft shops), free bike hire so that we could explore rural Ubud from the hotel (got lots of great photos of the paddy fields, etc), petal bath on our last night and the cocktails (Lychee Martini was a favourite). We couldn't recommend this hotel enough to you if you are looking for a luxurious honeymoon with an exclusive feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I feel a bit bad not giving the guys at The Viceroy 5 stars but I've just seen the bill on my Amex.

Fantastic hotel that you could just never leave. The restaurant was fantastic and the chef superb - coming to see us at the end of our meal and asking if there was anything in particular we would like to eat could we let them know in the morning. The breakfasts were great. The staff were lovely and the custom tour was superb.

It was bloody expensive though!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDougster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

where to start …

My wife and I wasted 2 precious night at this overrated hotel.

We arrived at the hotel after a night at Kayu Manis Private villas in Nusa Dua, where we enjoyed and pampered by Kayu Manis's hospitality.

We arrived at the lobby of Viceroy Hotel with the hotel's shuttle, we proceed to the reception, BUT , the first words I received upon my check in was : ' How can i help you?'

Well, we came with your hotel's shuttle to your hotel lobby and the lady receptionist asked me , how can i help you? Well, should i reply her that we came for a job interview ? or should I tell her to rephrase her welcome note to at least : ' Welcome to Viceroy, Mr …'

Luckily the front desk manager, Mr Puca ( if i m not mistaken) was really helpful, in fact , he is the only well trained personal in this overrated 5 stars hotel. He greeted us and we checked into over villa with a little delay.

THE SPA, We took a 2 hours spa treatment, one hour is complimentary from over room package. Base on their website description, this is a world class , out door spa where you could enjoy your treatment open air. Don't worry my friends, if you use the spa you will never enjoy that privilege at all. Indeed , the therapistS, only 2 of them, never even smile during the 2 hours treatment. I m from malaysia , I could understand what they are chatting during our treatment, basically , they are discussing how to charged us for the treatment. I mean, we spend so much money to enjoy our treatment , and what their need to do is concentrate on our treatment and we will pay whatever we should pay, thats is not need to discuss the payment during the treatment, We felt like they frighten that we will not pay them after the treatment.

The treatment is indoor, even though the spa is empty, no other customer, no open air spa treatment. The hotel provides complimentary jacuzzi and sauna, which located within the spa, but you need to make an appointment to use the facilities if they is no other customer using the spa for treatment. To make it short, bad attitude of the staffs and bad treatment, the treatments are costly but you can find better spa in ubud town area which only costed usd 10.

The restaurant, pricey but the food tasted like a fast food restaurant. But I have to say, I did complained the standard of the food to the restaurant manager, a gentlemen from France. He accepts my complain and did deducted the main course of my wife from the final bill, which is a reasonable touch as the food is really terrible. The service, is bad compared with other same standard restaurant. the staffs are not well trained besides a young man Mr Agong.

In Kayu Manis private villas and spa Nusa Dua, all the staffs know your name, including the cleaner, wherever they meet them , they know your name .In viceroy, is completely opposite, 95% of they staff don't know your name, what they knows is smile at you. I mean you have less then 30 villas in your hotel. How hard to remember all your guests' name?

We booked a private tour guide which costed us 160 usd for 8 hours, they price is higher that other hotel i asked e.g. Nusa Dua/ Hanging tree . However , we took the price is fine if we could get a professional tour guide to introduce us around Bali.

On the morning of the tour, we found out that the tour guide is the driver of the hotel shuttle ! and with the hotel shuttle we will be having our tour. Ok , we can still accept that if the driver is professional enough, but the whole trip , what he did was driving the car ! We asked him to bring us to a shop where we could buy local foods as a present to our family. he brought us to a shop, we bought lots of local foods , but found when we reached home that the food are all expired or not in good condition. Bad bad arrangement by the hotel.

Lots more bad experiences during our stay in viceroy. I wished we werent there. The two night we spent there is bad if not horrible.

My opinion is that , they doesn't care about the service, everything there is about money money money. What they want is money, and money only. I don't think they care about review or return customers, their purpose is the to take whatever money they can from the guest.

In Nusa dua the breakfast in our villa is FOC( room rates is 400 USD pernight). in Viceroy they charged USD 5 'delivery fee' to have your breakfast at villa ( room rates is 750 USD). I mean why USD 5 ? I wouldn't be so upset if u charged me 40 USD, but why 5 USD ?

So why the service in Kayu Manis Nusa Dua is so much better then the service in Viceroy ?

My conclusion is Kayu Manis is managed by a chain hotel corporation , where as the viceroy is a family run 'overrated', 'badly manage' , '5 stars' hotel. I wonder anyone in the family have any experience or qualification in hotel management.

Maybe what they have is money , but without any common sense and management skills.

They only purpose to run the hotel is to earn money and not about service , definitely doesn't care about the guests experience in their hotel.

Unless you have plenty of cash to splash for nothing, try avoid this overrated hotel at all cost. they are plenty of hotel around, try Kayu Manis.

Lastly, do not get attracted by the hill side views of this hotel, it is nothing special, just trees and thats it, it doesn't worth a trip .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yeennung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
20.6 mi away
Jamahal Private Resort & SPA
1.6 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#5 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Property: Viceroy Bali
Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves French cuisine with an Asian twist and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing