We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do I start”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #9 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This ies a true 5 star if not 6. We stayed in viceroy 4 nights on our honeymoon. I suggest staying in the deluxe terrace rooms worth the extra money. On arrival had a minor problem that was taken care of imediadately by the owner of the hotel Otto and parka one of the managers, both of whom are great people and very friendly. This hotel has it 100 percent right you feel like royality, from the comfort of the rooms, to the service, to the view, everything is simply wonderful and worth every penny. I would come back to Bali just to stay in ubud and the viceroy. I read other reviews that said the rooms are dirty etc, but I saw none of that maybe those are the older rooms. Two things I would say is one the spa is good but not out of this world special and two the food is good in the restaurant but they should have more easing going food on the menu, everything the have on the menu now is fine dining. Would I suggest this place ? Most definetly, but as I said go for the deluxe terrace, those are the newest rooms. Thanks again to Otto, parka, and the whole wonderful staff for such an amazing time....

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank samoahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a wonderful location. We arrived late and were greeted with a room upgrade. Staff fully explained the resort, amenities, food availability and local attractions. Dining was amazing. Dinner menus were extensive and flexible. We were able to substitute other wines when we ordered dinners with wine pairings.

Staff was great. Location wonderful. Room with the pool was spacious and the Spa excellent

Room Tip: Deluxe Terrance with the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We choose Viceroy to celebrate our first anniversary & it was the perfect setting to enjoy a romantic vacation. We had a deluxe terrace room and it looked brand new. The bale over the pool & overlooking the jungle was a perfect place to relax or enjoy a meal. The food was terrific for both breakfast & dinner. The attention to detail was wonderful & we'll definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I recently traveled to Bali for 10 days and stayed at three resorts (Viceroy, Banyan Tree-Ungasan, and Club Intercontinental). The Viceroy was a very charming small resort with beautiful architecture. The room we stayed in was the deluxe terrace sweet. This room was very nice, however the daily room cleaning service failed to clean the shower during our entire stay. On the last day of our stay I went to go for a swim in the pool and luckily noticed that it was empty. I notified management and they worked on fixing it however it had not fully refilled prior to our departure. The restaurant is over rated and over priced compared to what you can find in Ubud. The breakfast that was included is limited and a little disappointing. I felt lucky that I had received and offer to stay 2 nights for the price on one (didn't feel like I got rob as bad). I have stayed in a number of SLH and this was the first time I have been disappointed. I will not stay here next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MikeHeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a very relaxing stay for 4 nights at the VIceroy. The staff were exceptionally helpful. Having recently found out that one of us needed to avoid gluten the restaurant manager and his staff were brilliant. Having let them know when we arrived i was furnished with gluten free slightly altered dishes at every meal. The food was excellent and the gluten free bread that they made was ok.
Although the hotel is out of the way there is a free car service back and forth between town which makes it easy to pop out to the shops or get a meal if you don't want to alwyas eat in the hotel.
Our villa was very clean and very spacious, we were slightly concerned after staying in a hotel before where each room had a private pool, but this one was very clean and pleasant.
We really felt looked after by the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_dr_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having spent 10 days at the fabulous Oberoi in Seminyak, the next part of our stay was 3 days at the Viceroy in Ubud.
Look if your looking for a very good hotel, in a beautiful area,with good service, large rooms and a heated plunge pool, then look no further, but do be aware that you can get the same for less than half of the US$625 per night you will pay here.
There are no luxury touches that one would have expected. Even though we were upgraded from a garden to terrace villa on an Amex deal, its still 50% overpriced( compared to other Ubud properties)
We stayed in Terrace villa 3
The light fittings are by IKEA, and the light fitting in the alcove in the shower was loose ( see pic), the shower splashes here, so was concerned about electric safety.

The balustrade around the pagoda ( short piece) was lose with a 50 ft drop onto concrete below.:- danger of death

The wc room comes complete with a bacteria growing toilet brush, most quality hotels removed these in the 90's, after studies showed the dangers of these ( maybe for $625 I was expected to clean my toilet) also in the wc room, housekeeping never cleaned behind the door, dirt and cobwebs built up. Dust on top of mirrors..housekeeping very poor.


The public wcs for the gents have a cubicle containing both wc and urinal, you cant use both at once, and when you use the wc it brings your nose down to the level of the acrid smells from the urinal;

A poor offering of tea in the room, one expects loose tea and teas bags, this was no better than a 3 star hotel in a city centre. there is no kettle, just a coffee maker that dispenses lukewarm water.

The skirting behind the desk and curtains was thick with dust see photo, not cleaned for weeks

The plunge pool was dirty at the bottom, lots of dirt in the corners

Outside furniture poorly maintained, in fact rotten, as brike when used

The main pool area, there is nowhere to put your clothes except the floor..most hotels provide something even if its just a shelf under the table.

Cascades restaurant, did however delight with its food, both for breakfast and evening meal, the restaurant manager always gave a warm welcome, and provided helpful local info. However they use a $3 door bell to call waiters when food is ready, which is really irritating ( a silent pager system is available for a few hundred $.
The view is poluted by the bright lights in the restaurant, they would do well to turn them off and just use the candles on the tables.

Breakfast was good food wise, but again cheap tea bags were served.

All in all not worth the money, for cheaper we could have stayed at the 4 seasons!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the most amazing places we have stayed. We stayed in a deluxe villa ( 22 ) . It is a very special place, it feels like you come home every time you leave it and go back. We stayed for a week , I would say it is one of the best . We have traveled a lot and we would say it is right up there. Please take the time and try this amazing resort.

Room Tip: Villa 22 is at the end and very private. Would definitely try and stay in this villa again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $483 - $993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing