We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel in Bali's cultural heartland-”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish boutique hotel in Bali's cultural heartland-”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Everything about the Viceroy is stylish! It is built on a ridge overlooking a river valley covered with rainforest, with glimpses of rice fields in the distance. There are many superlatives for this resort: friendly, attentive service; very good food; a genuine interest in the guests from management and staff.

The first impression is of the layout of the buildings on the site – the architecture and the decoration of the public spaces and the rooms are of a much higher standard than typically encountered throughout Asia.

The room we had was spacious, beautifully appointed and with its own private infinity-style swimming pool overlooking the river valley.

Cascades restaurant was excellent, with a wide range of European and Indonesian dishes.

The Viceroy is a smallish hotel with about 25 villas. Consequently, the staff seem to know every guest by name. All very helpful in recommending things to see in Ubud and the surrounding district.

The Viceroy is expensive but we felt they delivered the value that we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    87
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
104
728
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nothing short of spectacular - the beautiful grounds, the unbelievable views and the impeccable service make the Viceroy incomparable. My husband and I spent 4 days of our honeymoon here and it was heaven. Even at full occupancy, the experience is relaxing, quiet and romantic.

The only minor let-down was that on check-in we were promised 'something special' in our room the following day (as they were aware we were celebrating our honeymoon), but that appeared to have been forgotten. It's neither here nor there for us to have anything special done, but it's hard to ignore after it was promised and unfulfilled.

Breakfast at the hotel restaurant CasCades was included in our rate...and in a word: Wow! We also had dinner at CasCades on 2 nights as well and I have to say, they were by far the best meals we had in Bali. CasCades offers mainly French cuisine, with a few popular Indonesian options. My only recommendation here is that they perhaps vamp up the local menu. When in Rome....

Service was unobtrusive but totally attentive.

My husband was fighting off a throat and chest infection since we left Canada, and finally succumbed to getting on antibiotics. The hotel arranged for their on call doctor to arrive within 30 minutes (at around 8pm) - fast, efficient, and relatively inexpensive.

We also had the wonderful opportunity of meeting one of our favourite staff members at the Viceroy, Made Gama. Gama picked us up from our hotel in Seminyak, and we were struck with his kindness and respectful openness. We requested that he take us on a couple of customized tours and they were the highlight of our trip. He humbly shared so much about his homeland - and showed us several awe-inspiring spots that make Bali so unique. Thank you Gama; we're fortunate to have met you.

And thank you to all the Viceroy staff - we hope to see you all soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niklovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we were picked up from the airport we were treated like family! The level of professionalism paired with excellent personalization made our experience in Bali a dream come true. The fact that you have the option to have your personal driver to escort you around the island offered a sense of security you will need to explore the ends and out that Bali has to offer! When you book your stay ask for Katut the Driver...he is the best!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candise_Talley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited the Viceroy in June for 4 nights during our Honeymoon. It was an outstanding property and they provided many little touches to make our stay feel great: candle-lit dinner for two, rose petal path, and a complimentary couples massage were all included.

Room: We stayed in a deluxe terrace villa. The villa was very spacious and the private infinity pool overlooking the gorge was absolutely stunning. Our favorite feature though was probably the shower – definitely the biggest rain shower head we have ever had (would love one like that in our house some day!)

Service: 5-star service the whole way. Food service, turndown service, cleaning service, spa service – all of it was outstanding. But what we really appreciated was the guidance and advice of the staff when it came to booking activities. There is a TON to do in Ubud, and the staff at the front-desk was super helpful every night talking to us about potential things to do. And importantly, they were also always available with a buggy whenever our legs were too tired to make the walk back to the villa.

Food: Far and away the best resort food we had all week. Cascades was outstanding. We ate there every morning (breakfast is included) and also tried the high tea in the afternoon and dinner on a couple of occasions. Stephane the food & beverage manager is always nearby waiting with recommendations, and his advice was always appreciated! On our last night the wait staff set-up a private table for us near the pool deck and even put together a personalized menu for us. It was a nice touch and really made us feel special on our honeymoon. Even if you don’t stay at the Viceroy, we would definitely recommend stopping at Cascades for a meal.

Overall, Viceroy was an excellent choice for the honeymoon. The setting overlooking the gorge is outstanding, and the staff is top-notch. Really no complaints on the resort or the service.
Looking back on our trip, however, Ubud was the one part of Bali where we spent very little time in the actual resort. There was so much to see and do that we did not really spend time just lounging at the pool or taking advantage of other resort amenities. With that in mind, it may make sense while in Ubud to scale back on the accommodations and put that money toward resort upgrades on other parts of the island where you’ll actually spend time at the resort.

Room Tip: At the spa, request to have your massage outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed at the Viceroy twice and was even married on the grounds. It's the best place on the island.. It's such a private, relaxing and luxurious hotel..

I understand that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but for those who have given the viceroy anything less that a 5 star rating... well they are just wrong.

The whole hotel experience is flawless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petermclean25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We felt truly at home at Viceroy for five days on our honeymoon. This sets the benchmark very high for other hotels. The service - oh my god - truly fantastic. Stéphan and his staff made us feel like the only guests ever at the hotel.
We stayed at terrace villa no. 15, we recommend splurging on one of those.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamimiiceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is magnificent in every regard. We stayed four days in a deluxe garden villa and didn't want to leave. Cable TV, DVD player, iPod/iPhone connection boom box, wireless that works, a private pool, air conditioning, privacy, service that is always attentive to your every need. And the Cascades restaurant on site serving carefully prepared meals, and providing evening piano entertainment on certain nights. The food and beverage manager, Stephan, is so very nice and just sweet. The negative edge pool, spa, exercise room, all first class. Highly, highly recommended and we have traveled the world. This is our new standard of excellence. Thanks Stephan, Director Otto and each and every staff member for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the 21 villas. We peeked at many, stayed in a deluxe garden villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWTrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 196 in Ubud
1,120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#14 of 196 in Ubud
1,878 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 11 in Gianyar
234 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Property: Viceroy Bali
Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing