We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #8 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

After staying 4 nights in Samaya Seminyak, we were thinking to go to Samaya Ubud. Then in Small Luxury Hotel's web site I saw Viceroy and after checking comments in tripadvisor, we decided 4 nights in Viceroy and it was a very good decision. If I write here, like some others, " this is the best hotel in Ubud ", it will not be fair because I did not see the others. But it is not also fair this hotel is in 29th place in Ubud tripadvisor.! It has to be surely in first 3.

When you check in, you are welcomed with Balinese hospitality and till you leave you feel it. In every small corner in the villa or in the hotel you can also smell Balinese culture. Wood carving products, statues, all let you feel that you are in Bali. Also Perfect balance between privacy and nature.

Deluxe Terrace Villa's are simply wonderful. Very nice decorated, big enough and pool with a nice bale in front of jungle view is amazing. This is surely a hotel over 5 star standards.

Cascade restaurant is also very nice but menu is limited. It is hard to eat there everyday because of limited choices in menu. Of course it is also normal for a hotel with 21 villa only.

When I come to Bali again, no doubt I will stay another 4-5 days in Viceroy.

Room Tip: If you can get a villa from the first raw next to jungle, then you have nicer view. (you do not see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_go_my_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

I just had the most amazing stay at the Viceroy Bali in Ubud. My luxury villa had a beautiful refreshing pool and relaxing Bale with a stunning view of the tropical rain forest. So much room to spread out and relax in my own private retreat. Cascades restaurant is a must with the best Consomme I have had outside of Europe and OH the lamb chops are to die for :-) and then there's the wine list :-) The staff are so friendly and courteous. Lembah Spa has melting massages and devine facials. This was truly an experience I will never forget. Thank you Viceroy Bali, you are 10 Stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 84,060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Typically when going to Bali my expectation was beach, sand and sun... And exotic good food. When searching for a quiet place to finish on a PhD, I found the Viceroy.
The small 5* boutique Hotel is perched at the cliff of a ravine in the ravishing jungle forest just 10 min of Ubud. My terrace villa left nothing to my dreams, an own infinity pool, had it, a small gazebo hut on top of the pool for my academic needs, had it, a fridge filled of a choice selection (free of charge), had it, a shower & bath area of half room size (20m2) - had it, a huge bed super king size - had it! Not to speak of the marvellous Spa (checked in twice!) and the outstanding restaurant and bar called CasCades. A true dream in the green! I can recommend it to any honeymooners wishing to escape the huzzle and buzzle of Bali and enjoy the secluded-ness of an island in the jungle. So to say like Tarzan & Jane.... Just 5*

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldchina_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just 1 night of staying at this perfect hotel make a deep memory for us about our trip in Bali. Everything was perfect - caring staff, large and technically equipped room with pool and wonderful over-water pavilion, romantic restaurant with fine French cuisine. We enjoyed the jungle view from our villa and perfect massage at the Viceroy's Spa-center. Hotel also arrange for the guests free transfer to the center of Ubud and to the Monkey forest. Viceroy, we love you!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ania-dzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The deluxe terrace villa with private pool is very spacious and luxurious. The pool and villa overlooks beautiful green valley and it is very private and amazing to wake up to in the morning. I love the breakfast area, you can sit there and just enjoy the beautiful view. It is suitable for couples enjoying a romantic holiday or those traveling solo who wants some quiet and peace. Not recommended for kids as they don't have much facilities apart from the spa and area for yoga. What I like about the resort is that the staff is very friendly, top class service. The free shuttle to and fro Ubud town is a plus. The food served at Cascades is superbly amazing with generous portion and ingredients for western meals, but not so for local meals. If you want authentic local meals at less than half the price, you can have them in Ubud town. Would definitely come again !!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank RGhazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are looking forward to stay at Viceroy this summer for the third time within four years. After two visits I thought it might be time to look for another place in Ubud. Not because we where unhappy but just to experience something new - but at the same level. Well, after surfing for hours we decided we will stay at Viceroy again... Small hotel, personalized service, excellent food. Personally I think these kind of private held boutique hotels offer you as a guest a kind of environment chains will never be able to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having stayed at several hotels in Ubud and other parts of Bali, this is truly one of the best hotels I've ever experienced. The villas are fantastic and impeccably maintained, with every detail paid attention to. Each has a private pool and all the amenities you'd expect from a 5 star property. The food is amazing and all meals are served a la carte. If you prefer to use the main pool rather than spending the day in your villa, you will always find a spot there, too, even when the hotel is full. You can rent bikes as well as scooters to explore Ubud, or the hotel will provide transportation to and from the town center complimentary throughout the day. The entire resort is beautifully maintained and you feel like you're in a brand new hotel but with servcie levels you'd expect from an experienced, seasoned team of professionals. Definitely something I will recommend to family and friends!

Room Tip: All villas are beautiful, with the Deluxe Terrace Villas slightly newer and larger. You won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 198 in Ubud
1,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 198 in Ubud
1,062 reviews
1.1 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2 mi away
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $474 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing