We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to leave”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #9 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very hard to leave”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Viceroy for four nights. It was absolutely sublime, we had deluxe terrace villa 15 which had uninterrupted views of the forest and waterfalls at the bottoms of the gorge.

The room was stunning open plan with doors that opened to our private pool. We hardly left the hotel while we were there. Everything had been thought of and the amenities were superb. We spent most of our days reading and dipping into the pool, it was invredibly comfortable, peaceful and relaxing. The room comes with complementary soft drinks and water and we were never lacking for anything.

The breakfast was lovely, al la carte with a great selection of fruit, cereal, pastry and cooked breakfast. We also ate at the bar a few times for lunch and went to Cascades for dinner. The bar menu is limited but you are also able to order from the restaurant menu any time so the variety of food is very good.

The hotel includes a transport service to ubud we used it a few times and it was so nice to know you could go into the town and have a ride home at the time you expected. The drivers were incredibly friendly.

Overall the service was friendly and unobtrusive everything we asked for and sometimes didn't even have to ask for was done for us. Very thoughtful service.

Our stay was just fantastic and I highly recommend the Viceroy.

Room Tip: Deluxe terrace 15 was lovely, very private and not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Narelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    87
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
716
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The view from our villa overlooking the gorge and within view of the rice fields, was stunning! The layout of the villa, with it's indoor dipping pool and reclining bed was fabulous. The resort is perfectly laid out along the edge of the gorge and the outdoor infinity pool, very inviting on a hot day. Service, from the moment we were picked up to the moment we departed, was polite and courteous. Recommendations for dining and shopping were informative and accurate. The complimentary transport to Ubud was always available and on time. We also spent a wonderful afternoon at the spa being pampered. The facilities and services were most satisfying. Definitely a place to remember and return to.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the gorge give one a spectacular view. We would watch the monkey swinging fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A_regular_traveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The Viceroy is a bit pricey compared to other resorts in Ubud, but well worth the extra money. We chose this resort because it seemed to encompass everything that we were looking for. The resort is set in the beautiful countryside with the luxury of modern comforts and we were not bothered by any bugs at all, it is set in an immaculate clean well manicured environment. I was worried that the open bathroom would be covered in bugs, but it wasn't an issue.

We went for a walk to Kamandula resort next door and were so glad that we chose the Viceroy, they are worlds apart in terms of quality, luxury and overall ambience.

The hotel has a great shuttle service to and from Ubud centre, it's less than 10 minutes drive, and convenient to visit the lovely restaurants, explore the galleries etc. We booked a day tour with the hotel, and Gama, our driver and guide was very professional, friendly and knowledgable, I would definitely recommend him. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the breakfast a good spread, rooms very commodious and all made for a perfect hotel choice in Ubud, we will definitely be returning!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Myholidays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Yes, of course this place, I prefer the word "retreat", is expensive but how can you compare such a private and discreet sanctuary like this to anywhere else ? It is unique. We wanted to avoid the clamour of the beachside areas and The Viceroy gave us a chance to live for 2 blissful weeks in utter peace and quiet. We were never once disturbed by the cleaning team.We were left well alone and when we did need something a little motorised cart arrived within a couple of minutes. Many hotels in Perth could learn from the sincerity and good manners of the people who work there from the gardeners to the waiting staff in the restaurant or the charming reception staff. I can still see their calm, radiant faces as they tried their best to look after us. And how well they did.

What we were after was that elusive quality of peacefulness that few commercial hotels can provide. To be left well alone to enjoy the pool in our stunning villa overlooking the forest and to be looked after only when we needed it. Not an easy task but they succeeded completely. Joy !

Evening menu was not extensive but quite good and, at times, excellent. After 2 weeks you know it fairly well and we thought that it should have changed a little over that span with the addition of a few specials, maybe.

There is a strong and irresistible feeling of spirituality about this sanctuary. It is invigorating for the soul and would suit busy, overworked folk trying to get away from it all. All around you is nature and this place sits reverently in it and is not imposed on it.

The owners somehow manage to give you the feeling of being in a very Balinese setting but it is all very sophisticated underneath with very thoughtful touches in the rooms like water pouring through an elephant's trunk in the bath to the water fountain in the pool turning itself off automatically at around 8pm (although you can change this manually if you wish). The rooms have lovely high ceilings and they are beautifully air conditioned. Everything worked as it should. The owner was discreet and attentive and we felt welcome at all times.

Oliver and Lavinia from Perth WA















Breakfast was the highlight for us. The choice of goodies being overwheming sometimes and we would sit for a long time after the meal gazing quietly at the jungle across the valley where villagefolk were working away at their tough lives on the land.

Room Tip: If you choose a villa directly overlooking the jungle you should be ready for some monkey business !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband I spent 5 days at Viceroy, our first holiday away in a very long time. We could not have been any happier with our choice. The Garden Villa we had was immaculate, the privacy and comfort of the villa with its own pool was perfect, and the view across to the jungle amazing. The staff were outstanding, and really helped make our stay extremely pleasant and relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble, and any requests we had were met promptly. We enjoyed every delicious meal we had in the restaurant. We really enjoyed the peaceful and tranquil setting of the Viceroy, and the fact that it is tucked away. Perfect place to hide away from a busy life for a little while, and just relax and refresh the soul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I came here with my girlfriend and it was fabulous. Can I start by saying the best thing about this place is its staff. They are an absolute credit to this hotel. From the greeting by the lady on reception, to the gardeners going about their daily business, everyone gave us a very warm welcome. Conversation was cheery and English was impeccable. They can not be faulted. The hotel itself is amazing. The way that the rooms were crafted is probably the most unique I've seen for a while. A personal pool in every room is just to be seen. The hotel is bijoux but you get the feel that it is organically expanding. You can see where it started and how it has developed with new villas being built now which will be finished next year; and why not.
We ate mostly at the hotel and the food is nicely presented. I thought the evening menu was limited but considering there are only about 21 villas, they cater for their size. Breakfast was great (not buffet) and served to you as you overlook the beautiful scenery. If you order room service, the food comes really quickly and is served with care.
Hotel grounds are amazing and the ornate stone looks chiselled to perfection. My only concern (which is really nit-picking) is that I thought that the room felt slightly dated. Don't get me wrong, these are excellent rooms but have been well used/loved. We were in a garden villa and on consideration I should have plucked for a terrace villa as they get more sun as they are elevated higher so our room felt in the shadow (yes - I had room jealousy).

If I could use three words to highlight my experience it would be tranquil, service and warmth. Definitely go.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pieboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
675 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,857 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Viceroy Bali is a luxury villa complex just a few minutes from the main street in Ubud. It is perched on a jungle-draped hillside where your view from your villa and the restaurant is jungle with a few spots of rice fields, where you can watch the farmers at work while you eat breakfast. Monkeys were swinging from the trees outside our villa, birds and butterflies (and geckos) were everywhere. The only problem really with Viceroy is that Bali is flush with luxury villas now at half the price as Viceroy - many that are equally or more impressive. It's just overpriced compared to the market. That said, our week long stay here was lovely.

The villas are built on the hillside, so something to think about if you have mobility issues. We were at the closest villa to the restaurant, and still it was a bit of a hike up the hillside to get there. They can bring a golf cart to get you but that can take some time, and it can't go past the stairs, so prepare for some hiking.

LOCATION - There is nothing within walking distance of the villa, so you will take the free shuttle into Ubud, only a few minutes. The shuttle was easy to use, the vehicles were very nice, and the drivers were pleasant.

VILLAS - We were in a 1-BR terrace villa. It was lovely, well taken care of, with fantastic floor-to-ceiling windows that we put our desk up against so we could watch the monkeys swinging from the trees while we were working. There is an outdoor plunge pool and day bed - it is a plunge pool, really small, you won't be swimming - it's just there to cool you down. If it rains then it gets all muddy, but it only rained on our last day. The villa was pleasant and spacious, no complaints except they were stingy with the Nespresso coffee - only two per day. When we asked for more they gave us like 30, overflowing all over the table.

FOOD - I think we had everything on the menu during our week long stay. The overall concensus was bland, massively overpriced, tasteless, and quite ordinary - nothing was bad, just nothing was something to remember either. The menu is almost entirely Western with only a few Indonesian dishes that didn't taste Indonesian (had no taste). Well presented for sure, every dish had 5-star presentation, just the food itself was kind of 3-star. Plan to go out in Ubud for better food and way lower prices. Bridges in particular we had a great experience at. The wine is exorbitantly priced, as are the drinks - you don't realize how much they are until you venture out into Ubud, even at nice tourist restaurants, and see the prices everywhere else. Wine list was small, just a couple wines by the glass, which never changed, were expensive and not very good.

The staff in the restaurant were wonderful, so nice and pleasant, we looked forward to seeing them every day. There is great live piano music in the bar every other day, but it stops at 10:00 so make sure to eat dinner early if you want to enjoy it afterward. The bar staff are a lot of fun too. The view and atmosphere of the restaurant was lovely, just so bland and overpriced food.

BUSINESS - There is free wi-fi in the villas which was fast and worked well throughout our stay. A big enough desk we could both sit at it and be on the computer at the same time, overlooking the gorgeous valley. There are 2 computers for guest internet use and a conference room. A good place to stay if you have a bit of business to do as we did.

STAFF - To a tee, the staff was amazing - so friendly, so helpful, so personable, just made you feel warm and fuzzy inside all the time. The absolute best part about being at Viceroy. Front desk managers made you feel so welcome each and every day, and the restaurant staff were a joy. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day, the only thing I thought was weird is I had to close my own curtains every night. But I think they expect you'll take a plunge pool after dinner and they light up the patio.

We had endless frustration with only one thing - the timing of the housekeeping staff. At every other 5-star resort we've stayed at, the room is cleaned while you are at breakfast, turn down is done while you are at dinner, the housekeeping is invisible. Not here. They ring your doorbell every morning to try to come clean the room, even when the DND sign is up, you have to walk outside and up the stairs to tell them to come back when you're at breakfast. Same thing with turndown - ring the doorbell, can we do turndown? No! I'm still in the room! No matter how many times we would tell them it never changed. Very annoying. Even more annoying was that then we'd come back from breakfast and the room hadn't been cleaned yet, even when we specifically asked for a certain time, and we had to do it all over again at lunch and enjoy a dirty room all morning. Also odd was that we were there the whole week, the owner knew who we were, yet never once introduced himself. He talked to us a couple of times, but we just thought he was another guest. Strange for a 5-star place where the owner is present onsite.

These downsides definitely do not detract from the overall lovely experience we had at Viceroy, but after seeing the prices of other well-reviewed luxury villas in Bali, especially in light of the very expensive (for Bali) restaurant, it really is overpriced compared to the competition. Great place, fabulous time, wonderful staff made every day a joy. Just doesn't need to cost that much, needs to train the housekeeping, and work on the food a bit. Otherwise perfect!

Room Tip: Terrace Villa #1 has a great view down the jungle, very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
2.3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Property: Viceroy Bali
Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing