We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #9 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having recently returned from 7 wonderful nights at the Viceroy, it certainly lived up to it's name. From the pick up at the airport we were greeted by our driver, provided with cold towels and cold bottled water for the long drive to Ubud. Paying US$25.00 was indeed handy for express immigration to avoid the queues at the airport. Contact the hotel in advance and they will arrange this for you and it will be added to your bill upon checkout. You are greeted by a hotel representative and escorted through immigration, luggage is then collected for you and then you are escorted out of the terminal to your driver. The deluxe terrace villa was beautiful, clean and modern with all amenities provided including robes, slippers, i pod docking station, lilly coffee pods for the coffee machine, complimentary non alcoholic mini bar drinks and plenty of toiletries. I recommend staying in the lower section of the resort as the villas have uninterrupted views of the valley and jungle, but be prepared for a steep walk up the hill to access the resort's facilities. The outdoor area of the villa is of a good size for 2 people, featuring plunge pool, sunbaking lounge, outdoor tables and chairs. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served at Cascades Restaurant which has lovely views and you can also dine in your room if you wish. We ordered room service for dinner one evening and 20 minutes later our outdoor table was transformed into a restaurant dinner table with a white table cloth, cutlery and our dinner was promptly served and we felt like we were dining in a restaurant but with the added romance, views and privacy of our own space. The spa at the resort was excellent with trained staff providing wonderful massages. The petal bath in the day spa was just beautiful. The resort provides a complimentary drop off and pick up service at 2 locations in ubud throughout the day and come evening will drop you off at your destination and will return to pick you up at your chosen time. A small fee is charged if your destination is outside the designated ubud area. The service provided by the staff was exceptional, they made us feel very welcome and were quick to respond to any requests or questions we had. There is plenty to do and see in ubud from the day spas, exploring cafes and restaurants, visiting the monkey forest to venturing out of ubud to visit rice paddy fields. If you are looking to spoil yourself then I would certainly recommend the Viceoy, whilst not cheap it was certainly worth it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank augmar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    88
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
106
744
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The villas are modern and clean , the views are amazing with a pool overlooking the nature and you can have your privacy , the spa was excellent perfect for honeymooners .
The prices are very expensive !!! the restaurant is not that great , the food is average and expensive. You have to walk uphill to get to the reception and restaurant which is exhausting .

Room Tip: There are newer built rooms , make sure to get one of those .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghassan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Viceroy lived up to its name: regal, opulent, a bit colonial. In some ways it was a bit much for our style -- but we admit we really enjoyed it. Extraordinary (large!) villa, nice pool, simply magical views. The structure of the entry door to the villa was a bit treacherous and poorly designed-- an easy fix we hope they make! Easy to get in and out of town via their taxis; good food and nice people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

There are not many places where you find such a perfect balance between friendly service and perfect hotel infrastructure. The spacious villas offer all amenities you would expect. A private pool and terrace gives you the opportunity to relax very privately. We have never been in an Asian Hotel which was that clean and well maintained - a big praise to the owner family!
But the best thing of all is the kind and friendly service of the hotel crew. They are there to serve, literally! They want to make you happy with all their possibilities. Great! A lot of hotels can cut a slice out of this!
We can recommend it to everybody!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverDross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Viceroy is a stunning hotel in every sense of the word! We stayed for an idyllic 6 nights at the end of August as part of our Honeymoon trip to Bali. The hotel itself is very elegant, the scenery is breathtaking and our villa was exceptionally comfortable. It was however the staff that made our stay truly memorable. Everyone was so friendly, nothing was ever too much trouble. For us the Viceroy had the perfect blend of grand luxury without being ostentatious or impersonal. For anyone looking for a hotel that's a bit special in Ubud then the Viceroy is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Villa No.15 it was truly stunning and had beautiful views over the gorge, a Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRS_CLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The location is beautiful, in the middle of rice fields but coming from Uma Ubud, we found a great difference. Our room was a garden view, with a nice "indoor pool" and an XXL bed. Apart on this the impression on the room is that it is much older than its six years. Not surprising, if you see how the owner (an Austrian man) is heading around dressing like a sloppy tourist. Same impression from the breakfast, served with paper napkins (at 600 usd a night???). Service was good but not excellent and the restaurant quite slow, especially for the breakfast. First day we were told bread and croissant had finished and they could serve only toasted bread (AT 600 usd A NIGHT???). In theory there is a complimentary van driving in and out from Ubud at no charge but if the hotel is full you must be lucky to get a ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tennis1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Such a beautiful place! Such a good restaurant! Such a nice staff! Such a lovely room! Calm, luxury, kindliness! I recommend particularly this hotel in Ubud, very well centraly situated to go and visit Ubud or other spots around. Particularly for honeymooners or even friends or families in Bali. Thank you very much for their reception.

Room Tip: Wounderful room with garden or with terrace in front of the valley. The private swimming-pool is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pisur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,157 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
250 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Property: Viceroy Bali
Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing