We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden retreat.”
Review of Secret Garden Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Garden Ubud
Ranked #379 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Secret Garden Inn is a hidden treasure at the end of Anila Lane, a
quiet paved thoroughfare leading to the home stay from Jalan Hanuman.
This is a family run place with attractive rooms set further down from
the main house quarters. The gardens are shady and beautiful with many
small ponds with fish and fountains.It was very relaxing to hear the
water cascading and to look out from our tiled veranda to tropical
palms and pretty plants. There was a table and two chairs there and we
were supplied with a thermos of hot water and tea and coffee making
supplies.
Our room was spacious with a chest of drawers and mirror and a
wardrobe. There was one bedside table. The room did not have air
conditioning but an overhead fan. The bed was comfortable and had an
overhead canopy. I don't think it was a mosquito net as the cloth was
quite thick.]]The bathroom was large and definitely airy as it was
semi outdoors with a pebbled garden area.
Breakfast was very good -an omelet, fruit platter, jaffled toast and
butter and jam.
For the total price of $20.00 Australian for our accommodation we were
delighted.
The only thing to take note of is that there are mosquitoes at dusk and
as there are no screens it is a good idea to buy some mosquito coils.
We were very happy with our choice of accommodation for our overnight
trip to Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenelopeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Perfect for my purposes: quiet, tranquil, away from the bustle (10 minute walk to central Ubud), yet perfectly convenient, spacious, pretty, comfortable for living (rather than feeling limited in a hotel). Sri the woman on premises who helps the guests is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I felt so taken care of, and had a wonderful nights sleep. The very kind woman that was working at here while I stay took wonderful care of me and arranged all accommodations that I asked for help with. Would love to return. Low budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying at secret garden because of the modern balinese design of the spacious rooms, the green rice fields and the sweet quiet street Sri Dewari. It was a big plus that it was cleaned everyday, and great to have a kitchen. I didnt have a bike when i stayed there and the only issue would be that it takes about 10 min to get to center.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miasuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you would like to experience all that Ubud and the surrounding area has to offer then you can do no better than staying at Secret Garden. The private and tranquil surroundings allow you to journey into the tourist spots while also providing a secluded and comfortable retreat if you want to get away from it all. Our stay was the best we have ever had on Bali. The accommodation was simple, clean and extremely welcoming.
Maria - who owns and runs the property - is friendly and always on hand and will go out of her way to help you should you need anything.
I cannot recommend Secret Garden highly enough. It is a perfect base for every kind of visitor to Ubud.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a very peaceful holiday here.. It was a perfect escape from the noise of the world.. ;-) I could feel Bali in a different atmosphere because we usually stay in Kuta area but this one was a different AWESOME experinece !! and most of all, I love the bathroom ! Lol.. :-D

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora_192014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

i like the room with loft. it IS a secret garden. i like the stlyle as well. when i come up the loft, i felt like i found the place just for you. quiet, but very cozy. sleeping in the loft as high as coconut tree top was something. i like the style of the room as well.

in the room you have wifi for free.

they don't serve any meals but city center is not far..10-15 mins walk from this place, so it was not much of problem for me. i asked some meal from bali budda(organic restaurant)to deliver some food, they charged me for delivery 15000 rp.

semi-out-door bath room was nice as well.

(well, i see many ants and other insects in the room that didn't bother me much...)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaFransiska, Pemilik at Secret Garden Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for staying in Secret Garden, hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1.7 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
519 reviews
2.8 mi away
Secret Garden Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
1.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.6 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Ubud

Address: Jl. Sriwedari 63X, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $27 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encircled by coconut trees and rice fields, Secret Garden Ubud is where people go to experience a peaceful place surrounded by the serenity of nature and the active culture life in ubud. The environmentally friendly concept is represented by unique front wall design. This allows air to circulate freely and provides a cool breeze all the time that create a nice place to live which seamlessly gives way to the natural surroundings. Mezzanine style building provides sufficient space for couple yet ample room for privacy. A big open window from the bedroom upstairs permits the view to the lush trees below. Watching the sky changes color first thing in the morning will be an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Secret Garden Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing