We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful garden retreat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Garden Ubud
Ranked #156 of 435 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Hobart
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden retreat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Secret Garden Inn is a hidden treasure at the end of Anila Lane, a
quiet paved thoroughfare leading to the home stay from Jalan Hanuman.
This is a family run place with attractive rooms set further down from
the main house quarters. The gardens are shady and beautiful with many
small ponds with fish and fountains.It was very relaxing to hear the
water cascading and to look out from our tiled veranda to tropical
palms and pretty plants. There was a table and two chairs there and we
were supplied with a thermos of hot water and tea and coffee making
supplies.
Our room was spacious with a chest of drawers and mirror and a
wardrobe. There was one bedside table. The room did not have air
conditioning but an overhead fan. The bed was comfortable and had an
overhead canopy. I don't think it was a mosquito net as the cloth was
quite thick.]]The bathroom was large and definitely airy as it was
semi outdoors with a pebbled garden area.
Breakfast was very good -an omelet, fruit platter, jaffled toast and
butter and jam.
For the total price of $20.00 Australian for our accommodation we were
delighted.
The only thing to take note of is that there are mosquitoes at dusk and
as there are no screens it is a good idea to buy some mosquito coils.
We were very happy with our choice of accommodation for our overnight
trip to Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Perfect for my purposes: quiet, tranquil, away from the bustle (10 minute walk to central Ubud), yet perfectly convenient, spacious, pretty, comfortable for living (rather than feeling limited in a hotel). Sri the woman on premises who helps the guests is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I felt so taken care of, and had a wonderful nights sleep. The very kind woman that was working at here while I stay took wonderful care of me and arranged all accommodations that I asked for help with. Would love to return. Low budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying at secret garden because of the modern balinese design of the spacious rooms, the green rice fields and the sweet quiet street Sri Dewari. It was a big plus that it was cleaned everyday, and great to have a kitchen. I didnt have a bike when i stayed there and the only issue would be that it takes about 10 min to get to center.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miasuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you would like to experience all that Ubud and the surrounding area has to offer then you can do no better than staying at Secret Garden. The private and tranquil surroundings allow you to journey into the tourist spots while also providing a secluded and comfortable retreat if you want to get away from it all. Our stay was the best we have ever had on Bali. The accommodation was simple, clean and extremely welcoming.
Maria - who owns and runs the property - is friendly and always on hand and will go out of her way to help you should you need anything.
I cannot recommend Secret Garden highly enough. It is a perfect base for every kind of visitor to Ubud.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a very peaceful holiday here.. It was a perfect escape from the noise of the world.. ;-) I could feel Bali in a different atmosphere because we usually stay in Kuta area but this one was a different AWESOME experinece !! and most of all, I love the bathroom ! Lol.. :-D

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora_192014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setagaya, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

i like the room with loft. it IS a secret garden. i like the stlyle as well. when i come up the loft, i felt like i found the place just for you. quiet, but very cozy. sleeping in the loft as high as coconut tree top was something. i like the style of the room as well.

in the room you have wifi for free.

they don't serve any meals but city center is not far..10-15 mins walk from this place, so it was not much of problem for me. i asked some meal from bali budda(organic restaurant)to deliver some food, they charged me for delivery 15000 rp.

semi-out-door bath room was nice as well.

(well, i see many ants and other insects in the room that didn't bother me much...)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaFransiska, Pemilik at Secret Garden Ubud, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for staying in Secret Garden, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Bakung Ubud Resort and Villa
0.5 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#50 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Secret Garden Guest House
0.0 mi away
Pondok Taman Asri Homestay
0.0 mi away
Joglo Taman Sari
Joglo Taman Sari
#183 of 445 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Ubud

Property: Secret Garden Ubud
Address: Jl. Sriwedari 63X, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 435 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encircled by coconut trees and rice fields, Secret Garden Ubud is where people go to experience a peaceful place surrounded by the serenity of nature and the active culture life in ubud. The environmentally friendly concept is represented by unique front wall design. This allows air to circulate freely and provides a cool breeze all the time that create a nice place to live which seamlessly gives way to the natural surroundings. Mezzanine style building provides sufficient space for couple yet ample room for privacy. A big open window from the bedroom upstairs permits the view to the lush trees below. Watching the sky changes color first thing in the morning will be an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing