We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tunjung Mas Bungalows and Resort
Ranked #77 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

ROOM: The room is dark and depressing. The bathroom and sheets were dirty, the furniture was old, cheap and falling apart. And as if that's not disheartening enough, there was a rodent in my bathroom in the middle of the night.

STAFF: When I told the staff about the rodent, the guy shoved a towel in the vent hole where the rat came in through, and jokingly offered to spend the night with me. That made me even more uncomfortable as I was a single female traveling alone. Then I decided to find another hotel and the staff was more interested in making sure that I paid in full then they were in helping me to find suitable accommodations. Overall, I think the staff was inexperienced and definitely not service oriented.

VIEW: The advertisements said there was a view of the rice paddies. The view is of a construction site next door, with a tiny rice paddy on the side of the construction site.

Please do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. There are plenty of lovely clean and professionally run places in Ubud that are less expensive than this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susQnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    111
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
33
149
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienne, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I Booked a standard room on line 50$ a night which is a good price. Swimming pool is small and some of the furniture needs changing. Beautiful garden well maintained. The staff is very nice and the receptionists are very helpful. The only downside right now is that there is a big construction site next door, they start at around 715am so if you like a lie down look for somewhere else. The inconvenience is not as much if you stay in a bungalow.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jean-yves c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is just a short walk away from the busy business part of Ubud. The hotel is a wonderful retreat. The room was clean, cool and comfortable. The pool view was amazing. The staff was friendly and accommodating. There is currently construction going on next door, but it didn't bother us too much. The hotel staff was very apologitic about it. With the value and the comfort, I would definitely recommend this spot in Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, 3 nights in a Standard room and 2 nights in a Deluxe room. Definitely shell out a bit more money (US$15) for the Deluxe room which is much more spacious and comfortable. The Standard room is okay, but the bathroom is quite cramped. Suggest the hotel add some towel racks to free up the counter spaces. The mattresses are thick, springy and comfortable. We had very good sleep here. The breakfasts are very tasty with big glasses of fruit juices.

Location is good, 5-10 minutes walk to Monkey Forest Road where there are many shops and restaurants. About 40 minutes walk to Ubud Market with lots to see on the way.

Hotel staff is very helpful and efficient. On checkout, I expected to spend the usual 10-15 minutes waiting for the bill to be counted, but they had it ready for me.

Very nice hotel, will stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very spacious and comfortable, Room numbers 1,3,5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, booked online sight unseen, gotta good price around Au$40 a night.

Welcoming staff, fruit drink on arrival.
Got a standard room right down the back - room was a good size, reasonably new looking with some wear & tear, not grotty tho. Aircon & tv work well, however there are only Bahasa Indonesia channels, so brush up if you need your tv fix.
There is a bar fridge & kettle etc for tea & coffee, & a hair dryer, I never used them so can't comment on functionality.

The bathroom is separated from the rest of the room by a glass wall - I was on my own, but it might be somewhat disconcerting for others - there are curtains that can be pulled across if you don't want your room mate watching you on the toilet.
There is nowhere to hang any clothing, not even a hook anywhere. I just used the 2 chairs to drape things.

The pool is small but tidy, and welcome after a hot day out.
Breakfast needs to be ordered the night before, specifying the time you want it, & options are limited, no buffet.
Breakfast is the only meal available, you have to venture out for everything else, but there are several restaurants and a large supermarket within a 5 minute walk.

All in all, a nice tidy place.
HOWEVER, the construction of the 4 storey place next door is a problem now & in the future.
Now, because they start up the angle grinders at about 0730, if the noise doesn't get to you, the smell will. As they are just putting the frame up now, I expect building noise to be constant for the next few months at least.

In the future, because most of the rooms only have windows, or in my case, French doors, on that side. Once that building goes up, there will be no natural light coming in to any of the ground floor rooms, and the upstairs rooms will have light blocked out from this new building too.

Such a shame & no fault of the owners or staff here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinginnasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I were scheduled to stay here for the first part of our honeymoon for 5 nights but we only ended up staying for 1 night. We arrived late (2am) and the staff were waiting up for us which was lovely and we were shown to our rooms quickly given the time. However at 7am we were woken due to construction activity right outside our room. Under normal circumstances, we may have stayed but given it was our honeymoon we ended up leaving. The staff were very understanding though and even dropped us off to Tjampuhan resort which we ended up at.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We've stayed at this small hotel (called a bungalow) at least three times and every time it has been a great stay. The rooms are very large with great amenities, breakfast (either in your room or by reception) is enjoyable and large, and we especially love the pool. Our last visit was a short one, just one night on our way home, but it was quite wonderful to have a quiet, welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: Spend a little more on the "deluxe" rooms if you want to be on the second floor. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#106 of 198 in Ubud
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Nugraha Guest House 2
Nugraha Guest House 2
#77 of 541 in Ubud
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ubud View Bungalows
Ubud View Bungalows
#144 of 555 in Ubud
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arnawa Bungalow
Arnawa Bungalow
#53 of 541 in Ubud
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
#66 of 555 in Ubud
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunjung Mas Bungalows and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunjung Mas Bungalows and Resort

Property: Tunjung Mas Bungalows and Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Tanggayuda, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tunjung Mas Bungalows and Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunjung Mas Bungalows is ideal and a peaceful place to stay with your family in Ubud. Located in the middle of Ubud. Close to Yoga Barn, Coco supermarket, monkey forest, ect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunjung Mas Bungalows and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunjung Mas Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Tunjung Mas Bungalows And Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing