We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Tree Villas - Shana
Ranked #289 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here with a friend in August 2013. My friend had been to Ubud before and searched the many different homestays and b&b and eventually scouted out this gem. The location is brilliant on one of the nicest streets in Ubud. It is very central and easy walking distance from everything.

Mina, the owner, is lovely and speaks good English. She is always willing to help and offer tips about the best places to go as well as helping with booking and trips you may want to take.

The breakfast each morning offered good variety and was delicious with fresh fruit.

The room contained a single and a double bed as well as a shower room. I must admit the room was not the most modern I've stayed in but full of charm.

I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateEF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica m, Manager at Citrus Tree Villas - Shana, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to meeting you again.

Kind regards
Citrus Tree Villas Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Mina who is one of the owners of Shana is a lovely sweet lady who gives a heck of a massage for $80,000Rp.( I saw her 4x a week during my 7 wk stay in Ubud)
She speaks great English and arranged my transport to the airport, picked up fruit for me at the morning market and recommended where to get things are a good price.
The rooms are simple but clean. There is hot water and they are located on my favorite street in the center of town.
I felt like a part of the family here.

Room Tip: a central location on a quieter street surrounded by great restaurants and on site massage services...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We van definately recommend this lovely homestay with 4 bungalows. The location is great in a little street with tons of restaurants, boutiques and spas. The owners are lovely people willing to help you with everything you need, like transport or booking a tour. Also the hostess offers great balinees massages (Rp 60.000 for an hour). The room is simple but clean and the veranda with lazy chairs is a great 'living room' to hang around during the day/evening and for breakfast in the morning (choice of eggs and toast or banana pancakes. All by all very good value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty-vanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this place late at night after arriving in Ubud, we stayed for 4 nights and was sad to leave. The owners are very nice, friendly and helpful people. The rooms are a little dark and fairly basic but clean. There are no mozzie screens in windows although we found no problems with bites during our stay. Breakfast is included in the accommodation price and is served to you on your veranda which is a very nice touch. The external area is very nice and well kept and very peaceful especially considering you in the middle of Ubud.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalSal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Jalan Goutama's a little difficult to access as it's one way so look for signs to Bar Luna. Shana's just a little further in.
We stayed here on recommendation of a friend who came to Bali last year. We were not disappointed. The rooms are clean and airy but a little dark. We mentioned this upon leaving and they said they would rectify it The bathroom was spacious and clean. We didn't bother with the shower as we went kampung (village) style with a pail and bucket.
Nyoman Mina (the proprietress) is extremely obliging. The room (Rp100k) initially came without breakfast but she said yes after we asked the second time. Breakfast was tea/coffee/ginger tea+2 pieces of toast+eggs. They also have food for other meals but Warung Dewa's just a 2 minute walk down the road and we opted for that because we got a chance to meet fellow travellers and swap stories every night.
She lent us a pail to do our laundry and allowed us to use her washing line, keeping and folding our clothes when it threatened to rain. She also runs a little massage parlour at the front and gives the best massages (Rp50k for an hour). We go for regular massages and want someone who has enough strength to really get into those muscles. Also enjoyed her pedicure treatment. She has cheaper rooms on the property as well.
We loved the location as it was near food stalls and restaurants as well as the Ubud Market where we shopped for most of our Bali souvenirs. We really felt a part of the family rather than just guests as we got to know Nyoman and her family during our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emilie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Beste uitzicht op hogere verdieping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dieke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica m, Manager at Citrus Tree Villas - Shana, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.4 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
4 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
1.4 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Tree Villas - Shana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Tree Villas - Shana

Address: Jl. Gootama 15, Padang Tegal Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Citrus Tree Villas - Shana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away inside traditional Balinese walled neighborhood, this home stay is well signposted as you weave left and right through a labyrinth of family temples, houses filled with lively activity, artists studios, and an assortment of wandering friendly pets. IN YOUR ROOM Comfortable Rooms with en-suite facilities, air-conditioner. Garden Views. Fan in room, various bedding configuration - subject to availability., And linen provided. Daily room cleaning services included. The most perfect room for YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Citrus Tree Villas - Shana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Tree Villas - Shana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing