We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your little piece of paradise, just for you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Natura Resort and Spa
Ranked #110 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Your little piece of paradise, just for you!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to spend a week in Ubud with the family and we selected the Natura Resort. We took a deluxe villa with a private pool and couldn't have been happier. This is like being given your own little piece of paradise, there is a lovely view on the tropical forrest and some rice paddies on the distance but beyond the birds no one can peek at your room and the pool.

Very often the pictures you see from hotels are deceptive and you get disappointed. This is not the case here: I can attest that the official pictures are genuine, if this what you see is what you like, this is also what you'll get.

The staff, as all Balinese people, are super friendly and very accommodating.

There is one restaurant, with relatively limited choice of dishes but they are all excellent! Breakfast is "a la carte" as well but again excellent. It is not your typical 5-stars with buffet all day long but you will not regret eating there. We ordered there the famous smoked duck (slowly cooked for god knows how many hours) and it was just fantastic.

The hotel is relatively far from Ubud center but the hotel organise an hourly shuttle so you can get there easily and quickly. They are flexible enough to drop or pick you up along the way and not just at a fixed location at the center of Ubud.

A last note: although we went as family with a 8 years old kid, this is not really a place for very young kids, especially the deluxe room with pool: there is danger for small kid either to fall in the pool or fall from a wall at the end of the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    115
    38
    10
    16
See reviews for
65
243
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

There are only 14 villas, all quite big, at this resort complex guaranteeing unobtrusive service when needed. Located 10 mins towards east of Ubud town, shuttle service is provided to Ubud.

Villas 11 & 12 are front row pool villas. The second row has villas 8, 9,& 10; third row has 5, 6, & 7. Villas 1 to 4 sit at the highest part without the valley view. Villas 14 & 15 sit by themselves off to the side, but with the valley view.

We came in the off season. The price includes breakfast, a welcome drink, and a 10 min free massage pp. The spa and the lap pool are way down the valley for those athletically inclined. The reward is being close to nature with the view, smell, and sounds of the forest and river which is peaceful and relaxing. The lap pool may not be clean due to the tropical showers the end of rain season. Otherwise, the main pool is fine.

If you plan to stay in Ubud to relax only to venture out occasionally to your favourite restaurants in town, the restaurant and room service offer decent food for all tastes at low prices. In fact, it tasted quite good compared to the places we went to in Seminyak. It's as if the owners of the resort have emphasized the importance, and the staff has delivered well crafted gourmet meals with the freshest ingredients for continental and indonesian cuisines.

I am awed by the view, the Balinese people, the quality of the food, the price, and the size of the villa. Had a great time. Good that they mind about children's safety as well.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AvidTravellerHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manado, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Natura is nestled in the side of the mountain in the jungle and is truly beautiful. The staff were very friendly however we were basically told that the resort was too dangerous for our children because of the location and that we should keep them in our villa.

The reasons we booked Natura were the very reasons that unfortunately we will not return as it is just not worth paying extra money for services not delivered.

-The lap pool was unusable because if the poor water /cleanliness quality and located at the bottom of around 250 stairs.
- the pool in our villa was too cold to swim in.
-The 'satellite tv' had one English speaking channel.
- the kitchen had absolutely nothing in it! A stove and oven that didn't work. No utensils, crockery, not even a kettle!!!!
- there was no wifi in our villa.
-there was no sound system as quoted
-the spa and restaurant are very over priced and serve very warm beer.

This resort could be a luxury resort as it says it is, with some attention to detail and delivering what they offer. However we felt like we paid a lot of money for very little in return apart from a beautiful view and a friendly face. I know you can get this any where in bali for a lot less!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhi0273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Where do I start! I have been to Bali so many times I've lost count, and in the past couple of years I've been on the hunt for the perfect getaway in beautiful Ubud and finally I have found somewhere I can guarantee I will return to.

If you are looking for STUNNING views, friendly and helpful staff, great food, privacy and ultimate relaxation - Natura is the perfect place.

We arrived on the 16th January and only spend a couple of days - by the end of it we wished we could extend to stay there for the rest of our holiday! We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to be greeted by smiling and helpful staff who promptly advised us our room had been upgraded from a deluxe bungalow to the private pool villa! What a lovely surprise. We were also given handmade flower garlands which was very sweet. The room was fantastic - a 2 storey bungalow with absolutely BREATHTAKING views of the Jungle and the gentle sound of running water from the river below. We had our own plunge pool and a full size detached bungalow complete with jumbo cushion to relax on.

The bathroom is enormous - both indoor and outdoor. We enjoyed a very relaxing and romantic bath outside under the stars on our first night.

We ate at the Restaurant twice for Dinner and enjoyed it thoroughly. The setting is very peaceful - looking over the jungle with the sound of crickets. We were the only one's there most of the time! We felt like the whole resort was ours.

The pool is just amazing. An infinity pool which overhangs the jungle below was a great experience. I attached a photo of myself admiring the view from the pool.

The complimentary shuttle service into town was very helpful! But we hardly wanted to leave the resort...

Pros:
- UNBEATABLE views
- Great breakfast!
- Pool to die for
- Ultimate privacy
- Complimentary shuttle into town and back
- Brilliant rooms and service

Cons:
- My ONLY issue was that the Spa closed at 5pm meaning we missed out on taking advantage of any of its treatments as were pretty busy during the day shopping and touring etc.

We also got a brilliant rate after emailing the hotel directly. We felt like royalty... Will 100% be returning to Natura and recommending to friends and family.

Room Tip: The pool Villas are divine. Ask for one at the front of the resort as the view won't be obscured...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monfrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a 2 night stay there and got moved 4 times, from no hot water, faulty airconditioner (twice) and the last room was simply 2 single beds pushed together which we were appalled with, let alone being very uncomfortable with a big wooden strip between us! Rooms were dirty, smelled stale and the outdoor bath disgusting. Also, the security safe in the rooms were not even fixed or bolted to anything, they can easily be picked up taken away, what part of that is secure?
Staff in restaurant area were nice, food average, infinity pool and view only attraction.
Wont be going back there again unless they refurbish rooms, get their water supply sorted and aircons working. Disappointed with what was supposed to be a romantic, peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here, with our 7 year old son, for 7 nights, and were very sad to leave. We loved everything about the resort. It is a small boutique resort, with only 14 rooms, which is exactly what we were looking for. Very quiet peaceful oasis, with very personal sevice. Most of the time, when we swam at the pool(s) we had it all to ourselves. We stayed in the jungle view bungalow which was an excellent size with a beautiful bathroom. The room we stayed in had gorgeous uninterrupted views of the jungle valley. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. Our son has food allergies, and they made him a special breakfast everyday to accomodate. We had room service, or ate at the restaurant quite a bit, and the food was good (not great) and reasonably priced. It had a small menu selection, which is to be expected, as it is a small resort. The breakfast was cooked to order (not buffet) which we personally prefer as it comes out fresh. We also used the shuttle bus every day, which was very easy, and went every hour. They also drop you into town if you have missed the shuttle for a small fee. The pools are very clean, and in a stunning location. Numerous times we went to the pool and saw Monkeys swinging in the trees. No need to go to the Ubud Monkey Forest! You really are right in the jungle, with the Monkeys, and the birds and the geckos (which can get a bit noisy). Such a great location. On the 5th night, there was a terrible storm which caused a small leak in the room. (Which was fixed promptly). When we spoke to the manager about it she immediately offered us an upgrade us to a luxury pool villa which was an absolute highlight. The room was even grander, and the plunge pool looked over the valley. We would definitely stay here again, and book the luxury pool villa next time.

Room Tip: Rooms 11-12 and 14-15 all have direct views to the jungle valley. Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a Luxury Pool Villa – the room was wonderful, with a huge bedroom and bathroom, outside shower and bath and steps down to our own private infinity pool and day bed. The view from both our bedroom and the pool was the lush tropical valley above the river – we saw lots of birds and monkeys playing in the trees – we even had one monkey visit the tree outside our window one afternoon! Yes you are in the middle of the jungle so there are going to be some creepy crawlies but don’t let this put you off – the peace and quiet of the resort more than makes up for it.
The spa was a highlight - having a massage as you hear the river running metres from your spa hut - once in a lifetime moment. The spa is at the bottom of a lot of steep steps, but we used this as our daily exercise routine, but may not be suitable for everyone.
We had dinner there once and although the restaurant does not have a huge selection, the food was really good, and we had room service a couple of times which was quick and fresh. Breakfast was good - pretty standard American and Indonesia on offer, the pastries were really good considering the location in the jungle.
The spa was also a highlight - having a massage as you hear the river running metres from your spa hut - once in a lifetime moment. The spa is at the bottom of a lot of steep steps, but we used this as our daily exercise routine, but may not be suitable for everyone.
The resort runs a shuttle bus into Ubud regularly through the day and if you miss the shuttle they will still run your into Ubud for a small fee. It takes about 10 minutes to drive to Ubud.
The staff were all really friendly and happy to help with anything, happy to have a chat while waiting for shuttle and always asking if everything with our room and stay was to our satisfaction
One tiny downfall was the TV channels (our holiday indulgence is to watch late night satellite TV as we don’t have it at home) but really not a deal breaker.
The resort is not suitable for children with the number of steps and also no real safety around the infinity pool.
This is definitely a place for rest and rejuvenation – will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for room 11 or 12 - best veiws and most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#95 of 196 in Ubud
151 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.4 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#75 of 196 in Ubud
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 196 in Ubud
571 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arma Museum & Resort
Arma Museum & Resort
#108 of 196 in Ubud
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natura Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Resort and Spa

Property: Natura Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Laplapan | Petulu Village, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#38 Family Hotel in Ubud
#41 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#72 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#91 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Natura Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing a sliver of the Petanu River 's tumbling journey towards the sea, the Natura Resort & Spa is a sanctuary for the senses. Fourteen luxury villas designed by Bali's prominent local architect Popo Danes enhance the beauty of the site. Access is through the traditional village of Laplapan, just 3 km from the center of Ubud. Snugly fitted amongst the foliage of the native trees, all villas are oriented to face the sunset with spectacular views over the Petanu river valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Natura Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Hotel Ubud
Natura Resort Ubud
Natura Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing