We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the room..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Natura Resort and Spa
Ranked #101 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love the room..”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We booked for 1 night at the Natura resort and Spa because we were attracted to the beautiful pictures of the villas on the internet. The location of the resort was rather far from the main town of Ubud but it was quiet and once in the resort, you will enjoy the serenity of the place.
Upon entering the room, we were amazed by the size of the room and the bathroom. We also love how nature was incorporated into the furniture of the room.
The main swimming pool was beautiful although the water was rather cold. The breakfast served was good and sufficient for us.
The resort can do better with more upkeeping.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmanshor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    113
    38
    10
    17
See reviews for
63
244
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed at Natura for 12 days and it felt like home to us. The staff was amazing, especially Arga and Astika, who helped us so much planning day trips and finding fabulous restaurants. The villas were super comfortable, the jungle views spectacular and we loved watching families of monkeys play on our balcony in the early mornings. The hotel's shuttle bus made it easy to get into Ubud in 10 minutes, and it was so nice to return to the peace and quiet of the hotel. We hired a driver, Wayan, who took us on 6 day trips around Bali. He knew how to stay clear of tourist buses and show us the best of Bali. We plan on going back and would only stay at Natura.

Room Tip: We had villa 15 which overlooked the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyandleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

In general, we loved our stay in Ubud and really enjoyed our stay at Natura. The resort is absolutely stunning. The staff are kind and friendly and the villas are fantastic. We enjoyed the pool a great deal - and though the resort was mostly full, it always felt completely empty.

Breakfast each morning was quite good - fresh fruit juice, warm bread, eggs your way and terrific Balinese coffee. However the rest of the meals were a bit average. We had two lunches and one dinner there during our time and as long as you stick to the local fare, you should be pleased. However the western food was average at best. There are some great restaurants 10 minutes away in Ubud. Go there.

We had no issues with the transport into town. We took advantage of the frequent shuttle service. But if you want to go it on your own, a taxi should run about $4.

The villas themselves were terrific. If you want to really feel in the middle of the jungle, go for the deluxe villa 14. We would be woken up each morning just around dawn by the family of monkeys - either hopping on the roof or playing around on the deck. Careful though - they sometimes leave you a gift on the deck.

The downside with our villa was our third night there I woke up with nearly 60 bug bites all over my body. I still have no idea what the insect was - the theory is ants - but we asked to be moved and were quickly accommodated and brought to a pool villa for our final two days. (The reality is if you plan to stay in the jungle you need to be prepared for bugs and critters. We were surprised the next night by a frog having slipped into our bed.) This villa was also terrific though the living space was much smaller due to the outdoor shower/tub and the downstairs pool area with bed. And we still spent most of our time by the main pool because our pool area didn't receive much sun. The villas could also do with a much more thorough cleaning. Lamps were caked with dust and spider webs, etc.

We took advantage of the spa one day and the massages were great. Seemed like good value. The walk down is nice to the river's edge. The walk back up certainly gets your blood flowing.

The only other complaint I would make is I requested them to surprise my wife with a drawn bath before leaving for dinner on our last night. I gave the time we would be returning and they seemed okay with it. However when we returned we had flowers set out our front door - which was nice - but upon entering found all the flowers for the tub still in a bowl and the tub empty. So much for that.

Room Tip: Villa 14 & 16 are the lowest into the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crox40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is our first stay in at Ubud. Have been to Ubud many times but for shopping. Was taken back with the hotels situated amidst lush jungle environment.

I would loved to stay at Komaneka but it was off my budget. When I checked out Natura, I was surprised that I could get most things offered in Komaneka for half the price which came up to about USD200 for the luxury pool villa. So we booked in here for one night to check it out.

The lobby was so laid back I got worried. But the worry quickly vanished as we brought to our room which was a duplex luxury pool villa. It was nice to see the guy who checked us in was also the guy who brought us to our room. There are a total of 14 villas here.

The room was amazing; very spacious. I loved the oversized windows overlooking the valley. The outdoor tub and shower was nice. My wife however did not appreciate the moldy walls at the outdoor bath area. For the indoor bathroom, they should have considered closing it up instead of having it as an open concept. Toilets and bedrooms should never be as one!

Since it was a duplex, our pool and day bed was a floor down. We were mesmerized with the view when we opened the ground floor door to access our private pool. The area of our private pool was huge with the pool, table with 2 chairs, 2 beach chairs and a king sixed day bed. We spend most of our time here. The water however was freezing thanks to the location being in a valley. The public Jacuzzi which was open 24 hours was a better option for dipping.

The breakfast was decent. It was American style which choices of pastries, omelets. Nothing fancy. The SPA location and Lap pool which was located quite a few steps down is clearly not for easy to access. But for us, it was ok. The SPA was placed in a fabulous location; overseeing the valley with flowing river below. So basically you are getting a massage with the natural jungle and water sounds. We didn’t try it though.

Overall I would say this is a great place to relax. But my wife and I felt it was too quiet as we didn’t see any other guest. But for some, that could be just the thing needed. So if peace and tranquility is your thing…this is the right place with value for money.

Room Tip: Luxury Villa 12: has the best view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livewire30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Away from the noise and pollution of the center Ubud, this resort provides the sounds of birds during the day and frogs at night, nestled deep in the jungle by a river. Macaques played in the trees near our patio, and we enjoyed our own private patio and plunge pool. The staff were warm and welcoming, helping us with anything we asked from the moment we arrived. When I got sick (we were totally indiscriminate about what we ate, and glad to have brought emergency anti-biotics because of it) the staff went out of their way to try to help, offering many times to call a doctor, bringing food and sending flowers wishing my speedy recovery.

The restaurant serves delicious food from American favorites like eggs for breakfast or chicken burgers for dinner to Indonesian fare like burbur injin (black rice pudding) laplapan nasi goreng (fried rice with an egg) and Indonesian Rice porriage with shredded chicken.

For the service, quality and experience this resort's prices are rock bottom. I am thinking of travelling back to Bali and bringing guests who are also nature lovers. I won't even consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SEHBabineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This was the first time we are staying in a villa and the entire resort is surrounded by nice greenery view! Very tranquil and relaxing! It was nice to wake up by the sounds of nature! We were very pleased with the hospitablilty of the staff. Very friendly and polite! They will greet you whenever they see you.

For the one-bedroom villa:
I love the balcony which is so close to nature. It was nice to have a cup of tea with my husband at the balcony while enjoying the view. The bathtub faces the greenery too. As for the room, the bathtub is a bit dirty but overall the cleanliness is good.

For the pool villa:
The room is clean and the day bed is lovely! Pool is quite small, only for soaking. The view is better than the one-bedroom villa but is quite hot. The outdoor bathtub looks old and slightly dirty. Same goes for the outdoor shower.

Facilities:
I like the infinity pool. As for the lap pool, you have to climb down many many stairs to get there. The jaccuzzi is also good with warm water. The breakfast is nice. If you choose the American option, be sure to choose the banana bread which is tasty!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We spent altogether 4 nights at the Natura Resort & Spa. We took a blue bird taxi (price agreed RP 175.000,´- but make sure you have smaller bills... otherwise you will find yourself rounding up like we did ).

Lobby/Entrance:
In general, the entrance/lobby at first does not seem so impressive. But you will be positively surprised once you pass this area.... you suddenly find yourself walking down towards a beautiful jungle landscape with unique walkways made of wood... everything somehow leading in a different direction.

Bungalow:
The bungalow was just beautiful. One aspect which needed a few days to get used to is that there is no door to the bathroom... but overall the bungalow was really nice. The canapee above the bed was a bid dirty, but okay... this really did not bother us at all. WiFi (WLAN) was accessible in the room, altough a bit weak. It even worked at the pool.

Infinity Pool:
Speaking of pool, the infinity pool was absolutely amazing. Except for the first day, we were the only ones at the pool... this was such a breath of fresh air, because I was so used to seeing people reserve the chairs early in the morning.... on the first day, some of the people reserved the chairs, but never even came back... we assume the reason for the lack of people at the pool is that a lot of the other villas have their own pools.

Wildlife:
Also while we were sitting at the pool, we suddenly saw a monkey climbing up one of the trees - spectacular! You really are in the middle of the jungle!

Breakfast:
Breakfast was great! They offered a backste of toast/croissants/pain au chocolat, eggs, fruit, fresh juice... and a view that is undescribeable. This was one of the greatest aspects of the resort... I will always remember the rushing of the river down below, while hearing birds and enjoying the view of the jungle.

Location/Shuttle Bus:
The shuttle bus was perfect... they have set times, but you more or less can go whenever you want...we simply had to call down to the front office 20 minutes in advance, and they took us into Ubud. So the location is absolutely fine.

I would say that the hotel is definitely more than worth the price we paid. In general, I would not stay in Ubud for more than 4-5 days, as there is so much to see and do in other places as well. For example, we did 4 days Ubud, 4 days Gili Trawagan and 3 Days Seminyak.

Enjoy this hotel - best value for the reasonable price!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheeseheadInGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#23 of 196 in Ubud
738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#100 of 196 in Ubud
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#35 of 196 in Ubud
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natura Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Resort and Spa

Property: Natura Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Laplapan | Petulu Village, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#38 Family Hotel in Ubud
#41 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#69 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#85 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Natura Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing a sliver of the Petanu River 's tumbling journey towards the sea, the Natura Resort & Spa is a sanctuary for the senses. Fourteen luxury villas designed by Bali's prominent local architect Popo Danes enhance the beauty of the site. Access is through the traditional village of Laplapan, just 3 km from the center of Ubud. Snugly fitted amongst the foliage of the native trees, all villas are oriented to face the sunset with spectacular views over the Petanu river valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Natura Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Hotel Ubud
Natura Resort Ubud
Natura Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing