We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arma Museum & Resort
Ranked #102 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This has been a long overdue review as we stayed at this wonderful place of Agung Rai in Sept 2013.

This resort gives you a wonderful sense of calm and wonder - everything here seems to be in harmony with nature. The landscape and layout of this resort make you wonder how much careful planning and detailed thoughts have been put into ensuring you have a sense of marvel of the place. Tastefully done, every corner and space has Agung Rai's art collection stamped all over. His museum of course is the center of the attraction here - the breadth and gravitas of his collections especially of Balinese art speak well of his great and voracious taste, that the whole of Bali celebrates (see Pasifika Museum in Nusa Dua acknowledging the priceless collections of Mr Rai in their map of Bali art museums). Nature, art and inner peace blend in well together in this place.

Without any prompt, the staff kindly prepared and delivered to our room a gourmet artisan cake for my wife during her birthday - to her absolute delight! The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, especially those on the restaurant, coffee bar and spa. There is a sense of art and heart with the way their food are prepared and served, as well as how their service are delivered, a real Balinese treat. The early morning nature tour exclusively provided by Mr Rai takes you to the more natural and cultural history of the community - a good way of personally getting to know the man and his philosophy.

We left the place with a renewed and calmed mind and hearts - though I must admit that we did not want to leave the place at all.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool is reasonably near to everything. Good thing this is where we st...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tartarace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Arma Museum & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautiful place. Our room with outdoor bathroom, shower across a koi pond, giant tub, was just wonderful. Our private pool was huge, lovely and so inviting. Breakfast was served right outside on our private dining area. The grounds were also gorgeous.Nothing to complain about. I wish I was there right now. The location, although you were in rice fields and seemingly in the middle of a dream, was close enough to walk into Ubud. The price for all this was really cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at this fabulous hotel/resort for the past 2 nights,i am here now ,,,the owner upgraded me without my asking ,,with hearing from his staff how difficult climbing stairs were for me,,i had paid for a villa,,but the villa suite he put me in ,had fewer steps ,,i feel like a queen !!!! there is an amazing balcony ,,but i can't go up because flight of stairs ,,i am enjoying my own pool ,,the surroundings,the peacefulness and the service,,,,,,the staff is so kind,so professional ,,the food is yummy ,,everything is very very classy and comfortable !!!!i wish i was able to stay longer ,plus have some friends here also ,it is soooooooooo big !!! thanks so much for everything !!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERMAIDLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is indeed a little bit of paradise in Bali, and one I keep returning to every year. The staff are friendly, cheerful and very accommodating. The gardens and grounds are magnificent and the river running through the middle of the spacious resort adds to the tranquility. The founder, Mr Agung Rai, a calm, quiet gentleman delights in sharing his Bali with the guests. I have accompanied him on The Golden Hour Tour on two occasions and have delighted in seeing the villages awaken with the sunrise in the morning. It is truly inspiring and an experience not to be missed. Pak Agung is only to happy to share his life with his guests and can often be seen wandering through the garden complex.
The rooms are spacious and well maintained. Our room didn't have a television which I found wonderful as we were able to rest, read and relax in the most exquisite surroundings. Pouring rain and thunder didn't diminish the experience of being able to lounge on the verandah in warmth and comfort. The restaurants serve delicious food and are very reasonably priced. The ability to order breakfast from the menu and not have choose from buffet is a real plus. An efficient shuttle bus will take guests to the centre of Ubud and bring you back to the hotel upon request.
Another highlight for me is the fact that there are not many children in the hotel, which means there are no screaming youngsters in the pool. Usually you will have the serenity of the pool to yourselves.
Staying here is an experience not to be missed!

Room Tip: The villas are beautiful with private pools. The rooms near the swimming pool are cheaper and just...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcelonaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

You can feel the peace and serenity as soon as you step into the garden paradise. It's beyond beautiful. Our rooms (family villa) were very nice with an indoor/outdoor bathroom including decadent stone bathtubs - the biggest we've seen in Asia. The food in the Thal restaurant was excellent and our spa treatments were too. Nightly dance shows were lovely. We're so glad we stayed there and were sad to leave. It's not just a resort, it's a foundation. They teach free classes for the local children. We watched the girls having dance lessons and the boys learning to play the musical instruments. Very touching. I'm so happy I was able to see it.
My favorite part was the Golden Hour tour with the owner, Mr. Agung Rai. He shared his delight in Balinese life during the quiet, early part of the day. It was a treat to see the country life through his eyes. After all the temples I'd seen in Bali it was only after my visit with him that I finally got it - how their worship fits into their lives.
You need to experience ARMA to experience Bali

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Arma is a peaceful and beautiful botanical paradise. The grounds are magical with Balinese statues, orchids, streams, Art museum and performances. The property was very quiet and though we only had a suite, we virtually had the main pool to ourselves. The tea time/coffee is a wonderful touch, as is the Balinese breakfast that was included every morning, the Thai restaurant was delicious and the service impeccable. We will always have a place in our hearts for the Arma and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of resort style accommodations. The Arma embodies the spirit of the island and will make you fall in love with Bali over and over again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very nice garden & swimming pool. Good service, we even got a free dinner our first night. Good shuttle service to center of Ubud, drives regularly and till late in the evening. Only negative was our bathroom: not properly maintained, dirty tiles & bathtub didn't emtpy.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank evh321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#95 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#91 of 199 in Ubud
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arma Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arma Museum & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | P.O. Box 9696, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#43 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#69 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#85 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $82 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arma Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arma Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arma Museum Hotel Ubud
Arma Museum And Resort
Arma Museum & Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing