We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arma Museum & Resort
Ranked #103 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very strange hotel. There were a lot of things, we didn't like, but in whole we do not regret, we've been there.
We stayed in ARMA Resort in January 2013 with 2 children (4 and 7 years). Here are some our impressions.
The garden is fantastic, the connection with museum - very interesting, the location in Ubud - comfortable (walking distance to monkey forest and city center, plenty of shops and restaurants around).
The hotel's restaurant is very good for dinner, but breakfasts were bad: rich enough, but not tasty…
We didn't like the villa. It was much more expensive, then the room (we rented both), but had less space inside. Very small villa's pool. No privacy at all - our villa faced some utilities, and when I opened my eyes in the morning I saw a man doing something with carbon filters :(
The bathroom is "open air" - that means, that every time, you go to the toilet, you will have a company - a frog, a beetle, a cat, a bird or just some mosquitoes.
And the kid's pool is not safe - there are sharp corners, so our son damaged the foot...

Room Tip: We had a villa and a room - the room was better
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mama_Masha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Arma Museum & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 355 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

When visiting Bali again, we just have to stay at the Arma resort as well. The warm hospitality, friendly faces and awesome surroundings. Relaxation, open spaces, the most friendly and humble staff. Going back for a second time was like family welcoming you back again. The young trainees were exceptional along with the guidance from the senior staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friends344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arma was perfect for our stay in Ubud. The villa and grounds were amazing! We loved lounging in the gazebo at the edge of the pool and neighbouring rice paddy, and the inside the villa was of a very high standard. Every single time we walked through the gardens we couldn't get over how stunning they were. It's like some kind of lost world full of statues, bridges, waterfalls and fountains. We were also impressed by the museum itself, and the old Balinese artwork. There are two restaurants on the grounds, we only ate at the Thai one near reception, which was very good but pretty empty most of the time. The breakfasts were good, not the best we've had but no complaints, and all of the staff were very polite and courteous. The free shuttle service was very handy, and the drivers very friendly and helpful (shout out to chok dae). The resort itself is located close to the centre of Ubud, so just a quick journey via the shuttle service...but there also seemed to be loads of restaurants and shops closer to the resort.

We loved Ubud itself, definitely our favourite part of Bali. We also did a tour around the temples, volcanoes, coffee plantation and rice paddies....loads of culture and amazing photos. Very cheap to get your own driver for the day!

There's nothing I can really criticise about Arma, if I'm pushing it I'd say our pool was a bit too cold...but that's fine if the weather is scorching hot. We'd definitely come and stay again. It's the perfect place to relax and explore Ubud...we're just sad we couldn't stay longer than 3 days

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank motionunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Exceded our expectations. Room was large and comfortable and on the same level as the public pool with a verandah area and comfortable chairs on it. Service was fast and efficient. Cost was very reasonable. Food was excellent and reasonable priced. Garden setting was exquisite. What more could you want!
There is an art gallery attached and a large open sided pavilion at the top of the hill (in the grounds) where they offer free Balinese dance and gamelin lessons to local children to promote the arts. Guests are welcome to watch and I did. I even took part in a Balinese dance class which was a one on one lesson with the dance teacher. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and plan to go back again when an opportunity arises.

Room Tip: We were given a room on ground level as my partner has a cardiac condition. That still involved a bi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemusedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The grounds of Arma are truly beautiful, with views over rice fields and water gardens throughout this is what I call "real Bali". The staff were very kind, helpful and friendly. I celebrated a birthday whilst there and so the owner kindly sent a very generous bouquet of flowers. Restaurant food was very good also. Lovely and quiet area within walking distance of the hustle & bustle of Ubud town. Chok Gde is one of their drivers and a fountain of local information with a great sense of humour. My room was so much more than I'd expected - spacious, beautifully appointed and very clean with views over gardens and rice fields. I felt like I was in paradise!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and rice field - the higher up the better the view even thoug...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R3becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but stayed in the room the above photo was taken from! Very nice indeed! We arrived about 5 in the afternoon after a hectic day of sightseeing and immediately went for a swim in the pool which is lovely! Went back and showered and then ate at the Thai restaurant in the grounds! It was very quiet whilst we were there but the food and service was amazing! Would recommend this place to anyone! The Museum was lovely too, but sadly we had to rush through it in the morning before our friend Wayan picked us up for another day exploring Bali an its beautiful culture!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spend our 5 days in Ubud, and stayed at Arma during our stay. We just wanted to relax, and this ws the perfect place. Shuttle to and from town was cery convenient, and the drivers would pick us up anytime we needed them. We took three half day tours - using the mini bus and driver from Arma. Driver spoke very good English, and was a great guide - taking us to art shops, to jewelry factories (John Hardy, Angel to Angel), as well as some great restaurants. We walked around Ubud, exploring many new places, and som that we saw 30 years ago.
Arma has quiet places where you can enjoy the peace and quiet, and gives you a chance to walk into center of Ubud - in 10 to 15 minutes. Great place. We made our reservations on Priceline. Agoda also had them listed for similar price... Good for families, couples or anyone just looking for R&R and wanting to experience some Balinese culture, away from beach.

Room Tip: Upper floor end room was nice - more private...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#96 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#92 of 199 in Ubud
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arma Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arma Museum & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | P.O. Box 9696, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#43 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#70 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#86 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $77 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arma Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arma Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arma Museum Hotel Ubud
Arma Museum And Resort
Arma Museum & Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing