We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunningly beautiful and tranquil place to stay in Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arma Museum & Resort
Ranked #103 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent 3 nights relaxing completely in this beautiful, tranquil oasis. The professional and friendly staff made sure we never needed anything and were there instantly there when we called (even at 2 AM for removal of small gecko that found it's way into our room). The founder, mr. Agung Rai himself treated us to some afternoon coffee while telling us many interesting anecdotes about himself, his family, the place and Balinese history in general.
I would both recommnend this place to a friend as well as return there myself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivaFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 367 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Looking at the Arma resort's website, with its private villas and pools, it looked too beautiful and idyllic. However, reality is far from that. We were staying in one of the private villas. The size inside isnt very big to start with. From the 1st night we had nice surprises: we found a disgusting worm on the pillow on the bed, dead ants inside the bed and the AC was literally spilling water out (which almost flooded our computer that we left under it). The AC issue was fixed on 2nd day, but it's still not nice to pay 200$ per night and have to face that. Then, the light bulb in the toilet broke down, the conditioner in the bathroom was completely watery and looked and smelled expired. Then, there was lizard excrement on the floor of the bathroom for 3 days, which makes me wonder if they ever cleaned floors?!
For the positive side: you get a private pool with the villa, and the architecture of the resort is charming in traditional style.
At the time of check out, we asked for a discount based on all the negative experience we had, but they completely refused and weren't business-minded and customer-oriented enough to make a small gesture to compensate. In the end, paying 200$ a night to face such issues is simply unacceptable and unheard of! Total rip-off!
Oh, and i forgot to mention breakfast was not good at all, and we made the mistake of ordering dinner to be delivered to our villa, it was simply disgusting! Crazy to think of the rates they charge and the service they cannot provide!! Never stay there!
I gave them 2 stars for the location, rice patty fields - and because Bali is beautiful in itself. Not for the resort!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_asia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung_Rai, General Manager at Arma Museum & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Thank you for your constructive comments and we do concern and apologies for inconveniences cause during your stay with ARMA Museum & Resort previously. With such good communication such problem can be solve accordingly.

We are under new management is improving all lines of our services and ensuring you such problem will not occur in future.

Meanwhile if opportunity arise we would like to welcome you back into ARMA Museum & Resort and will serve you better in future.

Once again our apologies

Bagus Mustiika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent three days here on our first visit to Bali. Comfortable, spacious room with magnificent balcony overlooking the pool where we took advantage of the excellent room service to dine al fresco (on the balcony, not in the pool!) Loved the frangipani trees, the orchids, the lotus flowers in the water garden, the marvellous profusion of carving on and around the buildings. Fascinating to visit the gallery and museum where we attended a spectacular (if slightly over long) display of Balinese dancing and gamelon,and, as it was the full moon, the amazing and dramatic Cak Rina dance on the open stage in which a mythical battle was played out by men and young boys literally playing with fire. But the absolute highlight was the Golden Hour Tour in which the very charming Mr Agung Rai, owner and founder of the resort, personally took us on a 3 hour early morning drive throughout the nearby villages and rice fields to show us the real Bali - magical!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is very well located in Ubud !! 15 min walking from the monkey forest and very close from nice little restaurants such as the Arma kafe for balinese food and taco casa ( mexican food)
The hotel in itself is gorgeous..the place is absolutely beautiful...the pool, the rice fields all around, the statues...BUT the room was really humid...and not so pretty...very disapointing.
The breakfast was not so good either and very frugal ...(included)
I wuold just recommand to go around the hotel and especially the museum very close to it : the Arma museum..

Room Tip: maybe goo for the villa....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eloise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Upgraded to a villa after plumbing problems in first room. Very luxe with vaulted ceiling, privite pool, option of outdoor shower beside pool with lush vegitation. But, animals living in bamboo ceiling repeatedly left droppings on bed. On site restaurants not good. There are much better dining options.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 2 weeks in Indonesia. Our first 4 days were in Ubud, and we booked the Arma Resort online. I saw several reviews on Trip Advisor saying the reservation system had caused problems, but we had no such problems.

You can definitely find places in Ubud for much less, BUT, this is a very nice property, and it is located very close to central Ubud. Don't think about walking to central Ubud from here. The resort provides a free shuttle, but if you're up for it, the way to go is to rent a motorbike (about $5 USD per day, and it costs about $1 USD to fill with gas).

We were picked up from the airport from the Arma staff, which went very smoothly after over 24 hours of travel time. It took a bit of time to check in, but the staff was very pleasant. Check the deals on the Arma website, we found a 4 nights for the price of 3 package, and that saved us some money (we stayed another 3 nights at the end of our trip, and if we had had another night available i could have done the 4 for the price of 3 again).

We had booked the "Superior Villa", which includes a private villa with private pool. When we arrived, we were told that there were no Superior Villas remaining...I was prepared to be disappointed, but was told that we were upgraded to the best Villa on the property at no extra cost. This Villa is also known as room #101. It is the nicest looking Villa that displays on their website, with a large private infinity pool, a very large villa with way more space than what would normally be needed by two people, and an outdoor hot tub. Breakfast is included, and if you order the night before, you can have it delivered to your room. Breakfast is very good. It was the only place I found in Bali where eggs where prepared the way I find them in America. The banana pancakes are also excellent.

As I mentioned, we spent 2 weeks in Indonesia, the first 4 days in Ubud, the next week on Lombok, and then the final 3 days in Ubud. We liked the Arma Resort so much that we made sure to stay the final 3 days there. When we were on Lombok we went for the $20-$50 per night accommodations, so staying at the Arma was a splurge, but worth it. As mentioned above, we stayed in the best Villa on the property, #101, our first 4 nights. When we returned to Ubud, we stayed 1 night in a deluxe bungalow, #803, and at about half the price of a Villa, it was very private and we would also recommend it. Our final two nights we stayed in a Superior Villa, #104, and it was excellent with a private pool.

The only real downsides were that #803 had a few bugs, and #104 had quite a few tiny bugs on the bed. I guess this is to be expected in a hot humid environment. Bug spray and zappers are provided, but it was interesting that we didn't really have any bug problems in #101, and just a few bugs in #803. I'm not sure why there were so many more bugs in #104.

This place really felt like home, the grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the rooms are very private. I would stay there again, unless someone were to point me to an equally comfortable accommodation at a better price. For the Superior Villas, we spent about $200 USD per night, so if you are on a tight budget you will want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms over 7 nights. #101 is the best in the place, but pricey. #803 (Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbay2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The resort shares a huge garden, rice paddy field and the river front compound with the Agung Rai Museum and Art Gallery (ARMA) - admission for all hotel guests is free. Upon arrival, the hotel lobby did not appear to be that impressive but upon check-in, we were led into a huge area with a gentle sound of running stream towards the rooms and villas. The rooms are very spacious, well-furnished except with no wifi or television, which is fine, one ought to get close to nature in the spiritual town of Ubud. While the hotel is 15 minutes by foot to the Monkey Forest Road and the centre of town where the bars and restaurants are, the hotel provides shuttle service to ferry people to and fro town. All there is to do is to call the hotel before hand.

The breakfast is somewhat simple for the price of the hotel, with the choice of the cold buffet and cooked eggs etc. The people around the hotel were all very helpful and friendly and helped to organise onward transports.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.1 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#147 of 199 in Ubud
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni
KajaNe Yangloni
#77 of 199 in Ubud
256 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pandora Hotel
The Pandora Hotel
#92 of 199 in Ubud
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#100 of 199 in Ubud
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#59 of 199 in Ubud
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barong Resort and Spa
Barong Resort and Spa
#105 of 199 in Ubud
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arma Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arma Museum & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | P.O. Box 9696, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#43 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#70 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#88 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $72 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arma Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arma Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arma Museum Hotel Ubud
Arma Museum And Resort
Arma Museum & Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing