We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting, great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arma Museum & Resort
Ranked #108 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting, great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent three days here on our first visit to Bali. Comfortable, spacious room with magnificent balcony overlooking the pool where we took advantage of the excellent room service to dine al fresco (on the balcony, not in the pool!) Loved the frangipani trees, the orchids, the lotus flowers in the water garden, the marvellous profusion of carving on and around the buildings. Fascinating to visit the gallery and museum where we attended a spectacular (if slightly over long) display of Balinese dancing and gamelon,and, as it was the full moon, the amazing and dramatic Cak Rina dance on the open stage in which a mythical battle was played out by men and young boys literally playing with fire. But the absolute highlight was the Golden Hour Tour in which the very charming Mr Agung Rai, owner and founder of the resort, personally took us on a 3 hour early morning drive throughout the nearby villages and rice fields to show us the real Bali - magical!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    102
    34
    10
    11
See reviews for
59
155
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is very well located in Ubud !! 15 min walking from the monkey forest and very close from nice little restaurants such as the Arma kafe for balinese food and taco casa ( mexican food)
The hotel in itself is gorgeous..the place is absolutely beautiful...the pool, the rice fields all around, the statues...BUT the room was really humid...and not so pretty...very disapointing.
The breakfast was not so good either and very frugal ...(included)
I wuold just recommand to go around the hotel and especially the museum very close to it : the Arma museum..

Room Tip: maybe goo for the villa....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eloise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Upgraded to a villa after plumbing problems in first room. Very luxe with vaulted ceiling, privite pool, option of outdoor shower beside pool with lush vegitation. But, animals living in bamboo ceiling repeatedly left droppings on bed. On site restaurants not good. There are much better dining options.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 2 weeks in Indonesia. Our first 4 days were in Ubud, and we booked the Arma Resort online. I saw several reviews on Trip Advisor saying the reservation system had caused problems, but we had no such problems.

You can definitely find places in Ubud for much less, BUT, this is a very nice property, and it is located very close to central Ubud. Don't think about walking to central Ubud from here. The resort provides a free shuttle, but if you're up for it, the way to go is to rent a motorbike (about $5 USD per day, and it costs about $1 USD to fill with gas).

We were picked up from the airport from the Arma staff, which went very smoothly after over 24 hours of travel time. It took a bit of time to check in, but the staff was very pleasant. Check the deals on the Arma website, we found a 4 nights for the price of 3 package, and that saved us some money (we stayed another 3 nights at the end of our trip, and if we had had another night available i could have done the 4 for the price of 3 again).

We had booked the "Superior Villa", which includes a private villa with private pool. When we arrived, we were told that there were no Superior Villas remaining...I was prepared to be disappointed, but was told that we were upgraded to the best Villa on the property at no extra cost. This Villa is also known as room #101. It is the nicest looking Villa that displays on their website, with a large private infinity pool, a very large villa with way more space than what would normally be needed by two people, and an outdoor hot tub. Breakfast is included, and if you order the night before, you can have it delivered to your room. Breakfast is very good. It was the only place I found in Bali where eggs where prepared the way I find them in America. The banana pancakes are also excellent.

As I mentioned, we spent 2 weeks in Indonesia, the first 4 days in Ubud, the next week on Lombok, and then the final 3 days in Ubud. We liked the Arma Resort so much that we made sure to stay the final 3 days there. When we were on Lombok we went for the $20-$50 per night accommodations, so staying at the Arma was a splurge, but worth it. As mentioned above, we stayed in the best Villa on the property, #101, our first 4 nights. When we returned to Ubud, we stayed 1 night in a deluxe bungalow, #803, and at about half the price of a Villa, it was very private and we would also recommend it. Our final two nights we stayed in a Superior Villa, #104, and it was excellent with a private pool.

The only real downsides were that #803 had a few bugs, and #104 had quite a few tiny bugs on the bed. I guess this is to be expected in a hot humid environment. Bug spray and zappers are provided, but it was interesting that we didn't really have any bug problems in #101, and just a few bugs in #803. I'm not sure why there were so many more bugs in #104.

This place really felt like home, the grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the rooms are very private. I would stay there again, unless someone were to point me to an equally comfortable accommodation at a better price. For the Superior Villas, we spent about $200 USD per night, so if you are on a tight budget you will want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms over 7 nights. #101 is the best in the place, but pricey. #803 (Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbay2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The resort shares a huge garden, rice paddy field and the river front compound with the Agung Rai Museum and Art Gallery (ARMA) - admission for all hotel guests is free. Upon arrival, the hotel lobby did not appear to be that impressive but upon check-in, we were led into a huge area with a gentle sound of running stream towards the rooms and villas. The rooms are very spacious, well-furnished except with no wifi or television, which is fine, one ought to get close to nature in the spiritual town of Ubud. While the hotel is 15 minutes by foot to the Monkey Forest Road and the centre of town where the bars and restaurants are, the hotel provides shuttle service to ferry people to and fro town. All there is to do is to call the hotel before hand.

The breakfast is somewhat simple for the price of the hotel, with the choice of the cold buffet and cooked eggs etc. The people around the hotel were all very helpful and friendly and helped to organise onward transports.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We've stayed in Superior Villa - large area with a private pool. Really enjoyed. This hotel is traditional Balinese style, for those who is looking for it. Food in hotel, as well as Kokokan restaurant (Thai food) was good. Atmosphere is perfect, only hotel is a little bit old, however we enjoyed every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The initial view of this beautiful was ruined by their chaotic reservations system. We had reserved 2 rooms for 3 nights (4 of us travelling) via a travel agent in London. On arrival we were informed that even though 2 rooms were booked originally this was changed to 1 room. Even then they could only supply this 1 room for 2 nights and we would have to change rooms. Eventually we were found another room but this involved all of us changing rooms during our 3 day stay.

Beautiful hotel, beautiful grounds in the centre of Ubud, very romantic for honeymooners but perhaps not so suitable for families with teenage children. Would recommend long sleeves and trousers in the evening as some of our party got badly bitten by mossies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arich64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#96 of 196 in Ubud
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#90 of 196 in Ubud
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#40 of 196 in Ubud
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Barong Resort and Spa
Barong Resort and Spa
#110 of 196 in Ubud
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arma Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arma Museum & Resort

Property: Arma Museum & Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | P.O. Box 9696, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#43 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#70 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#89 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arma Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arma Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arma Museum Hotel Ubud
Arma Museum And Resort
Arma Museum & Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing