We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic reservations system”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arma Museum & Resort
Ranked #102 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The initial view of this beautiful was ruined by their chaotic reservations system. We had reserved 2 rooms for 3 nights (4 of us travelling) via a travel agent in London. On arrival we were informed that even though 2 rooms were booked originally this was changed to 1 room. Even then they could only supply this 1 room for 2 nights and we would have to change rooms. Eventually we were found another room but this involved all of us changing rooms during our 3 day stay.

Beautiful hotel, beautiful grounds in the centre of Ubud, very romantic for honeymooners but perhaps not so suitable for families with teenage children. Would recommend long sleeves and trousers in the evening as some of our party got badly bitten by mossies.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arich64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 368 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Same as what I have previously reviewed about this hotel at agoda.com, this hotel was a disappointment in our trip. We stayed in this hotel for our last 2 nights in Bali, this was also the first hotel we've ever stayed in Ubud, we thought this might be a great stay in our 6-day trip in Bali, but we were wrong. During check-in we received warm welcome from the reception staff and we were served with hot tea, the garden was very beautiful (photos attached) that we were very impressed; but things began to go wrong since we arrived our room: 3 out of 5 dome lights in our room were not working; our bathroom had bad smell and the shower curtain had stains; the drain hole of the bathtub was somehow blocked and draining was very slow so we had to stand in a water filled bathtub to take our shower.... the phone in our room could not dial international numbers(yes we did follow the instructions on the service menu), local calls did work but not clear at all. We called the reception trying to explain the problems we had but the guy who picked up the call didn't even want to listen and simply told us that "he will tell his manager tomorrow", later until we left the hotel nobody had ever showed up or ever tried to assist us. Also, there was no WI-FI internet near the pool area as advertised, when we asked we were told the server was down, we then had to go to local internet cafe to make contact with our driver, another downside: there's no TV in our room, the guy from reception explained in our call that all rooms are without TV, but I did see some reviews that some rooms do have TV, again, I'm not sure about this since I've not stayed in any other rooms in this hotel. Breakfast was poor because there were only very few choices available, it shouldn't be even called as "buffet" in my opinion, after all, this is a $100+ hotel with 4-star standard. I believe all these problems could have been avoided if the hotel management ever tried to make some efforts to take care its guests, I mean, is that so hard to manage a small hotel with only 16 rooms in total? We have stayed in some cheaper 3.5-star hotels but rather had much better staying experiences than this one.

The biggest (and perhaps the only) advantage of this hotel is its beautiful garden, I can't say anything bad about it, it was really stunning, the garden is in fact an external part of the Arma Museum, you can walk to the museum from your hotel room and entry is free for the hotel guests.

Room Tip: Internet access is not available in individual rooms, the pool area does have free WI-Fi but check w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

When you enter the grounds you really feel to be away from the busy heart of Ubud. The musuem with art and paintings is a nice place to wander around with the children and the waterfall, pool area and terraced views is magnificent. Would come back here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with our 3yr old son for 2 nights.
The hotel is set in absolutely beautiful grounds of the museum with lush gardens, a river, rice terrace, artisans at work carving wood and kids dancing lessons all going on inside, a microcosm of what Bali is about.

We stayed in a deluxe room which was comfortable but a little sterile compared to the exterior - there was nothing wrong it, just lacking in character.
The pool area was nice and clean and the water surprisingly not that cold given the location.

Breakfast was ok - limited choice but this is a smaller hotel, not a big resort with a massive buffet, not a big issue for us.

As for other services, they offered a free shuttle to ubud which was handy and service was efficient - we asked for a bed for our 3yr old and it arrived straightaway.

The Balinese dance at the arma is definitely worth watching, a really lovely setting outdoors (the dance at the ubud palace is also great) and the museum is impressive.

Finally it was nice to know that our stay at this hotel may be contributing something back to the community with all of the cultural activities that it supports so I can forgive its minor flaws.

Also, I highly recommend gusti from gayatri tours who took us on a half day trip north of ubud and dropped us at seminyak. Their stand is on the left hand side 25m down monkey road walking from the royal palace! Gunung Kawi and lunch in a restaurant overlooking the rice terraces at tellagong definitely worth a look!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonholidayaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

One of our worst stays in Bali.
After arrival at 3 pm, we were first asked to wait as our rooms were not ready to finally be told the next hour that we had to be moved to another hotel as our rooms had been booked.
We finally struggled to get a superior and a de luxe room for 2 de luxe booked.
The de luxe appeared to be in an old villa that might have been standard comfort 20 years ago but currently totally outdated with a 70' style fridge, a disgusting bathtub mostly damaged by corrosion in the broken enamel.
Very limited breakfast buffet. Extremely dirty tablecloth, certainly not changed for days.
Our summary: never again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daniel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung_Rai, General Manager at Arma Museum & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Sincere apologies for such inconveniences happen to you during your stay at ARMA Museum & Resort on that time. We are really concern and valued your comments and with new management now we ensure that such accident will not occur again in future and we once again do apologies.

We are now improving all aspect of our operation and certainly will do our best to fulfill guest expectation by improve all lines in services.

Sincerely yours

Bagus Mustika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We chose a peak season to visit Bali, even we are planning one month ahead, it is still difficult to get an ideal place to stay in Ubud. I give up the idea to look for those top rated hotels in Tripadvisor and those highly popular one turn it's name in LP, the chance of getting them is almost equals to zero. Among those available choices, I snapped the last room in ARMA.

The lush garden is beautiful with rice field at the back. The location is good, within walking distance to monkey forest road, and the hotel is providing free shuttle to main road as well. They are trying their best to make your life not so bring in ubud if you are staying longer, eg. special tour, classes, performance, free entrance to museum, etc. I am staying in deluxe room and I can enjoy a powerless 70" TV with only one channel, Oops, it is a water feature! and now you will understand why the hotel workin so hard to make your life not so boring as there is no entertainment in room, maybe this can let you truly feel the real village life.

The breakfast is a bit boring and not much varieties, the swimming pool is not impressive also. But the good thing is, Ubud is quite cool even in summer time, so you might don't have the mood to jump into the pool. Free wifi available around pool area.

Overall it is still a good choice in peak season.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chigal-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I think this place might appeal to older European visitors who haven't been to Bali before and enjoy being hand held. Seasoned Bali travellers might find this place frustrating.

I didn't find it special or worth the price. There are much better places to stay than here.

cons:
- painfully long and formal check in process. The receptionist tells you every detail about the hotel.. details that a. you wont remember and b. probably dont care about.

- over serviced to the point that it's frustrating i.e. 8 porters for 3 bags...?

- when you get to your room the 'head porter' literally points out EVERYTHING from the bath soap to the toliet bowl.

- no wifi in the rooms

- basic breakfast

- no privacy. we had a villa and yet we had staff constantly coming into the villa grounds asking if we needed towels, needed this, needed that... if we need something we'll call!!!

- the 'villa' isn't actually a villa. It's two hotel bedrooms seperated by a pool. No living room or kitchen.


Needless to say we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung_Rai, General Manager at Arma Museum & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Sincere apologies for such inconveniences that you experience whilst staying with ARMA Museum & Resort previously, such way communication was not handled properly and problem were not solve in away it should be solve. We are delighted and thank you for your constructive comment and it become our concern.

We are under new management improve all line of our services and ensure you that such accident will not occur in future and if opportunity arise we would be able to serve you better.

Sincerely yours

Bagus Mustika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.1 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#151 of 199 in Ubud
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pandora Hotel
The Pandora Hotel
#92 of 199 in Ubud
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni
KajaNe Yangloni
#75 of 199 in Ubud
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#99 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 199 in Ubud
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barong Resort and Spa
Barong Resort and Spa
#108 of 199 in Ubud
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arma Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arma Museum & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | P.O. Box 9696, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#34 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#69 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#87 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $74 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arma Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arma Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arma Museum Hotel Ubud
Arma Museum And Resort
Arma Museum & Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing