We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommendable Place in Central Ubud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Padi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Padi Hotel
Ranked #172 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Zurich
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Recommendable Place in Central Ubud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed in Puri Padi after one night in a cozy but terribly noisy homestay, and I liked the calm and comfortable atmosphere. Some people might call the rooms dark and unfriendly, but they are also nicely cool and clean. There is nothing you could expect more for this price - in Ubud.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernhardZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
5
33
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

It is tired looking, though low in prices. though the rooms have a balcony, I don't see anyone using it during my stay. The room is dim and has a uneasy feeling. But it is very clean. Dont expect to have phone or complimentary mineral water, this room don't have it. No wifi access too. Breakfast is pretty alright though. Staff are very friendly. Not worth for USD40.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totemoneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed in the Puri Padi for a couple of nights and loved it. Its a peaceful little oasis.
The room was pretty with a carved wood door out to the large shaded balcony.
The Dirty Duck restaurant just up the street has some great tables where you can lie on big cushions while enjoying your dinner.
Its a few minutes walk from the Monkey Forest. If you buy a bag of bananas the monkeys will climb all over you to get at them, which is great fun, sit down on the wall and they will sit on your knee - but beware, refuse to hand over a banana and they can bite you! We know that from personal experience.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie-Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Everytime we come to Ubud, we've always stayed at this petite hotel. The room is spacious with a balcony facing to the lush green garden and it has also spacious pool. Only the bed sheet and blanket are need to be changed, no extra pilllow in the room. With great services from the friendly staff, we felt that its a really good choice for the get away kind of vacation.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — bed sheet and blanket and also no extra pillow
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zazadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2007

I booked a room at Puri Padi because my first choice (Tegal Sari) was completely booked.
Puri Padi is ideally situated. There are tons of good restauratns right across the street from the hotel and the monkey forest and markets were within 10 minute walking distance. The hotel was peaceful, the grounds were nice and the staff were friendly. The room was basic, air conditioned and nicely decorated. However, it was shabby and dirty. The bathroom lights were not working when we arrived. They couldn't fix it until the next day. The bathroom was in poor condition: the door was warped, the floor was dirty, and the towels were stained. Our room had a door that connected to the next room. The door was shut but the walls were so thin that I could hear the guy in the next room snoring VERY LOUDLY and heard their TV clearly (they were watching soccer and were very rowdy even past midnight). Our terrace was littered with what looked like dried fruits or seeds or feces and was not cleaned in the 3 days that we stayed there. The "free breakfast" that was included was a measly 6 small pieces of fruits and some egg & toast. It was not filling at all. We found some rooms for rent that were far more pleasant and 1/3 of the price that we paid to stay in this hotel. Next time I come back to Ubud, I intend to stay in one of those rooms instead of in this hotel.
Regardless of my dissatisfaction with Puri Padi, I have to say that Ubud is a wonderful and beautiful place to visit. I'm looking forward to staying in Ubud again, although probably in a different hotel.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

I loved this hotel. The setting was really nice and the hotel itself was gorgeous, the rooms and reception were beautiful with really nice details like the painted shutters in the rooms and many statues around the place. The pool was nice and secluded and the whole place was very quiet (I visited in June 2006) It was very good value (US$30 for a double room). I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — It felt really up-market without the up-market price.
  • Disliked — The rooms were a little bit dark.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

This hotel is located on Jalan Hanoman and is less than 15 mins walk to Monkey Forest Rd (football field). Jalan Hanoman has a lot less traffic than Monkey Forest Rd.; thus a quieter place to stay. The down side is that the hotel is about 25 mins walk to Jalan Raya Ubud where the market, better moneychangers etc are. The hotel is a good budget option. We paid Rp350,000 p/nite for a room with 3 single beds plus b'fast (toasts, eggs, tea/coffee) for 2 adults and 2 kids. The room and bathroom (shower) were clean. I find the room to be lacking in natural light. There was only 1 window which we had to close the shutter for privacy (we were on the grd flloor) but the lighting in the room was sufficient. The hotel staff were friendly and obliging. We had a leaking air-cond one nite and they gave us the adjacent room to sleep in whilst our things remained in our room. The grounds were clean and tidy but not picturesque (perhaps better view from the rooms upstairs) and the pool clean (not so the kids' pools). I recommend the Kakiang Bakery nearby for sandwiches, cakes and tuna steak; and the Indian restaurant across the road - good food, mid range price and lovely paddy views from upstairs.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Nabuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#127 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bunga Permai Hotel
Bunga Permai Hotel
#129 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#151 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#157 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#132 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#125 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Padi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Padi Hotel

Property: Puri Padi Hotel
Address: Jl. Hanoman, Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Padi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Padi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Padi Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing