We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel -- Stay Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
Ranked #70 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel -- Stay Here!”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Can't recommend the Alam Shanti enough -- one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. The room was amazing -- more like a mini-villa, with beautiful private garden, a large private patio, large room with ornately-carved wooden doorway, private lilly pond, etc. Service was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool is very nice. Breakfasts, although fairly light, were delicious, and delivered right to your room. There's not really a restaurant at the hotel, but there are a few good restaurants within a 1-2 minute walk. (Also check out the Cafe Wayan restaurant in town, owned by the same management as Alam Shanti, which we thought was great -- get the nasi campur). Also, the spa at the hotel, Alam Wangi, is excellent, and a good value.

The hotel is located well outside of town -- not all that much in that area, and about a 30 min. walk into town. We actually found this to be a plus, though, as it's in a more private, quiet location than the hotels in town. It's easy to get into town from the hotel -- the hotel's van will pick you up and drop you off if you give them about 15 min. notice. On the way back, rather than wait for the van to come all the way to town, it's easy to catch a cab for a few bucks.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeattleSupersonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
159
284
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballearics
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We spent a week at Alam Shanti and a week at La Taverna in Sanur, both of which we greatly enjoyed for different reasons. This is a good place to unwind and enjoy what Ubud has to offer. Very calming and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibizagirleast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We returned to Alam Shanti (Dewi Room) on June 18, 2009 to celebrate our anniversary and as expected the first words upon our arrival was “Welcome Home”. Indeed, it was like coming home to a place where we are pampered by their excellent hospitality, nothing is too big for them to assist, always going the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast and tea were served to anywhere we requested. Transport to Ubud town was on call anytime.

We were delighted to be back to see all the smiling faces. This “little heaven on earth” is still a gem to be cherished. We spent 5D/4N enjoying the serene, peaceful & tranquil surroundings and enjoying the lovely food at Monkey Forest Road, the happening place in Ubud.

We also enjoyed the Spa at Alam Wangi (in front of Alam Shanti). The owner of Alam Group is building a brand new Spa opposite Alam Shanti and should be ready in a couple of months. All in all, we enjoyed every moment of our 2nd stay at Alam Shanti, especially the level of hospitality and service and are looking forward to our next visit. To all the Bapak and Ibu at Alam Shanti, we express our sincere and heartfelt “Terima Kasih” (“Thank you” in Indonesian)……Like Arnold Schwarzenegger said in Terminator "I shall be back". For sure Alam Shanti will be our annual retreat!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Alam Shanti is everything the other reviews say; the staff are so kind and helpful and unobstrusive. Our room Gangga was fantastic. A couple of tips: the place is isolated as far as shops are concerned so take some snacks with you, maybe a bottle of wine to drink on your terrace. There is no bar or restaurant, but what we didnt realise until the day we left was that you can order from the companies sister/brother restaurant 'Cafe Wayan' - we had had a long day to the sea and it would have been lovely to eat on our lovely terrace. Finally do walk into town, it takes around 10 mins max to get onto monkey forest road and you can take get the shuttle to pick you up when you are done.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I have no regret to stay in Alam Shanti. We stayed in Indus and it was a beautiful place and so peaceful. Service was great and everyone are very helpful. Breakfast .... GREAT!

However, one night we heard loud music in the back (not from the hotel) and it finally stopped around mid-night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Many reviews here have said it, but really needs to be said again... Alam Shanti is a small piece of heaven tucked away in the middle of Bali.

We picked on Alam Shanti after seeing it in The Sunday Times Travel supplement, which mentioned that Alam Shanti won a Hidden Gem award in 2006, which would have been it's first full year of business (though this is one of a handful of hotels run by the same familly). Of course we checked other websites for reviews just to be sure...

Before we left the service was good. We sent several emails enquiring as to rates, availability, transfers, and our onward trip to The Gilis. All emails were rapidly and efficiently dealt with.

We arrived late afternoon to a warm and friendly, but subdued/calm greeting, with gentle smiles and a general air of calmness and serenity all around. The usual signins were dealt with quickly, accompanied by a fresh juice, before we were escorted to our first room.

The path through the property takes you through small grounds with ponds aplenty on each side, a small rice field... and all properties are well separated and secluded from each other. The only neighbours you will have will be those in the rooms directly above/below. The place was fully occupied on our stays and we had absolutely no issues with noise etc filtering upstairs.

We stayed in the Indus room for 6 nights before heading to Gili Trawangan and Alam Gili - before 1 last night in Gangga before flying back.

Both 'rooms' were delights. The level of craftsmanship deployed to make the buildings very evident in the wood-/stone-work, and in the fittings and fixtures (the 4-poster beds had Balinese scenes woven into the fabric above the bed...). 'Rooms' - said because they really were huge. Very large bedroom/sitting areas (both have an extra bed in addition to the main 4-poster), very sizeable shower/bath rooms, and sizeable balconies.

The balconies of each are sizeable in both rooms and are a great place to enjoy afternoon tea (tea and cake!), breakfast or dinner, whilst enjoying the views of palm trees, rice fields... or just an afternoon nap. We didn't have any bug issues at all.

Downstairs may be fine, but upstairs you'd expect less antlife etc. Given the rates are identical for both upstairs and down - it was an easy call for us to go up.

You may have your own preference or reasons for choosing upstairs or down, but we were upstairs both times and can recommend it highly.

By going upstairs you also see the construction of the roof with bamboo, coconut etc. The roofspaces weren't sealed off, so the room extended upwards to the top of the roof which added an extra feeling of space, and the materials also helped create a calming ambience.

The pool was fairly small. It is an infinity type, and overlooks a small valley and ricefields beyond. Very calm and beautiful. As well as accommodating 8 sunbeds it also has a corner hut where you can escape the sun if you need to.

Throughout the staff were exceptionally courteous, efficient, friendly, helpful, all in a non-corporate way, and without crossing any line between friendliness and over-familiarity. Through them we made bookings for the Gili-Cat and dinner at a local restaurant in Ubud. In addition to which they run shuttles in and around town at your request, anytime, no problems.

Not mentioned in the handful of reviews I've seen is the Spa - which is a minute away. This spa was very well laid out and again benefitted from examples of the local wood-/stone-work. Separate changing/shower areas away from the treatment rooms. The staff were friendly and very good. The treatments you get, especially massage and reflexology, are proper treatments and not at all like some of the light touch sessions you get at even some top rate UK spas.

You will get a discount off the list rates if you are staying at Alam Shanti - but the rates are so low anyway its not really needed. As a hotel guest you will also get more tea and cake afterwards!

All in all this is a fabulous place. And thats before adding in any value for money criteria. Real heaven.

One or two things to be aware of :-

- there is no pool bar or onsite restaurant facility. Breakfast aside, food can be brought in from a couple of local places, and as we ate in those places the food is good. No problems - but if you want a full room service food experience you'll not get it here;

- UBUD centre is a short drive away - maybe 10 minutes;

- airport transfers - were charged at $25. For a 1-hour trip maybe ok, and they are very reliable, however as against true island rates $25 is extortionate;

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OwenAWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

The size and splendor of the rooms for the amount of money you're paying provides for excellent value. Book early, though. I booked in March for my May travels (just prior to peak season), and the hotel was fully booked. I managed to sneak in one night there. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The location was not right for me. I like to walk from place to place, and in order to walk from the hotel to the central portion of Ubud, you have to cross through the Monkey Forest. In general, the monkeys will leave you alone, but the pathway is not lit at night, making it necessary to hail a cab at night. The hotel makes up for it with free shuttle service all day. However, you're limited by shuttle availability. The views and landscaping are incredible. Most rooms have spacious balconies with lounge chairs and daybeds. Overall, great value, great stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#57 of 195 in Ubud
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 195 in Ubud
881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alam Jiwa
Alam Jiwa
#51 of 195 in Ubud
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#11 of 526 in Ubud
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Field Hotel and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing